Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good insight in the crazy world that was ECW, 23 Nov 2005
Having read The author's other book on wrestling, slamthology, was very happy to see he'd wrote another book on probably my fave wrestling group ever, ECW. The fact it was wrote by someone who had made trips to the states to see ECW live during the company's existence also sold me on the idea of buying it. Covers ECW from before its existence, to the early days, right through to the last show. I thought I knew a lot about the history of the company, but there was a hell of a lot of stuff I had no clue about in this book. Its took me roughly 3 nights and a couple of afternoons to read through the book, normally its takes me a LOT longer, but it kept my attention from start to finish. If you ever watched ECW, or are just a fan of pro wrestling, read this book. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to the history of ECW, 27 Dec 2005
Trying to document the story of a promotion which had so much impact on professional wrestling was always going to be a daunting task, but Lister has done an excellent job.
This is an enjoyable read with statistics and memories aplently. I would strongly recommend this book to old ECW fans and new wrestling fans alike. Like it or not, ECW was a promotion which lead the way in the 90s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real ECW, the real story., 26 Jun 2006
By 
From the author behind acclaimed wrestling travelogue Slamthology, Turning The Tables takes a fascinating and detailed look at the company that revolutionised professional wrestling, the reasons behind both its success, and its downfall, and all with the insight and acerbic wit that readers of his previous book have come to expect from this author.
Like many rags to riches to rags stories, the tale of ECW is a captivating one, and here John Lister takes us on the complete journey, covering every major incident throughout ECW's storied history, the characters, the angles, the fans, and the deals taking place behind the scenes. Even long term fans have plenty to learn from this book, and will also enjoy reminiscing about the glory days of the original ECW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Sep 2006
By 
J. J. Milner "twig15" (Hudds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic Read, Excellent Research, as a true ECW fan of many years, the sheer quality of writing and the writers obvious knowledge of the company is existent throughout , and the coherence and fluidity of the text , makes it easy to read , and hands down the best ECW book on the market!

E-C-W !

E-C-W !

E-C-W !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ecw, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turning The Tables: The Story of Extreme Championship Wrestling (Kindle Edition)
Massively informative read thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt a lot. I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys wrestling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars E-C-W! E-C-W! E-C-W!, 22 Mar 2011
By 
C. Hajdar (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did have some sort of idea about ECW when I was in my early years of watching wrestling. But because it wasn't on any channel here in England (that I knew about) I could never watch any of it. I can now say that I wish I had done. OK so The Attitude Era was VERY cool, but without Extreme Championship Wrestling and its grand influence there's a good chance that WWE wouldn't exist today. The telling point is that this is an accurate history about the origin of the company that gave wrestling in America a kick up the backside necessary after the staleness following the 1980s and has detailed chapters on its most famous moments including every result of the revolutionary feud between Tommy Dreamer and Raven; the Shane Douglas-NWA World Championship controversy and even a chapter with the ten best Joel Gertner quotes. I can't really recommend this highly enough without putting forward the case that as sad as it was that ECW "crashed in a sea of debt" it was ultimately for the best. I say that because it was less painful then it could have been given the size to which it grew. Plus it's written by an English dude so all spellings and customs are correct (don't take it too personally if your reading this and from North America).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impartial,factual and well written, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Mark D. Bradshaw (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Turning the Tables is a very well written book with very interesting statistics and facts.Whilst little new ground is covered due to the ECW story having become so saturated,what is covered is done so in an engaging format, making this book the ECW version of 'The Death of WCW'-which is certainly a compliment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book!, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Longden (Chesterfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Interesting, and revealed new information to a jaded old fan like me. Well written too, so thanks John!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well constructed, quick read, 11 Jan 2007
By 
This book is short and concise, and goes to the heart of the reasons for ECW's successes and failures. It is refreshing to have a take on ECW published by someone who wasn't involved in it, and therefore there is not the feeling that history is being re-written, which was evident in WWE's "Rise and Fall of ECW" DVD documentary. John Lister's writing is entertaining and the chapter length is short enough to make it an easy book to pick up when you only have a small amount of time to read. The book doesn't contain a huge amount of information that long-term smart marks will not know, but for those who don't subscribe to publications such as the Wrestling Observer, it should provide plenty of fresh information. Still, I will probably track down Lister's first book Slamthology on the strength of this read. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews