Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years in the waiting...
Almost ten whole years ago now the US got their hands on Malcolm in the Middle: Season 1 on DVD. The set sold so well that FOX immediately announced plans for a Season 2 set to be released in 2003. Those plans fell through. Why? All because of music clearances. Due to FOX being... not entirely forward thinking it would have cost a fortune to be able to acquire the rights...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by C. Ellis

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars R2 Release: Technical Quality Issues
I've just acquired the R2 Release and given Disk 1 an initial playing. I've owned the R1 Release for some time, and I think it goes without saying that Malcolm in the Middle is a superb series from start to finish and much loved by many. I therefore submit this review for those interested in the technical quality of this Release compared to the previous R1 "NTSC" set sold...
Published 22 months ago by Buzz Lightyear


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years in the waiting..., 13 Feb 2012
By 
C. Ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
Almost ten whole years ago now the US got their hands on Malcolm in the Middle: Season 1 on DVD. The set sold so well that FOX immediately announced plans for a Season 2 set to be released in 2003. Those plans fell through. Why? All because of music clearances. Due to FOX being... not entirely forward thinking it would have cost a fortune to be able to acquire the rights for the music used in the show to release on DVD and thus the show became suspended in limbo for years and years and years.

For many years I've been keeping a close eye on TVShowsonDVD.com for Malcolm to appear. The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air seasons 5 and 6 were announced on there after a 4-year gap for the same reason of music costs and when the news broke I was overjoyed, however this website does not report the Region 2 (UK) releases. Today, I was flicking through the ratings for my favorite TV shows, making sure they were 'okay'. I was a bit curious about how 'Supernatural's ratings had decreased over the last season or two which led me to learn all about the 'Friday night death slot', that wiki article lead me to Malcolm in the Middle, which was shunted to this death slot in it's final season resulting in it's cancellation and upon scrolling down the page I saw the news. The news that Fabulous Films would be releasing all 7 seasons in the UK this year.

I let out a squeel of joy, what I had been waiting for for so many years was finally a reality. Anyway, every month now, culminating in a 'Complete Collection' before Christmas a new season of Malcolm in the Middle will be released on DVD. It's been a long and tumultuous wait but that is finally over now. If you're a fan of 'Malcolm' please make sure you go out and buy it, the last thing we need is poor sales resulting in only half the seasons getting the released or something. Also there's (hopefully) the possibility of a Blu-ray release soon.

Anyway, it's a fantastic show and definitely deserves a 10/10. If you've never seen it before watch it, you wont be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars R2 Release: Technical Quality Issues, 25 Oct 2012
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
I've just acquired the R2 Release and given Disk 1 an initial playing. I've owned the R1 Release for some time, and I think it goes without saying that Malcolm in the Middle is a superb series from start to finish and much loved by many. I therefore submit this review for those interested in the technical quality of this Release compared to the previous R1 "NTSC" set sold in the US.

Firstly, I discovered that the picture format on the R2 disks is actually 720 x 480 at 30fps. R2 is normally formatted for PAL compatibility, which would require 720 x 576 at 25fps (576i 50Hz). What we have here is the same picture format as the R1 release, which is intended for the NTSC standard. Both Releases are interlaced (480i 60hz). The menus and navigation are almost identical to the R1 Release.

I quickly noticed a problem with a juddering effect on panning scenes, where the motion appears to be rather jerky. On investigation, this looks to be due to the source material having been de-interlaced and then re-interlaced. This results in a bigger, so less fluid movement between each frame, as well as every fourth frame being shown twice in a five-frame set; all contributing to the effect, which personally, I find quite distracting. The R1 Release does not suffer this problem. It also suggests this R2 transfer is from another video source rather than from the original film.

Also to note are the average bit rates on the R2 Release Disk 1, which are significantly lower than the R1 set. I thought this might be to make space on the dual-layer disk for the Original Pilot, which is not on the R1 set, but curiously, less than 7Gb of the available 8.5Gb is actually used.

The early episodes do seem to exhibit quite a bit of grain and noise. This was also apparent on the R1 Release so I suspect the source material is to blame, but in my view, it is made worse by higher compression here. Things do improve, however, once past the first few episodes.

There is another, more serious flaw with this R2 transfer. An example can be seen on Disk 3, in episode "Smunday", where there are several low-light scenes in Lois' bedroom. Sadly, shadow detail is crushed to oblivion and blacks are rendered as purple and blue! This is tehnically pretty poor. The R1 Release is streets ahead in comparison with decent solid blacks and good shadow detail.

On the positive side, this R2 Release (excluding the Extended Pilot) does indeed have the 16:9 aspect ratio, whereas the R1 Release is all 4:3, as originally shown on TV. I have compared the picture areas and can confirm that the 16:9 framing has been achieved without cropping the top and bottom of the original picture. I did read somewhere that the original format was 16:9 on 35mm film, so this is a definite plus for widescreen viewing.

Overall, a little disappointing. Even though the 16:9 aspect looks great, the technical flaws are, in my opinion, unforgivable.

Sadly, I think we will have to wait a long time for a decent 1080p Blu ray transfer from the original film at 24fps; now that would be something...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK release at last, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
More than twelve years after the pilot was first broadcast, the UK is finally getting the DVDs. The music industry is the most annoying thing in the world; music clearance was the only hurdle! The DVD features commentaries, a behind-the-scenes episode and deleted scenes. Since these features were made for the American DVD release, I don't think any later UK DVDs will have special features on them, but I could be wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarous, 15 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my 11yr old daughter. She loves it & is begging for season 2. Character's are all hilarious & you would watch over & over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm in the Middle DVD, 12 Jan 2013
By 
R. H. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
Great product. This is a rare find and does not lose its initial quality. Very clever comedy, which is rare from the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 10 Jan 2013
By 
bookworm (redhill, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen many episodes over the years, usually out of sequence, it's great to be able to view in the order they were made. Not eveyone's cup of tea, but the antics of this disfunctional family make me laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My Review, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD arrived in its factory seal wrap and it also arrived quickly. The DVD works fine on my DVD player but there is a crack in the case so it doesn't close properly but no other problems apart from that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
Really wanted this DVD for ages as I watched it when I was younger after school! Even my mum likes it! Excellent quick delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, original comedy, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps the clue is in the name - Mr Parodi?? It was certainly a parody of an objective review...

While it does cover a lot of the same ground of other sitcoms, MitM is an original take on a dysfunctional family (now if you want to look at plagiarism perhaps you should check out the more recent series The Middle - a fairly unsubtle rip-off).

This is not to denigrate other series such as Roseanne, The Simpsons, etc., which are wonderful. It shouldn't be a competition to say which series is best; let's just say that America has over the last 50 years have come up with some of the best comedy on the planet (along with an awful lot of dross - Two and a Half Men anyone??).

Let's hope the remaining seasons appear soon!

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY - MALCOLM ON DVD !!!!!, 14 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. M. RALPH "ralph_109" (U.K - KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD] (DVD)
Woooooooooooooooooooooooooo - Been waiting for this moment to come. - FINALLY Malcolm in the middle is comming to DVD in APRIL 2012!

This is a much loved show by me and has been since it first aired -

I really cant wait to get all 7 Series on DVD :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season [DVD]
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews