Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and so current and relevant
I bought this book to help enhance my craft business and I have not been disappointed. It gives fantastic tips right from the beginning when you are thinking about starting a business right through to how to build your business up further using social networking, pr and marketing, packaging etc. A brilliant book and having been written in 2011/2012 it is very current for...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by ButterflyBlossom

versus
44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and not really focused on UK
I've very disappointed in this book because it gets really good reviews and the author is based in the UK which I expected would mean that the book would have a UK focus. It doesn't. In every aspect in the book, the USA is listed first and the UK as an afterthought. There are also several instances in the book where the author is talking about some aspect of business...
Published on 27 April 2012 by Green Book Addict Librarian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide Full of useful tips, 5 Mar 2014
The book is a excellent guide to developing and running your craft business . The guide is well structured easy to follow with bite size easy to digest and implement strategies and tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks for the book. Excellent value, good easy exercises, easy reading, makes you feel relaxed reading it! Best buy this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great little book, a mine of useful information. I'd recommend it for any crafter who is serious about selling their product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 15 May 2012
By 
Zoe Tye - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like to think of myself as a creative person but have never known how to take it that step further. This book is brilliant and even though I'm only part way through my mind is racing with opportunities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic, helpful book - highly recommended, 31 Mar 2012
This is a great book for anyone thinking about going into the craft industry. It gives you all of the information you might need if you're considering working in the craft industry and does so in a realistic and pragmatic way. With its companion, Craft Business Heroes, you can really get a feel for the amount of effort you'll need to turn what is, for many people, a hobby, into a self employed dream job. Alison, the author, has been through the process herself and so speaks most definitely from experience, as do all of her contributors. This book is a must if you live in the UK and might be considering the possibility of starting a craft business, but it's also incredibly useful for those already in the industry, as it's full of fresh thinking and creative ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tips, 12 Mar 2012
An excellent book for any crafter in business or looking to turn their passion into a business. Great tips, handy pointers, and plenty of inspiration. Definitely worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for new businesses, 12 Mar 2012
This is a very honest and interesting easy to read book. It has fantastic tips all the way through from the author herself and also from the buisness people she interviews so it has a broad vriety of opinions and advice. It's an excellent reference book which will help you to think about everything there is to consider when starting up.
A very inspiring read for anyone thinking about or having just set up on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide for craft business owners, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Written by the owner of the Stitch Club franchise and the Sew Easy sewing kits both aimed at teaching children to sew Alison shares her knowledge of the craft industry to help crafters turn their hobby into a business.

It takes you through the key steps involved in planning and setting up a business to help you decide what you want to sell and how you plan to sell it. The first chapter gets you thinking about what you want from the business and what your personal goals are, there are a few exercises to work through to help you work out exactly what you want from a business. The following chapters then cover branding, the legal/tax requirements when setting up a business, creating a business plan, pricing, PR & marketing, social networking and selling.

The book does go into quite a lot of detail and it provides the relevant information for the US as well as the UK when it comes to things like tax, company formation, trademarks etc. Although it's worth noting the UK info is under the US info so it's best to skip straight to that to avoid confusion.

I love the exercises throughout the book that really get you thinking your business idea through; you can fill them out in the book as you go and then you have all your ideas in one place. This book is a fact packed guide for someone thinking of setting up a craft business. I enjoyed reading it and I wish I'd had a guide like this to hand when I first started out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I was expecting, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the reviews, I thought this was going to be a great book about a UK crafter making it in the profession and helping us mere mortals out with some much needed advice.

What I got was a bit of UK information with mostly USA based help! Kinda defeated the point in choosing a UK crafter. Most of the calculations were based on dollar workings out and I felt that there was more USA business advice links listed.

Also, the spelling mistakes in it were shocking! I expect me to have spelling mistakes (probably lots in here), but not a book! Especially when they were simple mistakes like 'ith' instead of 'with'.

Anyway, apart from all that it was a useful book, it gave good information on fulfillment houses, which is something I have not read about before. Some of the information for the first few chapters are best for people who are literally just thinking of doing a business, rather than those who have a name and have starting thinking about trading already. But I guess you have to start somewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Craft Business Handbook, 30 April 2012
Well I have finished my prize: The Craft Business Handbook by Alison McNicol

This is sub-titled as The Essential Guide to making Money from your Crafts and Handmade Products, and gives lots of advice about setting up your own craft business.

Having previously read The Handmade Market Place by Kari Chapin, I did find the two books similar in some of the areas of advice. The Craft business Handbook did have the edge in lots of different areas however. It gave much greater detail about how to use social networking websites, and included lots of information about setting up business here in the UK which I found very useful in particular, Chapin's book was very much US centred. There was also useful tables to help with pricing of goods, and top tip tables after every section.

The book was easy to read, and as I have not got a business background, it didn't use business jargon, and any technical terms were explained.

I also enjoyed reading the interviews of several designers and how they set up their businesses.

I will obviously be delving into it's pages over the next few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews