Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!
After watching these on TV i found them quite entertaining there was some comic moments with Gadget but these two series were darker more character driven then This is England i would like to thank Shane Meadows for writing this and creating a future classic.

To the other reviews about regions i found it unfair your meant to comment on the programme not if the...
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by Mr. J. Wrigley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed at all. Even though the box set ...
Not impressed at all. Even though the box set was sealed both dvd's had scratches on let alone with finger marks!
Published 1 month ago by Rob


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. J. Wrigley "The Doctor" (Rainhill England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After watching these on TV i found them quite entertaining there was some comic moments with Gadget but these two series were darker more character driven then This is England i would like to thank Shane Meadows for writing this and creating a future classic.

To the other reviews about regions i found it unfair your meant to comment on the programme not if the discs worked take it up with amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Thought it was excellent, Vicky McClure's portrayal of Lol was amazing, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Thought it was excellent, Vicky McClure's portrayal of Lol was amazing, she really emersed herself in to the part and deservedly won the BAFTA . All the other characters play their part aswell guided by Shane Meadows gritty realistic style of direction. Original, quality drama with a great soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant films, 18 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved these films. The acting is superb, at times really funny, at others shocking. The soundtrack is great. Vicky McClure and Thomas Turgoose especially are excellent. As a former skinhead it takes me back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for DVD library shelf, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We enjoyed these films when shown on TV. They are excellent although dealing with fairly hard issues, but there is love within the group of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD's, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are well worth wathching if you were young in the 80's like me.
Arrived in good time for Xmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful and Brutal Masterpiece, 9 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who has watched all of the 'greatest tv shows' (The Sopranos, Breaking Bad, The Wire etc) this is one of the few british show that I think can sit comfortably among them.

'86 in particular is one of my favourite pieces of television - its both funny and heart-warming at one minute and then harrowing, disturbing and upsetting the next.

It's a masterfully told story and the writing, acting and directing are all superb. Highly recommended although perhaps not for the faint of heart - some scenes a very difficult to watch - scenes of sexual violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, funny, sad, romantic and tormented all at the same time., 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the film when it came out; the soundtrack, the characters, the relationships and the fashion. I watched parts of the series when it was on TV but after finishing Breaking Bad, Prison Break and Vikings I wanted another series that I could binge-watch so bought this boxset. I would highly recommend this series for all the reasons I gave for the film, although there are some upsetting scenes and therefore I would recommend sticking to the 18 rated certificate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 15 Aug 2014
By 
lefty (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is England '86 and This is England '88 Double Pack [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love This Is England and this Blu Ray boxset is not only excellent value,but the quality is stunning.It's not so much the vibrancy,it's the clarity of the picture that really stands out. . .it looks crystal clear on my set up.

If your a fan of the film BUY IT NOW!!!!,it follows on perfectly.

Meadows at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is England 86 & 88, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great follow up to the original film. Very much darker though and although it contains some humour it was nowhere near as comical. The 80's were my teen years and it brough back a lot of memories of how life really was.
Can't wait for the next installment due out later this year :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This is England '86 and This is England '88 Double Pack [Blu-ray]
£11.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews