Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent family kinect fun
This is the sort of game that excels on the Kinect, it's really good for playing multi player games with friends and family as it's quite easy to pick up the events. It reminds me a little bit of when Wii sports first came out.

If you don't have Kinect then I would only give this game 2 or 3 stars as playing the games with a controller becomes boring quite...
Published 21 months ago by Chris12345

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, few kinect parts
In general it is a good game with great graphics but it should have more events compatible with Kinect sensor. Around 70% of the events are controlled by the joystick only.
Published 22 months ago by Marlboro


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent family kinect fun, 7 Nov 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the sort of game that excels on the Kinect, it's really good for playing multi player games with friends and family as it's quite easy to pick up the events. It reminds me a little bit of when Wii sports first came out.

If you don't have Kinect then I would only give this game 2 or 3 stars as playing the games with a controller becomes boring quite quickly and there isn't much to the game other than maybe trying to get world records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, few kinect parts, 8 Oct 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
In general it is a good game with great graphics but it should have more events compatible with Kinect sensor. Around 70% of the events are controlled by the joystick only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun - especially online, 16 Aug 2012
By 
ZealousGuardian (Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
FUN is the word I'd use to sum this game up. NO game is perfect and neither is this, but it's good all round fun and for that it deserves a good overall rating.

I hate just button mashing for sporty stuff but the controls and variations in this are nicely done - very simple to pick up and play right away - but not always so easy to master even with practise. But sure enough, if you do practise, you learn more and more about the marginal things you can do to excel at the harder events and eventually break a world record - and being able to break a world record is something you'll need to aim towards if you plan on playing the game online against other people and actually want to get a medal. Playing against people online is where it's at, and although you do encounter ninjas who are just amazing at every event, if you do practise and put in the effort and learn the events you can certainly be in with a chance of a medal if you do good in the moment. The National Pride online leaderboard is pretty cool as then the medals you earn for whoever you're representing online all count towards that, so getting a medal means more.

With a little more depth and scope, and with better online stats to record and remember the highlights of what you've done, this game could have been absolutely awesome and had a lot more longevity. But overall it is still a very cool game - good looking, fun to play, and challenging if you plan on winning gold online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London 2012, 8 Oct 2012
By 
C. F. Dyer "dutchy 30" (herts uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My children aged 10 & 13 really enjoy this game and their dad can play as well so very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 EVENTS IN 1 GAME - 8 PLAYERS ONLINE - ULTIMATE VALUE FOR MONEY, 2 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There here, the OLYMPICS are finally here and wow are they AMAZING. Even better is we can now interactively participate in almost all of the FUN events either ONLINE with your friends or OFFLINE. There are online leaderboards so you can compare your records, performances and stats with your friends. You can also see who has won the most medals. If you have 4 controllers, offline mode allows 4 players while A MASSIVE 8 players online.

There are 30 EVENTS to choose from by far the most any Olympic or Track and Field game has ever offered. Each event has it's own controls, own required skill and you have to use the full amount of brain power to be master every single event, although being the best at 1 event will mean you can gloat to your friend as you sit top of the leaderboards.

I have composed a list of all the events starting with the most standard then the most entertaining and diverse:

Track and field:
100m (men only)
110m hurdles (men only)
200m (men only)
400m
Discus throw (men only)
High jump
Javelin throw (men only)
Long jump (men only)
Shot put (men only)
Triple jump (men only)

Random Sports:
Beach volleyball (women only)[N 2]
Canoe slalom - K1 Kayak (men only)
Cycling - Keirin (men only)[N 2]
Rowing - Single sculls (men only)[N 2]
Table tennis (men only)
Weightlifting over 105kg (men only)

Archery:
Individual
Team

Aquatics:
3m springboard diving
3m synchronised springboard diving[N 2][N 1]
10m platform diving
10m synchronised platform diving[N 2][N 1]
Swimming - 50m freestyle
Swimming - 100m backstroke
Swimming - 100m breaststroke
Swimming - 100m butterfly
Swimming - 100m freestyle

Gymnastics:
Trampoline (men only)[N 2]
Vault

Shooting:
25 metre rapid fire pistol (men only)
Skeet shooting

The game is a must have. Online/Party games are usually reserved only for the Nintendo Wii but now Xbox, PS3 and PC owners can all have the most fun EVER with this ambitious game. I personally think the Beach Volleyball and Table Tennis could easily have been seperate games so the money for value here is astounding.

RATING - A+ - TRIPLE STAR RATING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 23 Oct 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is as good as I will to be. I like playing it with my dad and mostly beating him at mostly all the sports! The different challenges are fun to do and see if you can get all the stars. The actual games are easy to play; the controls are simple etc. I can't really comment of the graffics of the game because my TV is really bad (the bit sticking out the back is MASSIVE) but in my opinion the graffics must be good if they look ok on my TV. So overall a game better played together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good game, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I enjoyed the game for the weak that I had it but within a week it stopped working, this was preowned and very disappointed in the service. buy a brand new one not preowned people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak on the kinect games, 12 Aug 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought the XBox 360 primarily for Kinect games to try and get a bit more exercise, so I'm always on the lookout for new Kinect games. When I saw this, swept away with Olympic fever, I had high hopes for a wide range of events.

However I got it home and had a look and there are a very limited number of events with Kinect functionality. Straight away that was a bit of a disappointment. When I started playing the beach volleyball was fun, the kayak slalom was over very quickly and the running was a bit repetitive - just pump your arms fast. I've seen running on previous Wii games in the same vein and thought we might have moved beyond that by now. The archery might keep me amused for a little longer being a bit of a challenge of skill and I haven't given all the Kinect events a go so I might find one I love but I'm not holding high hopes.

The biggest fault for me is that to open any new stages up you have to either play the controller games (which I'm not really interested in) or play the party challenges with friends, but I can't imagine any of my mates coming round to play this. This means nothing to progress onto and leaves it looking a bit basic.

Another Kinect issue is that it seems to need a larger playing area than other games I own. I was almost out of the lounge and still being told to move further back, which is why I assume at times it was having problems identifying the movements I was making and getting my athlete to do as it was meant to.

There are a few other minor issues that made me feel very much like the Kinect element was just bolted on to the end without too much thought to widen the audience. As far as Kinect games go this was a fail for me. The only positive was seeing the venues and signages that have been so prominent in the Games which I have really been enjoying, although the graphics aren't amazing.

I couldn't say this was better than okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good game, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Sean Morton (near guildford, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Gameplay: There are some great new events on this game, like the cycling at the velodrome and beach volleyball - each offering unique gameplay experience. The new sprinting mechanism is a nice change from the typical, and the skill-sets are varied between intense bashing and finesse, often events will require multiple components, and I always feel that it's possible to jump a little bit longer or run a little bit faster even if I master an event.

However, as symptomatic on most olympic games, the mechanics are repeated between events. There are 10 swimming events, which comprise 20% of the events, and they all pretty much use identical mechanics and offer exactly the same gameplay experience. So what's the point? Similarly, the diving, vault and trampoline all use similar techniques - which lets the game down and hinders repeat gameplay.

It's also incredibly annoying when the commentator speaks over the start of track events, when you need absolute silence to hear the gun! He starts rambling on about how ecologically friendly the olympic stadium is, and how it's the jewel in the crown of the olympic park. Shut up! It's the start of the 100m final!

Other than that, good game - lots of fun to be had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars GAME WITHOUT CASE, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: London 2012 - The Official Video Game of the Olympic Games (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Havent played the game yet. BUT just recieved game in the post with no case. who sells a game without a case. don't use this seller if you want games to add to your collection unless you already have the case, which lets face it ia unlikely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews