Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show on TV, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Larry David is the funniest character on TV. Curb is a masterpiece of comedy writing and the way that all the events in an episode tie together to inevitably bite larry on the backside are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, Pretty, Pretty Good!, 9 Sep 2012
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Larry David (Creator of Seinfeld) has a strange, and sometimes challenging life - and here, we pretty much get to see his life en vrac - everything from mishaps down at the golf club to him apparently leering at Richard Lewis' (played by himself) girlfriend's chest. You could say, it doesn't matter how much money you have, you'll always have problems in life.

Larry's life looks good on screen though, and especially the lovely Cheryl (Cheryl Hines), his wife who really has to put up with Larry's odd moments. He's also got his best pal Jeff (Jeff Garlin), who tries to manage Larry and get him some good gigs. There's also his celebrity mates like Ted Danson, Mary Steenburgen and Rosie O Donnell. Still, Larry doesn't seem that happy.

Some of the best moments from this come just out of the blue, like when Larry's driving Jeff's wife Susie somewhere and she starts having a naughty moment due to something stuck in the chair. Another good one is when Larry has to hide a wheelchair bound girlfriend in a house and gets caught out by Rosie, who goes about decking him. I also like the episode where Larry decides to pick up a hooker so he can get to a ball game quickly through the carpool lane. Who could forget the episode where Larry has to stand on the street outside a restaurant with a sign admitting he steals cutlery?

For me, this is a good comedy, as it's raw and does not look overacted. Larry usually wants his actors to be as stress free as they can be, and from the extras you can tell they all had a good time doing this. I especially like the fact there is no laughter track like there was in Seinfeld, and you have to laugh at the antics of Larry due to their pure stupidity. Everyone is strong in this, including the extras like his friend Marty Funkhouser (Bob Einstein) and Leon always cracks me up - especially his favourite line "You're my Caucasian Larry" - it's like comedy gold.

Also if you love Seinfeld you're going to enjoy seeing Julia, Michael, Jason and Jerry again.

The extras are good on this, you get interviews with the cast, a few out takes on some of the seasons, and a few extra bits especially with the Seinfeld reunion. HBO have again made a quality product spanning out the series on 2 disks per season, with the quality of the image and sound top notch.

I'd highly recommend this to fans, old and new, as it's a good show and worth a look. Yes, it does seem to have a cult following with a "you either love it or hate it" ethos, but I'd say it's a quality show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great series - would recomend, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I'd never seen any of the first 7 series before but it didnt disapoint! An aquired taste i expect but some great cringworthy situations, either by accident or the fact larry has to speak his mind no matter waht ha ha!! i waited ages for this 1-8 boxset to come down to less than £40 but ended up paying just over in the end but still at least £20 cheaper then the highstreet still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bang for bucks, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Eight seasons of Curb Your Enthusiasm for £45? Eight seasons? Pretty, pretty, pretty good. You'd be a fool to miss it. Unless you've bought it already. In which case, watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud..., 28 May 2013
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I was returning to New Zealand on an emirates flight, the lights in the cabin were set low and most people were asleep - well that was until I decided to tune into a few episodes of this most brilliant comedy - I think I belly laughed from Fiji to Auckland. Sorry to all those other passengers, I'm now a convert to "Curb"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty pretty pretty good, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
What can I say about Larry David in curb your enthusiasm other than he's a genius :) one of the funniest shows on tv. Every episode is brilliant and cannot stop laughing from start to stop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Enough 'Curb' to keep you happy for weeks or months. Great stuff. This was a very well received Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Great situation comedy thoroughly enjoyed it , sad that its the last series.

Never really got Seinfield before though .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Jamie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
What an amazing show!
If you've never seen it check it out or give it to someone you love, certainly worth trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is just fantastic comedy that's so hard to find. It's pure magic with or without scripts. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curb Your Enthusiasm - Complete HBO Season 1-8 [DVD] [2012]
£47.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews