Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Per Terram
This sort of documentary is ten-a-penny these days so there's a real danger that the message will become lost in a sea of low quality, opportunist, sensationalising rubbish. Terrill's five part documentary was aired, during early 2012 on Channel 5. C-5 is not a medium that I would automatically associate with award winning documentaries but Mission Afghanistan is in no...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by Crookedmouth

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You really want to support the Marines .....
This is a review about the DVD. Not the Marines. As an ex-serviceman I have a huge amount of resepect for all the men and woman working at the sharp end in Afghanistan and Iraq. So I will emphasise that my review is only 3 stars not because of the Marines or what they are doing but it's about the DVD and film-making. In short it's pretty poor. The filming seems distant...
Published 24 months ago by A. Cresswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Per Terram, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
This sort of documentary is ten-a-penny these days so there's a real danger that the message will become lost in a sea of low quality, opportunist, sensationalising rubbish. Terrill's five part documentary was aired, during early 2012 on Channel 5. C-5 is not a medium that I would automatically associate with award winning documentaries but Mission Afghanistan is in no danger of eclipse and it stands high, very high, above the herd.

The series follows the fortunes of L Company 42 Commando during a 6 month deployment to Helmand Province in Afghanistan. Terrill focusses on a number of the Marines and also on other soldiers, sailors and airmen (and women) deployed in and around the area or attached to the unit. Much of the action is based on a series of patrols in the area around their compound near the village of Loymanda, and there /is/ plenty of action. One of the tactics used by the unit was to patrol an area overtly purely to draw fire from the enemy, this being the best way to engage and kill the taliban fighters. For this reason, the deployment was a busy (and costly) one. However the series really does get to know the individual personalities in the unit and my wife and I found ourselves closely engaged with them all.

It's important to note that, while the ammunition expenditure is high, there's another story being told - one where the local population are being helped to rebuild their communities and businesses. It's hard to be optimistic: the resilience of the taliban is such that, when the military presence is withdrawn in a few years time, they are bound to return to re-exert their infuence. One can only hope that the civilian population have been given enough of a boost that such advances can be resisted.

One way that this scores over the (perhaps) better known series by Ross Kemp is that Terrill keeps himself very much in the background. His presence is sensitive, understated and it avoids Kemp's style of overt matey-ness which I find a little patronising, even slightly sycophantic. Nevertheless, it is very clear that Terrill identified closely with his subjects and felt their pain. This is never so evident than when, in the final installment, he turns his attention to two Marines and an RAF dog handler who were badly injured by IEDs during the making of the documantary. It is a particularly affecting episode and the reunion of the dog handler with his dog brought a big lump to my throat.

They're remarkable people, all of them, and there's a great debt owed to them and their colleagues for the things they do in our name.

Seven men died during the 42's deployment. This is a fitting testimonial to them and their sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did C4 miss out on this?, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
I should start by saying that i almost never watch channel 5 but was flicking throughout the whats on menu and saw a title that i thought might be a good watch. How glad am i that i did. Chris Terrill has taken a sensitive subject and a not so sensitive fighting force and married the two together with an unparalleled skill. Totally captivating story telling through out the series, showing the inner workings of combat soldier life.
He has managed to keep the tension level that the guys have to deal with every time they step foot out side their base without over dramatising the situation. There is very little positive referencing in the media of our boys on tours abroad and this gives people a window into the stress and dangers that our service men and women go through day in day out to help to restore peace miles from home.
And the last episode will tug at the heart of even the toughest out there!
Cant recommend this enough, and while your at it why not look at how you can show your support for our guys, girls and hounds!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 13 May 2012
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the series on Channel 5 and had the DVD bought for my birthday. It is really a follow on from Chris Terrill's series of 'Commando-On the Front Line' where civilians go through the training to become a Royal Marine Commando or 'Bootneck'. Terrill did the marines course other than he was not allowed to carry or operate small arms. I believe special permission was sought from the MOD for him to do the course with being a civilian. At the end he was awarded his green beret as he was deemed to have done the course as all the entrants had who passed out. Considering his age it was no mean feat. He is I believe one of only 2 civilians to have done the full course and genuinely earned his beret. He then went to Afghanistan with the same men for a while. This one is testimony to his courage, strength and will power in being able to take the footage he has through the dangers presented. If anyone has not got the first one he did I recommend it and it is cheap through Amazon to buy. If you do then watch that before this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Stuff, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the Royal Navy program that Chris Terrill had done previously and I thoroughly enjoyed it and so I couldn't wait to see his new offering of Mission Afghanistan. All I can say is WOW! I was gripped on each episode and the final one where you find out what happened to 3 of the guys left me humbled (and reaching for the tissues!) . I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get more real than this!, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the series on Channel 5 - it's incredible, you can't get closer to the raw action and emotion than this! Chris Terrill does an incredible job getting into the skin of the 42 Commando Company and shows just how amazing these soldiers are and the predicaments they face. Totally recommend buying this, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, informative and emotional viewing, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't prepared for the emotional viewing that was Royal Marines Mission Afghanistan. It is the first time I have watched a programme about the conflict in Afghanistan and finally saw what we were doing out there. Whether you agree with the war or not, seeing what our guys and girls are doing out there, and the constant danger they put themselves under to try and stabilise the area is unbelievable. I would highly recommend watching the series and be prepared to laugh as well as cry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, moving, authentic, heroic., 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
I have followed this series on ch.5. Every episode is exciting beyond compare. I think the series comes across so well because Chris Terrill shoots and narrates the series in a way which is testament to the Marines understated heroism. It should be noted that Chris Terrill has produced some excellent documentaries prior to Mission Afghanistan. His amazing achievement of completing the 30 week commando course at 55 years old probably meant he was not regarded as anything of a burden by the marines and this coupled with his skill behind the camera result in this amazing documentary. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant documentary from a very brave filmmaker..., 23 April 2012
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this documentary when it was broadcast on Channel 5 in February/March. Chris Terrill (filmmaker) has delivered another remarkable documentary about life as a Royal Marine, having previously trained with the marines a few years ago for an ITV documentary in which he became the first civilian to pass the notoriously challenging marine fitness tests. This time he was given unparalleled access to the marines on the front line, following them on patrol in Loymanda, an area littered with IEDs (improvised explosive devices). By risking life and limb, Chris was able to capture the marines at the very best - in the heat of battle, during 'down time' and, for some, through to their rehabilitation following injuries. The result is a very exciting, intimate and moving account of the battle in Afghanistan, all told from the perspective of the marines on the front line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 July 2012
By 
Mr. R Calder (Shetland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
Another superb and thrilling documentary by Chris Terrill.

If you haven't seen 'Commando: On the Front Line' I suggest you get that first because it will give you a much better understanding of how they get trained and what it takes to become a Royal marine. Chris proved himself to be able to pass all 4 tests at 50!

This is a no holes barred documentary into how the Royal Marines are operating in Afghanistan, and there are some parts which are absolutely devastating, but when you see the cameraderie and teamwork and professionalism shown by the men you really come to respect and admire them.

Please buy this! It shows you things you wont see in newspapers, and gives you a great insight into what would otherwise be unseen hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. R. D. Thomas (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] (DVD)
Great series, follows the lives of our amazing service personnel who selflessly do what they do in the name of our country. Whether you think this war is justified or not is irrelevant,top marks to our brave service people & these programs for bringing the work they do to the forefront.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD]
Royal Marines: Mission Afghanistan [DVD] by Chris Terrill (DVD - 2012)
£22.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews