Customer Reviews


578 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (147)
3 star:
 (91)
2 star:
 (88)
1 star:
 (66)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


213 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant collaboration by two fantastic writers
4 1/2 stars.

The Long Earth is the first of a planned trilogy by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. If you were looking for two of the most unlikely authors to collaborate, you'd be hard pressed to choose better candidates than these.

Pratchett, as pretty much the entire world knows, predominantly writes humorous fantasy, and while it's true that...
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by Patrick Samphire

versus
111 of 121 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judgement suspended
Like most of the reviewers, I looked forward to this collaboration of two of the greats of sci fantasy. Now I have finished the book I am in two minds as to what to think of it.

One the one hand, it starts off with a good premise and two promisingly individualistic characters. Locations are well described and it gets off to a good start. On the other, once you...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 149 50 5158 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable and begging for more, 13 Aug 2012
By 
D. L. J. Quicke "Donald Quicke" (UK, Ascot) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - a departure into gentle and different SciFi for Sir TP - and just wished i could have read another 100 or 300 pages of it. It is a story about parallel earths that all have developed a bit differently, presumably after random bifurcations in their elatively recent history, the ones further along the chain being generally more different. It follows a main young man character who can 'step' between these without any device and without the apparently common nause associated with 'stepping', and a compter, hyper-intelligent entity that appears to be a recently dead, re[incarnate]injelloate Tibetan mechanic in terms of experience but who is now working for a large company. Together they explore these earths and find a very interesting beast.
I thought this was a very different novel which made me think a lot. it was very well crafted in terms of its story-telling line, and I really wished for more. It ends with the a phonecall that begs a sequel. There's enough ideas here for at least one (probably best just one, but who knows). Whatever, if a sequel is published i'll be first to devour it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Discworld quality, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Long Earth (Hardcover)
A slow, pedantic tale for anyone who's not a fast reader. Easy to dip in and put down. Interesting philosophical questions but a frankly boring plot.
Not the usual engaging stimulating humerous and thought provoking read I'm accustomed to with beloved TP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of The long Earth, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Kindle Edition)
I am an avid reader of Sir Terry Pratchett's books and unfortunately have now read all of them so wait for new releases with great eagerness. This is not one of the Disc world series. It has an interesting concept behind it but I don't feel it really goes anywhere (excuse the pun; you'll understand when you read the book)I didn't really connect with the main character, Joshua and besides voyaging across the long earth and incidental short bursts of danger, which in actual fact he could just step away from, there is none of the usual Pratchett sharp humour. I love his humour and I missed it in this book. It's an okay read but without the usual sharp, witty but gentle wisdom usually found in Sir Terry's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book ruined by a rushed ending, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Bobsta (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Kindle Edition)
After hearing about this book during the Steve Wright show, I decided to take the plunge. The book starts off fairly strangely. The description of most of the characters is in places a little vague and doesn't really go into detail. The premise of being able to traverse endless versions of the planet Earth makes for some interesting reading. I don't want to spoil it for other potential readers but the ending feels as if Pratchett and Baxter suddenly realised the deadline was upon them and rushed it. It definitely points towards a follow-up which will hopefully tie up some loose ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have Potato, will travel, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Long Earth (Hardcover)
A collaboration between proper sci-fi author Baxter and national treasure (Sir) Terry. I do remember Sir Terry's early sci-fi works (Strata etc) and sadly remember them as being not very good. And then he discovered his forte with the Discworld series......

So, the Long Earth.....it's a strange book, some great ideas, an interesting concept but generally fails in the delivery. An inventor discovers a way (through a `stepping' device, powered by a potato!) that you can move into endless parallel Earths, each a `step' on from the other. But there are no humans or civilisation, so if you `stepped' from New York, you would find yourself in a parallel earth in the same `place' but when it was just grass and forest. And soon everyone has a stepper and nips off to explore, which has an impact on `our' Earth. Oh and you can't take any iron through which adds a complication.....

Anyway the interesting bits of the book are the impact this has on society and the individual stories, but the bit that dragged was the central story. A man with very little personality with a kind of human/AI hybrid go on an long journey `stepping' hundreds of worlds in order to find some answers. And their story feels like a dull travelogue, lacking in any real degree of wit or charm. And then they (and the book) crash to such an abrupt halt, it makes you wonder if there are some pages missing.

It's a book that doesn't quite know what it is, is it a Hitchhikers for the new Millennium, is it a quirky sci-fi, is it thought provoking and so on...In the end it is a lost opportunity and not as clever or as funny as it should have been given the pedigree of the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This not Discworld!, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Kindle Edition)
This book is not a typical Pratchett book, so get your expectations of the Discworld series out of your heads!

I won't repeat the plot or main story summary as many have already done this, other than to say the book is about exploring alternative earths and some of the consequences to society.

There are many ignorant reviews on here, with disappointed Discworld fans moaning.

What did you really expect? This is not Good Omens with both Gaiman's and Pratchett's wit and comedy, it is a solid Sci-fi and I enjoyed the ideas and story on what has to be a series.

I look forward to the next installment of this well written collaboration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad I read it; Not looking for a sequel, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Kindle Edition)
The Long Earth offers a way to find the Earth you belong to. This is not an action-filled pioneer book but nonetheless hooked me - I finished it within two days. Rather than exploring the many worlds it rapidly presents it uses them to explore humanity's competing needs for companionship versus independence and the desire for progress and achievement versus ideals of the natural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best read ever, but its OK, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Kindle Edition)
I had really looked forward to this book as I am a serious Pratchett fan. Bought it for Kindle on the day it was released. It then took me till the 22 July to read, lets just say it did not grab me. If you like Sci Fi I am sure you will love this book, but I much prefer Sir Terry's fabulously written Disc World. Its an OK read but will not be on my list of books to re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of so many things..., 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Hardcover)
I am used to the concept of ideas being recycled and redeveloped in SF writing, and came to this as a Discworld fan, but initially I found the concept of stepping too reminiscent of Transition by Iain Banks, especially the idea of assisted and natural transitions. However as I got into it I really enjoyed the style and development of ideas so I then romped through to the end.... which is where I hit my next problem. The impending disaster which had driven the pace was actually very tame, vague and easily disposed of. The real disaster happenning at home was much more interesting, and the cop Jansson was a character with untapped potential. Still maybe that is all planned for book 2, which I will probably read too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Earth (Paperback)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 149 50 5158 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Earth
The Long Earth by Stephen Baxter
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews