Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Picked this up at the Tate Gallery and I have to say that I am really enjoying reading it.

I have always loved art but have never really known how the different styles link or even where the different movements feature in history.

This book provides answers to those questions and more. It also provides a brief (i.e. long enough to be informative,...
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by Trash

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50 art ideas
For a book about art it is a pity there are not more examples of art , in particular in colour. Otherwise, the text is informative,educational and interesting, well worth the purchase price.
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by jacksbock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Trash (London, England) - See all my reviews
Picked this up at the Tate Gallery and I have to say that I am really enjoying reading it.

I have always loved art but have never really known how the different styles link or even where the different movements feature in history.

This book provides answers to those questions and more. It also provides a brief (i.e. long enough to be informative, short enough not to bore) overview of the 50 different art movements contained within, as well as pointing out the key artists linked to each movement.

I agree with the other reviewer that more examples of the actual art would have been good - generally there is a picture to illustrate each genre but there are a few that don't have any pictures. However I found myself looking up a lot of the works online which was a great way to explore more of the works mentioned in the book.

As for not featuring any colour paintings - also a fair point but I guess this makes the book cheaper so I'm all for it particularly as I can see the colour versions online (and perhaps even in a gallery one day :-). Having the images (albeit in black and white) at least gives an idea of the style of the particular genre.

So all in all I would say a great introduction and springboard for finding out more about art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50 art ideas, 31 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a book about art it is a pity there are not more examples of art , in particular in colour. Otherwise, the text is informative,educational and interesting, well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise knowledge at its best, 5 Mar 2014
By 
james gardiner (edinburgh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Art Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
If you are like me,you may have an aspiration to grasp the history and development of art, but lack a level of interest in the subject which precludes extensive reading. This is the book for you. It could only be improved by the development of colour e-ink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Art Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't find any inspiration yet. This appears to be more a history of art origins - I was hoping for ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 10 July 2013
By 
G. Lloyd "Gilliewren" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you know about art then don't buy this book. All the pictures are in black and white which is pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not first., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Art Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
Read 50 architecture ideas first. Then have a go at this. Maybe you will decide to be an architect : that is the real thing. Other art is plastic. But you need to know why you chose architecture. So you need to buy this. It's imperative or the art school crowd may eat you alive. That's assuming they are not vegetarians which they probably are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7235fa8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews