Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British T.V
I really do not understand why series one got such negative reviews. I loved it and bought series two and again was not disappointed. Could well be the lead actress in Brenda Blethyn or it could be the first class scripts. Either way it is an awesome combination of both. This is British television drama at it best. Wont spoil it for you, but as others have said, then if...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by Markus Ronald

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Vera...
Vera - Series 1 [DVD]
As murder mysteries go this one is so so... It's rather somber & filled with the detectives' personal problems. The landscape is quite beautiful, tho. I wouldn't rush to try this series out.
Published on 1 July 2012 by Eddie Nguyen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British T.V, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I really do not understand why series one got such negative reviews. I loved it and bought series two and again was not disappointed. Could well be the lead actress in Brenda Blethyn or it could be the first class scripts. Either way it is an awesome combination of both. This is British television drama at it best. Wont spoil it for you, but as others have said, then if you liked morse, then you will surely love vera.
Buy it, and sit back and relax. A truely excellent series and hope there will be more on the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Vera' is back on the case!!!!, 26 May 2012
By 
C. J. Rhydderch "Mr Happy Feet" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I absolutely loved the first series of this detective drama and I was thrilled when it was announced there would be a second series and it didn't disappoint either!!!! There have been many great detective dramas on TV (Lewis, Midsomer Murders, Marple etc...) which I also thoroughly enjoy but this drama has something the others don't have.... Brenda Blethyn!!

I really enjoy these types of detective dramas as there's no high speed chases or blood and gore, instead they are all character led which makes (in my opinion) for a more interesting story!! The way 'Vera' has been shot also adds to the appeal as the locations and scenery are always stunning and that also adds to the overall story. It's also clear to see that Brenda gets along very well with her 'Sergeant' David Leon and their on-screen chemistry appears very natural and unforced. I also bought this DVD collection as ITV have not yet shown one of the four episodes on TV (it was due to it being set in an Amry Barracks and Afghanistan and on the day it was due to be screened 2 soldiers had sadly been killed whilst in action, so ITV did the right thing and postponed the episode). They are now promising to show it 'late summer' but I'm afraid I just couldn't wait that long so I've ordered the DVD instead!!

I just hope that the bosses at ITV see sense and commission the drama for a third series next year as it totally deserves it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scruffy and Easily Underestimated, 1 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This review is from: Vera, Series 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Vera is the kind of Detective Constable Inspector you would want in your corner. She is very off-putting, with her dumpy,scruffy appearance. Old dresses like our granny wore with sweaters and/or a quilted vest and usually a voluminous coat. And, the hair, please, Vera, a nice cut would make a world of difference. But, Vera gives off the impression, she doesn't have the time to fuss.

This is the second season of Vera, the great DCI in North Cumberland. She seems to run her office in a slip shod manner, but everyone seems to get things done and knows what to do. Vera is gruff, few pleasantries, lots of inneuendoes. Vera, it seems, doesn't want anyone to get close. We learn more about Vera in this series. She had a serious relationship, Peter, and he died. That is all we know. A distant father she did not spend time with, but she now lives in his house. Vera is a loner, but she has allowed her second in command, DS Joe Ashworth, to become someone important in her life, someone who cares for her. Joe has a wife and two children, and his wife calls Vera, Joe's other woman. Joe is played by David Leon, a good looking young man who has a career ahead of him.

If I have a chance to spend time with Brenda Blethyn as Northumberland's very own Columbo, I take that chance, every time!

Recommended. 04-01-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brenda is brilliant !!, 22 Mar 2013
By 
asiana88 (ARDROSSAN, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I cannot think of an actor better suited to play Vera - Brenda Blethyn does a superb job in the lead role of this marvellous series.
She can be rude, acerbic and very blunt, yet underneath it all, has a soft heart.
She clomps around in wellies, with not very glam clothes, a raincoat and hat and gives her rather dishy partner Joe a hard time about his 'bairns'.
I so hope that several more series are made - great acting, good storylines and some wonderful scenery make for a show that is class all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep Coming Vera, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Tomi K. Fagundes (Terceira, the Azores, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Vera is a wonderful breath of fresh air after being turned off by unbelievable hi-tech American style detective series like CSI.
Vera is believable. Her cases are believable. Everyone has their little personal problems but their career must go on. Vera gets it done. She is like a sour Miss Marple at times. I can not wait for the next series to come out. I am from Texas living in the Azores Portugal and I use UK Amazon to find and order my dvds. Producers, this is a winner-- Keep Vera coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vera, 9 July 2012
By 
Charles Molocznik "blluesboy" (colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
After reading some of the reviews i decieded to skip season 1 and try season 2 of Vera instead. I am a hugh fan of Midsomer Murders, inspector Morse, The last detective, Lynley, Frost, Inspector Lewis, etc., my wife and i enjoy most of the english murder mysteries, here in the states.

I would say that Vera does not quite measure up to those stadards, but still has some entertainment value on its own. Perhaps because i skipped season one i missed some of the back story and character buiiding for the main front and center DI Vera. I will probably finish up season 2 and go back and get season 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Amazing Series of 'Vera', 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Series two was just a good as series one. I really hope that ITV make a series three for next year. A great drama to watch on a Sunday night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Detective, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. Margaret Wride "lincs gardener" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
She is so down to earth the series is great to watch, with intereesting story lines, just wish there were more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Wow! Wow!, 28 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Who knew that Brenda Blethyn could do this a second season. She is great. The series is marvelous. I can't wait for Series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vera, 11 April 2013
By 
H. Bostock "crossword-crazy" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
enjoyed both series, well acted, can be really sad though. Gritty watching sometimes. will definitely watch again and again though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012]
Vera: Series 2 [DVD] [2012] by Ed Bazalgette (DVD - 2012)
11.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews