Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary
This is a collection of Madonna's first 11 studio albums, from her debut up until Hard Candy.
This collection really highlights the sheer amount of success Madonna has had throughout her career, from her disco pop beginnings to her folksy, trippy Ray of Light album to her disco/diva dance hits on Confessions.
There is something for everyone here, each album is a...
Published 11 months ago by Adam. L

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic And Unusually Rare
This is a Limited Edition European UK with extra tracks 11-disc box set of Madonna's studio albums spanning from 1983-2008. It does not include the other amazing album releases like Immaculate Collection, Who's That Girl: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, I'm Breathless: Music From and Inspired by the film Dick Tracy, Madonna: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) or...
Published on 9 Oct 2012 by gone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Adam. L "Adz" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
This is a collection of Madonna's first 11 studio albums, from her debut up until Hard Candy.
This collection really highlights the sheer amount of success Madonna has had throughout her career, from her disco pop beginnings to her folksy, trippy Ray of Light album to her disco/diva dance hits on Confessions.
There is something for everyone here, each album is a whole new style for Madonna, she literally reinvents her style with each album, making for a truly iconic, dynamic and versatile back catalogue.
Lot's of people are pointing out that specific hits such as Vogue are missing, well it isn't rocket science, this is a collection of STUDIO ALBUMS, if you had bothered to do your research you'll see that songs such as Vogue were never included in a studio album, therefore they are missing.
My only con is the packaging, it's compact and easy to store, but I really do not like the cardboard sleeves each album is housed in, no lyric booklets or photo's are included, it's literally the box, with the 11 studio albums in cardboard sleeves.
I realise if it were a box of all the jewel cased albums with original booklets the price would be far more expensive.
But for the music you get here, I rate this an easy five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11 studio albums - not a singles collection!, 4 July 2012
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
Please don't be put off by the rather mixed reviews this set has got - it is exactly what it says on the box! You get 11 studio albums - no compilations, no soundtrack albums or other miscellaneous releases; if you want those too they are easy to come by, and the Immaculate Collection of the classic early singles is really cheap these days!

This set offers a really inexpensive way of getting a large part of the soundtrack to our lives, and is an ideal way to get it in a no-frills package. Read Mike Diver's review in the Product Description for a good idea of what this set is all about. I already had quite a bit of the material featured but Amazon offered the set as a Lightning Deal and the price tempted me for the material I didn't already have. Having now seen it I would say that the set represents excellent value - and even at Amazons regular price it works out at less than two quid an album. I don't think you could expect much more!

Sure, the record company could have gone to town and added lots of extras for the die-hard fans, but then the set would have cost two or three times as much and would not have had the appeal to the more casual listener. Madonna has never been one to ignore her fans and many of her releases have been issued in a variety of packages for the collector - this isn't one of them! Buy it for what it is - not what it could have been. Anything less than five stars for what you get for the price is bizarre and illogical!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic And Unusually Rare, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
This is a Limited Edition European UK with extra tracks 11-disc box set of Madonna's studio albums spanning from 1983-2008. It does not include the other amazing album releases like Immaculate Collection, Who's That Girl: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, I'm Breathless: Music From and Inspired by the film Dick Tracy, Madonna: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) or Celebration to name a few. Will they release the motion pictures and greatest hits separately? No one knows, but one thing is certain the greatest hits deserve a packaging of their own because they are, spectacular! Perhaps a Christmas idea for Madonna's former label, Maverick, Warner Bros., Sire Warner who she no longer does business with (as she is now with Interscope). You decide and make the call. Make no mistake, this set is an excellent addition to the new fan who has never heard any of Madonna's albums or is uncertain. The extra die-hard fan such as myself will find this to be a sure fire dream come true!

When this arrived in the mail I was expecting a set like Britney Spears: The Singles Collection (Deluxe) or LADY GAGA The SINGLES box set (9 CD set) since most box sets are usually quite large. To my surprise this was a very small box the size of the American Life Special Edition but with much more depth and open to the side. The booklets are not included. As you remove each disc they have the same style as the originals. No they are not like the Britney set that has all of them in just plain solid colors. They are all card sleeves as displayed on Amazon and the remastered versions with bonus tracks are gold in tone like the originals. I have added photos. When I was shopping for Lady Gaga as a newcomer I remember shaking my head thinking I'm not sure if I will like her. The Singles Box set made that uncertainty take a turn. And this box set may do the same for the undecided. You will have Madonna in her earlier 80s singing her disco pop synths on some, then the more happy in love Madonna in True Blue, the seductress diva in Erotica, the exotic classy sensual 90s Madonna in Bedtime Stories, the make peace not war in American Life style, Hard Candy and the all so classic sensational "Confessions On A Dance-floor" "Ray of Light", "Like a Prayer", and "Music" iconic Queen of Pop trademark albums.

If having duplicate UK (with bonus tracks) albums with nothing special but card sleeves/box is not economical or necessary for you then this may not be for you. For fans such as myself that have the albums scratched, in bad shape from over the years, and loosing its collectors worth this is a great solution to that. And since the actual disc is exactly like the original UK releases even if they get scratched they can easily be replaced into the sleeve; that is down-the-line when repeated play affects their longevity. I must say that when I got the box in the mail and opened it I was ecstatic. It's just such a rare set and so beautiful in the card sleeves! Madonna is definitely a long lasting music artist that has worked hard and made a strong mark on the world; not only in the music world but across the globe in the hearts of people who are lost, sad, or just in need of music to bring them to a higher place. This set is a nice addition for the must have it all fan and for the newcomer doubting with questions and uncertainties not sure if splashing loads of money for the regular UK album releases. While the b-sides and booklet with lyrics were missing the price tag is a much more affordable one if your wallet can't hold $35 for a Japanese Import or $9.00 for a download or regular UK release. This will come out to at least $100 cheaper if you do the math. Also, this has the added UK tracks not found in the US versions. So enjoy and discover what all the hype is about if you are a new wanna be fan! Already fans, get your hands on this fast before it sells out --if you love to collect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly amazing!, 18 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
This is one of those collections that everyone should have!
sure there is a few songs missing but this is perfect
Really highlights the constant change in Madonna's career but also shows the vast catalog of music she has produced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Into The Groove..., 28 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
I think the majority of Madonna fans already own her entire back catalogue so I think this item is not geared towards hardcore fans of the lady. I think it is aimed at someone who might be discovering her for the first time and what a great way of getting her albums all in one go.

As a fan who, as I already said, owns her albums this collection is disappointing because it lacks so many things. It lacks remastering. It lacks bonus material and strangely it lacks key songs from her amazing career.

Crazy For You, Into The Groove, Who's That Girl, Justify My Love and This Used To Be My Playground are missing. These songs were #1 hits in the UK and UK. They are key Madonna songs. Other missing tracks include You'll See, I'll Remember, Causing A Commotion, Rescue Me, The Look Of Love, Spotlight, Gambler...

A causal listener will find the various degrees of mastering off putting if they create their own playlists on their MP3 players. As a die hard fan I find it odd that Warner Bros. didn't remaster these albums. Even if they decided not to include b-sides they could have easily included the above songs.

for example True Blue could have included Who's That Girl, Causing A Commotion, The Look Of Love, Can't Stop and Spotlight.

Like A Virgin could have included Crazy For You, Gambler and Into The Groove.

Or they could have included a bonus disc:
Crazy For You
Gambler
Into The Groove
Who's That Girl
Causing A Commotion
The Look Of Love
Can't Stop
Spotlight
Vogue
Justify My Love
Rescue Me
This Used To Be My Playground
I'll Remember
You'll See
I Want You
One More Chance
Beautiful Stranger

I think it's a very lovely item, the sleeves are really nice but overall it's not something for the diehards it's for the casual listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good value for money, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
Really good value for money. 11 great albums. Madonna is a legend and so are the people who made this box set. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very complete at all, 24 April 2012
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
On first look at this set it appears to be rather nice,mini album leaves, then when you look a bit closer you really wonder who this set is aimed at.For starters three of Madonna's number one's are missing, Into the groove, Who's that girl and Vouge, and not to mention Crazy for you. If this is aimed at the fan then its not very complete and lacks a lot, I'm breathless which was a complete Madonna album for Dick Tracy film is missing, which included the number one Vouge a massive hit and also Hanky Panky. I can understand perhaps the Who's that girl soundtrack as Madonna only supplied Material for one side as it was of the LP but then a further number one single is missing as well as causing a commotion.I won't even start with Evita ! The first three albums are the dreaded re-mastered versions, where much of the sound quality was lost as they turned up the volume, too much. Like a Virgin is missing into the groove, and before you say it was not on the original, well it was added six months later, like many artist do(Marron 5 jumps to mind by adding moves like Jagger to the new album). So its missing but they have added some pointless re-mixes (now they were not on the original were they). Now that proves how lazy this set is all Warner's have done is take the current available CD's and put them in cardboard sleeves(no inner sleeves either).There is no mistaking True blue and Like a prayer are fantastic album, but I am sure every fan, infact by the sales nearly everyone has them. The thing is with collections like this, they could be so great, but then for some reason, someone in the record company just does not think when putting things like this together and goes for the cheap option to make some cash with an artist who left the label. Using the word the "complete" albums Is strange are we to have the non studio albums next. The confusion is the way record company's change their minds as to what is a studio album on the time of its release "You can dance" was considered a studio album, I still have a Q magazine with he review stating that, OK it is the weakest Madonna album but that's not the point. As for the absence I'm breathless it is just confusing the album was songs from the film and inspired by the film and on that basis should be included. As other reviews have said a bonus disc collecting all the singles and missing tracks would have been great then this would have been a collection that the fans and Madonna would have been proud of. I feel it is sad that this is just a cash in and I am pretty convinced Madonna has nothing to do with it. This is still great music but we all have it and there is nothing in this collection special or rare to please or excite any fan. Although I know some fans will think how dare you give this only three stars, intersting Madonna thinks its a rip of to in an interview she gave to Steve Wright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly all of Madonna's songs, in a compact box., 24 May 2012
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
I bought my set from hmv the other day for just £15 (sorry amazon, you were too much) an absolute steal even without remastering (er.. ie. making it a bit louder). Well, it apears 3 of the albums ARE remastered, those being MADONNA,LIKE A VIRGIN & TRUE BLUE and those have a couple of remixes each as bonuses, nice.

It is a shame though, as some have said, that they all haven't been given this treatment and a couple of extra songs for each album thrown on each. Also, it's a shame that somewhere along the line, we'll end up with some loose albums after this box set, so they'll end up sat next to it, looking rather fat in comparison to this slimmed super set, or will madge do a part two to accompany this set in 2033? - somehow, I doubt it (2008-2033) but you never know, look at sinatra.

I love these set's, it's a quick and cheap way to get most of her stuff in CD form. Now all there is to do is rip them all in EAC in FLAC form, put them all on a 16gb micro sd card, and then I'll have the (mostly) full works of Madge on my tiny Sandisk Fuse(portable & lossless). I never bother with mp3's, long live the CD!!!!

Some Great albums here, all condensed into mini LP Card Covers, which saves loads of space. As they're all going to be ripped to digital form [FLAC's] this doesn't matter, I won't be wearing out the less durable sleeves, but they're there when I want to look at them or show them to someone.

I always had a soft spot for the first album & the first 6 are great, then it's a bit hit and miss with ray of light and confessions being the best of her later career.

If you see this for less than £20, buy it; but only if you don't have a lot of them already. At £15, well, it's a no-brainer, some of the most iconic songs from most of my adult life are on these albums (and some of my teens too)
A Solid 4.5/5.

Only dropping half for the lack of a bonus CD with all her other singles/rarities etc. to make the set complete. As I can't give it 4.5 stars, it's a 5 star, for it's just brilliant value at £15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need i say anything?, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
You can not go wrong with Madonna, Love this box set I brought this one just for show naughty me :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Madonna The Complete Studio Albums, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] (Audio CD)
I really like Madonna. She was the symbol of what it was like growing up in the 80's and 90's.

The first album Madonna I was given for a Christmas present and I thought it was really good. The other albums - Like A Virgin and True Blue were all really brilliant. Madonna, Like A Virgin and True Blue were all on vinyl LPs. Later I purchased Ray of Light and Music, both on CDs. They were very good.

I didn't buy Like a Prayer, Erotica, Bedtime Stories, American Life, Confessions on a Dance Floor and Hard Candy. When I saw Madonna The Complete Studio Albums on Amazon I bought it straightaway. Having listened to all the albums I can say without a doubt that only the songs which she has released as a single - not albums - are worth bothering with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008]
The Complete Studio Albums [1983-2008] by Madonna (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews