Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoky jazz with a Latin flavour
Once I got used to the idea that this wasn't going to be exactly like her last two albums, I have so enjoyed these new songs sung in English, French and Portugese. Melody Gardot brings a flavour of Morocco, Buenos Aires and Brazilian beaches to our rain-sodden (so far this summer) island, and Heitor Pereira joins her on 'Amalia' and 'Se Voce Me Ama.' My only quibble is...
Published on 10 Jun. 2012 by Sabina

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the special CD+DVD version!!
There are some lovely songs on the Absence but they are less meaty, less visceral than those on her first two albums. But the thing that REALLY annoyed me was the DVD. Only one of the tracks is an actual video recording, and that's the "making of La Vie en Rose"! The other tracks show only a title on the screen! So we don't even get to see her in performance. This is...
Published on 9 July 2012 by iRighti


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Absence - Melody Gardot, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
An excellent cd. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys this sort of music. Pleased I made this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid development in an enormously talented woman, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
Released in 2012, three years after her second album, Melody Gardot's The Absence is a welcome addition to her oeuvre.

A polyglot's delight, The Absence offers sensuous Brazilian and Portuguese influence and collaboration, while retaining Ms Gardot's inherent jazz leaning and blues feeling. This makes for a complex interweaving of rhythms, styles, genres and languages, in the middle of which Ms Gardot explores new vocal territory, whilst dealing competently with the complexities of unifying disparate elements way beyond what she'd previously attempted in recording.

Technically, this recording isn't as impeccably engineered as the first two albums, including more ambient recording sounds and focussing less on engineering precision than capturing the authentic feeling of each song as well, perhaps, as some of the process of its recording. There are sounds in addition to those of the instruments and voices that might annoy some while thoroughly pleasing others, depending on personal preference.

Those who regard initial offerings as establishing the definitive canon of an artist's voice, style and recording process are here faced with new choices, regarding where the voice sits in the mix, how much bass there is, whether all the words are audible, and where the primary focus is. In The Absence, Ms Gardot takes a step back from solo focus and explores all the pleasures of group focus. It may take some listening to get used to the fact that that glorious voice is not always the first and mostly only thing you hear, but persevere. Ms Gardot has moved deeper into subtlety, and we are asked to follow. Doing so offers many new and pleasurable rewards.

This is an album of love songs, most notably love in its yearning form... love waited for... love ending... impossible love... love present but not reciprocated... lust misrepresented as love... Ms Gardot has clearly learned how to express longing for something that is known to exist, though isn't present in our lives in the way we'd like it to be. Here, she does so in rhythms and sounds that let us feel the yearning, but gently, content for the moment to wait in the company of friends for what we know to be true to make its way to our door.

The Absence might not grab you in the feels on first listening, if you're expecting a carbon copy of the first two albums. If you celebrate the development and growth of an artist, The Absence offers ample proof that Melody Gardot is maturing as a songwriter and singer, capable not only of wowing when the focus is solely on her voice, but of drawing listeners into a lush soundscape in which her voice wisps at times like a playful breeze, pours like hot, melted sunlight elsewhere and occasionally breaks into new depths of raw, open throated lyric somewhat in the style of Satchmo.

4 stars, because for me personally, The Absence held far fewer spine tingling, neck hair raising moments on initial listening than either of her previous works. There are, however, lesser shivery moments to be discovered on repeated listening, happily, quite a few more than initially anticipated.

I very much appreciate this work, and look forward to the next recording.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical sensation for my ears, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I think it is a great Album, very relaxed style of music.
The album took al little longer to receive however this is clearly stated when ordering, the wrapping is super and the price is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Disc, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
Various players couldn't recognise the disc or played only one track. So I sent it back for refund as the other Melody Gardot disc didn't thrill. Assuming the refund is completed delivery and service were to the usual high standard. Other reviewers rave and the one track that did play matched the performance on 'My One and Only Thrill'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melody with the velvet voice, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
I really love Melody Gardot, but this is quite a different cd to the other two she has recorded. Did'nt like the content as much, but really she can do no wrong for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
I. McEntaggart (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
Amazing new CD by this sexy, amazing artist. She just gets better with age... Highly recommended product! Melody Gardot is even better live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
Her work keeps getting better and better.
Wonderful melodies, great lyrics, fantastic crystal clear delivery as per previous albums.
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luxurious,beautiful music, 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
Saw a documentary about Melody Gardot and was amazed at her powers of survival,check out her profile.This set of songs remind me of my favourite female singers,Bebel Gilberto,Sade,Gloria Estefan and is a beautiful record.Great music for just creating a mood or you can analyse the intensely personal lyrics to see where the story comes from.I'm a sucker for latin rhythms anyway but this has it all..superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 1 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
Melody has done it again. Her voice is superb. I can listen to her over and over again. She is quite simply the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abra, 13 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Absence (Audio CD)
Havent had time too listen to it much yet but here voice and feeling is fantastic. Its different from the earlier albums as people here has pointed out. Fast delivery,good packing and no damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Absence
The Absence by Melody Gardot (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews