Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good...but, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
This is a great little device and a great aid.

The main snag is that the screen is not that clear, quite old fashioned in fact.

i wish it was as clear as demonstrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
invaluable for many occasions. knowledge at your fingertips, without the internet. no waiting for downloads instant info anywhere anytime. magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars encyclopaedia/dictionary, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
its a great machine very helpful with crosswords and has lists of all sorts of subjects which is very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Gillian Ducklin "Quack Quack" (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
Just what I wanted. I have been looking everywhere for a dictionary, along with thesaurus and reference library. Unbelieveable this gadgot holds all that information. I carry it everywhere I go just to get understand the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Functional machine with fairly comprehensive choice of dictionary, but with inadequate screen contrast and font sizes, 3 Oct 2014
By 
W. Morgan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
This product contains the Encyclopedia Britannica, the Concise Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus, a dictionary of idioms and crossword resources. I bought this particular model because it has a folding lid which doubles up as a screen on the inside, as well as having a dictionary of idioms which I require for my work.

This is the second SEIKO electronic dictionary that I have ever owned - I bought my first in Japan some ten years ago which was stolen a few years later in China. This one is lighter, somewhat smaller and not as well-built or -designed as my previous model although both had similar display screens. The Japanese model had better contrast than this one and the font size was larger. This model enables the user to change the contrast, but the best contrast is set as the default in any case. You can also choose between three font sizes : small, medium and large. However, the large size is still somewhat on the small size due primarily to inadequate contrast. This is why some other reviewers have mentioned that the screen is of poor quality. However, size and contrast are the issues. My Japanese model did not have these problems. The design has such rounded edges on this model that I managed to drop it once and nearly dropped it a second time since it easily slips out of your hand. I didn't drop my Japanese model even once despite using it for several years and only using this one a few times so far.

As a summary, I would say the model is adequate as long as you have fairly good eyesight and you take care not to drop it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IDEAL FOR CROSSWORD ADDICTS, 17 April 2013
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
Two buttons on the last ER8100 were sticky after only 4 months, this is the replacement. A very useful item, only requires one battery which lasts a good while even though it gets a lot of use. In poor light conditions it really requires a backlight, our previous model had one. We chose to have another ER8100 rather than our money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
Disappointed to find this item NOT as comprehensive as my previous older model!! The encyclopaedia and Dictionary content are lacking, especially in foreign alphabets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back light, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
The only draw back with this item is the lack of back light illumination .(I cant think of six more words to write).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Puzzlers, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
Bought as a gift. A replacement for a previous similar model. Has some nice new features, but some things are not available that were before. However, the previous one was more expensive and this would appear to be the best of the latest machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ref, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko ER8100 Britannica and Oxford Reference Library (Office Product)
Easy to use, pocket friendly and excellent if no wifi etc and you want to check something randomly. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews