Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY impressive - DAB may be a bit weak?
I bought this for use in a 1st floor study. I wanted to be able to use a variety of sources (DAB radio, CD and MP3 player). Personally, I don't use an iPod but I have borrowed one to test and it seems to work well. The system is compact, and looks smart and suitably understated. The sound quality is more than acceptable and the sound output is fine for anything less...
Published on 20 Aug 2012 by Sony Victim

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars background noise
Speakers had background noise that was really annoying and detracted from enjoyment. returned item. Did not replace will make do with old Tesco system.
Published 7 months ago by DJ grumpy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY impressive - DAB may be a bit weak?, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this for use in a 1st floor study. I wanted to be able to use a variety of sources (DAB radio, CD and MP3 player). Personally, I don't use an iPod but I have borrowed one to test and it seems to work well. The system is compact, and looks smart and suitably understated. The sound quality is more than acceptable and the sound output is fine for anything less than a party (I am listening to Radio 4 at level 8 and it goes up to level 32!). Since there is an On/Off timer facility, one could use it as an alarm clock; there is also a "sleep timer". You can download a manual from Goodmans to learn more - (Google Micro1470DABi IB.pdf).

I have three (possibly negative) observations which cause me reluctantly to mark it down to just 4 stars:

The DAB doesn't seem great at picking up a signal and you appear not to be able to fit an external DAB antenna. This isn't a problem to me but might be an issue if you live in an area where you have poor DAB reception.

When I bought this, I also bought a 1m 3.5mm Jack Cable - Premium Quality / 24k Gold Plated / Audio / Stereo / Male to Male to allow me to connect up an MP3 player. If you leave the jack cable plugged into the "Line In" socket on the Goodmans system but not into anything at the other end with Aux-In selected, you get a distinct hum, a bit like a ground (earth) loop. I have tried three different jack cables and the fault is not with the cable. Again, not a serious problem but a bit surprising.

The volume control is a rotary knob which you twist anti-clockwise to reduce the volume and clockwise to increase it. what is not immediately apparent is that you twist the knob about 30° against a stop and then have to twist it a bit further, against a spring to effect the change (up or down) - this isn't a problem, just slightly confusing.

All in all, very good value and perfect if you don't have a weak DAB signal. I did consider much more expensive devices (e.g. the £220 Roberts Sound 100) but wasn't convinced that the extra cost was justified.

WOULD BUY AGAIN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little system, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Purchased this for my daughters bedroom for which it is perfect. Looks good and works great for CDs, i-pod and DAB. The speakers produce a good, clear, crisp sound for small units and are ideal for a smallish room, but if you like a lot of bass they won't be for you. Very good product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solution to my Music needs, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I had been looking for a sound system which would allow me to listen to DAB radio, CD and ipod. I am pleased with the quality and the ease of use for each medium - good qualitysound and the compact look of the system mean it can fit in with my traditional cottage style home. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MICRO SYSTEM, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great, good sound just what I have been looking for fits in fine with the kitchen nice and neat. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Functional, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This little DAB unit has everything I want, I have wired it into existing speakers so the sound is good too, however, the volume control could go up higher as the existing speakers could cope with more. Other than that it is a great unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars background noise, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Speakers had background noise that was really annoying and detracted from enjoyment. returned item. Did not replace will make do with old Tesco system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... CD System within the day excepted and was very happy with the product, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I received the Goodmans Micro1470DABI CD System within the day excepted and was very happy with the product, it has got everything I want on it and its a nice little System,
I will recommend family and friends to it, in fact I have some many compliments from my friends about it.
The item came 3 days before the date of the time and date expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
For the money, this is great. Really impressed.
This is a really inexpensive item but has surpassed my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goodmans micro system, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
excellent the sound is great easy to set up wow a remote control what more could i ask for. highly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mt daughter loves it, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodmans MICRO1470DABI CD Micro System with Charging iPhone/iPod Dock and DAB Radio (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Excelllent sound reproduction and the remote allows my daughter to listen to what she wants in her cabin bed with the radio across her bedroom. If buying this for teen's bedroom, buy some wireless headphones too, or headphones with a long lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews