Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Sica's "Miracle"
The group of Films that Director Victorrio De Sica and Screenwriter Cesare Zavattini created in the late 40s/early 50s may not in these cynical hard times be as cricticly acclaimed as they once were, but to me they are amongst the most likable, human and sincere in all Cinema.
De Sica followed up the ultimately tragic "Bicycle Thieves" with this much more light...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by richgrom

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay
when the package arrived the disc was loose in the box, but as it was sealed and a christmas present i was not sure if the disc was dammaged the person who received the gift will let me know.
Published 20 months ago by Giovanna Silverio


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Sica's "Miracle", 4 Feb 2009
By 
richgrom "rg" (London, England) - See all my reviews
The group of Films that Director Victorrio De Sica and Screenwriter Cesare Zavattini created in the late 40s/early 50s may not in these cynical hard times be as cricticly acclaimed as they once were, but to me they are amongst the most likable, human and sincere in all Cinema.
De Sica followed up the ultimately tragic "Bicycle Thieves" with this much more light hearted fable "Miracle in Milan". But it is not without De Sica's usual social concerns ie the sharp division between rich and poor, and the cynical opportuinism that big business sometimes adopts (perhaps portrayed by figures who are delibrately exaggerated, but in a very witty way).

Without going too much into the plot, our hero Toto is a young man who manages to create a shantytown for the homeless of Milan whom he truly inspires. However, once oil is discovered on the land, business and the authorities coludes to move them out. That is when the magic of the Film, starts to happen leading to a literally "divine" finale in front of Milan Cathedral.

"Miracle in Milan" although in the Neorealist tradition (particularly in the first half) is more of a charming fantasy with a considerable comedic touch.

As for the DVD itsef, the picture quality is perfectly adequte. There are some extras, but it would have been nice to have had some more. These do include charming footage of the Films premiere, with introductions from De Sica himself and leading actor Francesco Golisano.
Great DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films I've ever seen, 8 Sep 2010
I bought Miracolo a Milano in Italy and I'm most impressed that Amazon is offering De Sica's little-known successor to his famous Bicycle Thieves. Whereas the earlier film is gritty and depressing, Miracle in Milan starts as a fantasy with the infant Totò being found in a cabbage patch and gets more and more astonishing thanks to a daring script and simple special effects.

The acting is brilliant with a handful of professionals amply supported by 100 down-and-outs (who supposedly had to be hosed down every morning to counter their hangovers). The music deserves special mention - don't be fooled by the naff cinema organ opening. It blooms into jazz, marching music and romantic schmaltz worthy of the best Hollywood budget-buster.

In short, a cinema classic that deserves to be better known. It even leaves you with a smile on your face, and that's worth a lot these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great holiday movie...., 30 Dec 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Part fantasy, part comedy and part social critique this heart warming film transplants the oeuvre of Dickens to post-war Milan with entertaining results.

Other commentators have outlined the plot so there is no need to repeat their efforts, but it is enough to say that the film's central message is rather bittersweet.Building Eden on Earth is a project doomed to fail.The frailty and greed that afflicts mankind is not just a characteristic of the rich,but the poor as well.it is only through self-denial and sacrifice can the lot of everyone be improved,it seems.The messianic central character,Toto inspires the poor and homeless,to help themselves,but even given divine intervention,it doesn't take too long before matters get out of hand,with humorous results....

It is important to stress that this is a lovely fun film- whimsical,full of great characters and interesting location shots,a great holiday movie.The print quality is fair but doesn't distract from the enjoyment this film brings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miricale in Milan Blu-ray, 27 Feb 2014
By 
David Welford (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle in Milan (+II Tetto) [Dual Format Edition] [Blu-ray] [1951] (Blu-ray)
I expect a lot of you have heard of or seen Vittorio De Sica ‘Bicycle Thieves’, which having hired from Love Films I subsequently purchased (Its No 33 in BFI Top Fifty Films). His other highly acclaimed but less well-known film is ‘Miracle in Milan’. This is the story of a baby found in a cabbage plot, adopted by a kindly lady who unfortunately dies so our hero Toto ends up in an Orphanage. Having grown up he manages to create a Shantytown for the homeless of Milan. Oil is discovered on the site and the Authorities try to demolish the shacks and take the residents away. The Miracle happens in front of the spectacular Milan Cathedral. The film is a sort of feel good idealistic fairytale, though it does depict the poverty and hardship of the time, with a spectacular ending. The package comes with a 28-page booklet, a Blu-ray and DVD copy of the film plus a bonus DVD copy of the Italian Film ‘IL TETO’. Another excellent product from Arrow Films, which I don’t regret buying, personally I thought it had the edge on ‘Bicycle Thieves’!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great film. I am so glad I bought this. I had not seen it, but have seen others by the same director. I recommend it to everyone who likes good cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PRESENT FOR ELDERLY FRIEND, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift. My friend was delighted with it. She had seen it in the cinema as a young woman and often spoke about it. Amazing that it is on DVD. Watched it myself and although very dated could see the appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic film, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Stephen Jowle "Seargpepa" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a classic piece of italian film making using a fantasy storyline it shows the political struggle between the have and have nots through the innocent eyes of the main character Toto.If you are a collector of european/world cinema this is a must for your collection. Personally i would rate it as high as Jean Renoirs La regle De Jeu. Highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful & Marvelous Film, 29 Mar 2009
By 
Oscar Mendoza "safe first" (Miami,Florida.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A deep look of the human heart, as is, without philosophical points of view.
Simple and beautiful: a film with innocent love.
One of my 10 top films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle in Milan (+II Tetto) [Dual Format Edition] [Blu-ray] [1951] (Blu-ray)
Very Good, thank you, David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. B. ASHTON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A simple but beautiful story, told with beauty and subtlety. I would recommend this to anyone, it has a universal appeal, in my experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miracle in Milan (+II Tetto) [Dual Format Edition] [Blu-ray] [1951]
£8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews