Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, thought provoking, and emoitonal impacting read
The book is well written, the prose accessible and the plot engaging. As a previous reviewer notes, the subject matter is hard reading, but the characters are plausible and you do end up rooting for them. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a novel that engages you from the first page to the last. It ignores common day mass produced 'twists and turns' in...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Book-Lot UK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have a go hero alert!
From the description this book sounded right up my street, having loved booked like "The Kite Runner" and "Cutting for Stone".

It felt as though Addison couldn't make his mind up between wanting to write a legal thriller and an emotional tale of two sisters separated from their family after the Tsunami, driven into a very dark life...
Published 6 months ago by Miss Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, thought provoking, and emoitonal impacting read, 5 April 2012
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Hardcover)
The book is well written, the prose accessible and the plot engaging. As a previous reviewer notes, the subject matter is hard reading, but the characters are plausible and you do end up rooting for them. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a novel that engages you from the first page to the last. It ignores common day mass produced 'twists and turns' in plot(i.e. Dan Brown, James Patterson etc)to deliver an emotionally thought provoking read that captures your imagination vividly. You won't regret reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gritty debut, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Paperback)
A Walk Across the Sun was definitely a lot more of a grittier read than some of the other books I've read recently but for me this is a good thing as I like to mix up the types of books I read.

When Ahalya and Sita's parents and grandmother are killed in a Tsunami they are left to fend for themselves, so set off for Chennai to take refuge in a convent but never make it after accepting a lift from a stranger. Instead they are taken to Mumbai where they are sold into the underworld where life becomes unimaginable for them, their only hope is for a miracle that someone will rescue them.

Thomas has become disillusioned with his life, his wife has left him and returned to India, he's been made the scapegoat at work for his firm losing a big case and he was a helpless bystander in a crime that he was unable to prevent. So when he's offered the chance for some time out, he decides to head to India and work for a non-profit organisation which is working to rescue underage girls who've been trafficked to work in the sex trade. It's through this work that his path crosses with that of the girls, will he be able to find and rescue them?

It might sound that this book is a bit depressing reading, and it's certainly uncomfortable to read at times, but it's because it's so realistic that it makes you want to keep reading to hope that everything turns out OK for all of the girls mentioned, not just Ahalya and Sita. It's a story of survival and resilience against all odds and the faith that one day they will be reunited again.

If this is what Corban Addison is offering as his debut novel, I cannot wait to read more books from him in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great read!, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Kindle Edition)
I was recommended this book by my daughter. What a great read - shocking sometimes - about how young girls are treated in India. Woven into the plot is an American 'cop' and how he comes to investigate the misuse of these girls. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to find out how other cultures treat their young girls. This is the first book I have read by this author but would definately read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Walk Across the Sun, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Kindle Edition)
The best book I have read since a Thousand Splendid Suns. I could not put it down. Beautifully written and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why only a few reviews??, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Paperback)
Why has this got so few reviews when trash like fifty shades has millions???
A heart pounding emotional read... Almost felt like I was there and yes I did cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unflinching and moving, 26 Mar 2012
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Hardcover)
Corban Addison tackles the most gruesome of subject matter in his debut novel; the trafficking of vulnerable children for sex. The simple, uncluttered narrative serves only to make the horror of the story all the more potent, but while the plot is grim it's also a story of resilience, encouragement and hope. Going from the streets of Mumbai to Paris and New York, the global reach and hidden faces of trafficking are exposed. It's uncomfortable reading - but it's a wake up call we all need. This is a well-woven tale, with characters revealing the many shades of grey between good and evil, action and inaction in the face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have a go hero alert!, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Miss Lawrence (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Kindle Edition)
From the description this book sounded right up my street, having loved booked like "The Kite Runner" and "Cutting for Stone".

It felt as though Addison couldn't make his mind up between wanting to write a legal thriller and an emotional tale of two sisters separated from their family after the Tsunami, driven into a very dark life.

The writing was cold and lacked emotion but more than this I found it hard to like the "hero" of the book. The whole way through this book, the lead character Thomas managed to conjure up a brainwave that lead him miraculously onto solving the next stage of the mystery.

Without giving away too much, the whole situation went from a safe home environment to disaster, followed by what should have been a harrowing read (the bad characters lacked development and didn't come across as bad as they should have), and ultimately concluding way too fast and with a very unrealistic ending! Disjointed and lacked detail, this book could have been set anywhere in the world and you wouldn't know the difference.

I feel as though this should have remained a legal thriller set in the USA, as this would most likely have worked out more convincing. Only one scene did it's job in shocking and educating me, which is why this doesn't get 1/5!

Due to the high rating on Amazon I picked this for book club, and most of the group also hated it. Only 4/17 would bother to read something by Addison in the future. I'm not convinced this appeals to a UK audience, with the way it all conveniently falls into place, journalistic style writing (vague), and with it's main character being such a self proclaimed hero.

My advice is to download the sample, although the chapter about the girls sets it up well; if you find the chapter about Thomas a drag, many other chapters continue in this style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EYE OPENING BOOK BASED ON TRUTH, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Paperback)
What an AMAZING, AMAZING book.
I cannot rate this book highly enough and recommend it to my friends. I have bought 2 copies and passed them on to others.

This book is based on true facts regarding Human Trafficking and you will be amazed how easily, especially young woman can get caught up in this awful treatment of humans.

Please do buy and read this book and support HOPE FOR JUSTICE a charity that rescues people in the U.K. caught up in Human Trafficking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper book, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Kindle Edition)
A proper book because it is about a serious subject written beautifully and sensitively. Such skill to write about a brutal subject and yet we still find beauty and joy in the pages. I would recommend this book to anyone with a love of literature, an interest in foreign cultures and a social conscience. But more importantly to anyone without these qualities as you will surely discover them by the end of this amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too keen on the legal bits !, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walk Across the Sun (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it as a whole but as I m not at all familiar with anything legal found myself skipping those bits ! It was one of those books that took a while to grab my interest but when it did I wanted to read to the end .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Walk Across the Sun
A Walk Across the Sun by Corban Addison
1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews