Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last! Stunningly fresh coffee, ground very fine by me for a modest outlay
Firstly, thanks must be paid to an Amazon reviewer for a different brand, but i suspect broadly similar product - Go see the first reviewer of the Hario Medium Glass Hand Coffee Grinder with Ceramic Burrs, Clear - in case her review ever slips from its spot I'll add the link in a comment, since i think this can't be done within this review without Amazon carefully...
Published 5 months ago by Lady Fancifull

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A cheaper and poorer quality version of the hario indeed
I actually own a hario and was planning on buying this for travelling etc. Unfortunately the ceramic grinder arrived pitted and scratched out of the box and although the construction was fine it was much poorer than the hario's. Avoid and get a hario if you're looking into the market for a good hand grinder.
Published 4 months ago by Ross Saunders


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last! Stunningly fresh coffee, ground very fine by me for a modest outlay, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
Firstly, thanks must be paid to an Amazon reviewer for a different brand, but i suspect broadly similar product - Go see the first reviewer of the Hario Medium Glass Hand Coffee Grinder with Ceramic Burrs, Clear - in case her review ever slips from its spot I'll add the link in a comment, since i think this can't be done within this review without Amazon carefully scrutinising the link in case it is of a 'found one cheaper elsewhere' competitor!

Claire Jordan has produced an absolutely brilliant video review which guides the user into properly assembling, and, most importantly, properly ensuring that you get the fineness of ground you want (instructions a little vague, on the box, or even, with the Hario, I believe missing entirely.

The reason i went for the Tiamo is that when I bought it it was in stock, fulfilled by Amazon, whereas the Hario is out of stock at this time, and available only from Japanese sellers, with a hefty import postage charge to pay, and moreover a wait of a couple of weeks.

This looks to be identical, but is Taiwanese. The final star is deducted only because the tightening ring on my particular model would not screw absolutely plumb straight into its housing, and I suspect the thread itself may be minutely off kilter. However it works absolutely perfectly, though needed a little bit of finesse and jiggle to straighten it up.

Maybe the made in Japan (I assume) Hario is a little more precise. Maybe not. Who knows

There are some excellent design features - if you want to really have fresh fresh coffee you do need to grind your beans when you want the coffee, rather than buy pre-ground. The problem with normal, reasonably priced electric grinders, or coffee grinders as part of a food mixer/processor bundle of attachments, is that all they do is cut the beans up into small-ish pieces - the way they are constructed means you can't get really fine grind.

Enter the ceramic burr mechanism, where the coffee beans are fed from above and can only get into the collecting vessel when ground finely enough, as if by a pestle and mortar, or table salt grinder pot

That gives you no wastage, as the surface area of the coffee exposed to the water in your coffee pot will be as large as possible.

There are electric machines for home use with ceramic burrs, and they are expensive.

THIS nifty little mechanism gives you the satisfaction of grinding with your own fair hands, and, really takes very little time. It all adds to the ritual and means you savour your favourite fine beans even more.

Though the machine has a little non-slip base, so you can hold it steady on the counter whilst you grind, it is by far the easiest option to cuddle the jar to your solar plexus with one hand and grind from that position. As long as you don't overfill the top there won't be any problem.

Once ground, any excess coffee can be capped off, as the jar itself has a lid.

Things can easily be taken apart for cleaning, but another helpful Amazon reviewer on the Hario recommends cleaning occasionally by grinding a few grains of uncooked rice. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great smell of fresh ground coffee, 13 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
The act of grinding your own coffee beans really adds to the coffee drinking experience.
I do not regret buying a manual grinder and this one has worked faultlessly for the couple of months I have used it, virtually daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 9 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
I'm really impressed with this grinder, which I bought for grinding not coffee, but spices. It looks good, it's well made, and it works a treat, easily grinding everything from cumin seeds to cloves (larger spices such as star anise and cinnamon sticks might need breaking up first to get them to fit in the mechanism). The removable rubber 'sock' on the bottom of the jar keeps it from slipping around. One improvement I'd like to see is a similar rubber surface to aid gripping the top of the thing while grinding! I can't speak for its longevity as I've only had it a few weeks, but it certainly feels very sturdy, made with thick glass and a tough, hardwearing plastic. I also love that it comes with a screw top for the jar part, so that spices (or coffee!) can be stored easily after grinding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A cheaper and poorer quality version of the hario indeed, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
I actually own a hario and was planning on buying this for travelling etc. Unfortunately the ceramic grinder arrived pitted and scratched out of the box and although the construction was fine it was much poorer than the hario's. Avoid and get a hario if you're looking into the market for a good hand grinder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good burr grinder, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
The burrs are well finished and the whole thing is of a decent build quality, ,much the same as the kyocera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as good as the hario, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Samuel Tsang (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this from trader chas and it is excellent.
4 day delivery.
Cheaper then the hario. Identical operation to the hario giving a consistent grind.
Seems well made and should last for ages.
It is manual and will take several minutes to grind an expresso less so for drip coffee.
If manual labour is not your thing get an electric one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice burr grinder, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
Bought as a present although I have used it. It gives a very even grind and can be set up to grind to different fineness although all take a lot of effort making it a useful piece of gym equipment as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIAMO Grinder, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
Really impressed with the build quality of this grinder, tough and easy to use. It even has a sort of pre-cut blade in it to make hand grinding even easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better results than a bladed "grinder", 28 Sep 2013
By 
Paul Webster (Exeter, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
After explaining to my local coffee roasting company that I wasn't very satisfied with the results of the bladed "grinder" I had acquired I was recommended this grinder as an affordable way to properly grind coffee with results similar to much more expensive electronic burr grinders. I asked for the grinder to be set for the correct grind for my cafetiere (coarser than for a filter) and the improvements to the coffee I'm now drinking is staggering. Obviously being a manual grinder it does take a little time and effort to process your beans but you are rewarded with great coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IGNORE 2 STAR REVIEW, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TIAMO Ceramic Burr Coffee Grinder (Black) (Kitchen & Home)
That person had no idea what they were talking about: the burrs most certainly ARE ceramic and work brilliantly. The grinder is surprisingly easy to clean as well as it all comes apart easily. Its easy to adjust for fine/coarse grind and the find is very consistent. It does of course take a while to grind a lot of coffee and the wrist of your steadying hand can start to ache but you just have to accept this when buying a manual grinder.
Can't think of anything else right now, enjoy your brew!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews