Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners., 8 Jan. 2013
By 
Julie Vanberkel (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
If, like me, you have only a vague awareness of Dicken's life and times, this book is a good place to start. It has made me want to know more now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I was impressed with this book ,it was short but very interesting. I have brought a few other history in an hour books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of a true genius, 23 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
This was well written and clearly described the motivations,passions and life experiences of a truly unique writer. It provides a good background to his novels, explaining his intent and hope for each one. It was also fascinating to learn more about his personal life and various philanthropic efforts. Very much worth the money and an accomplished introduction for those wishing to know more about such an interesting man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this brief history of Charles Dickens. Although very concise, the author Kay Jones succeeds in conveying an interesting insight into Dickens's character and lifestyle, in addition to providing factual information regarding his extensive literary achievements. The kindle version offers great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dickens, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
I really like these History In An Hour books as they are really informative and don't go on too much just the main facts. They are a hit with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love these., 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Love these history in an hour books. I get them on Kindle mostly for £0.99. Some for just £0.49. I have ten or more now. I have enjoyed them all. Why? They don't get boring. They put over the main issues in short understandable prose. Boy oh boy many, many a history book could learn from that.

Academic snobs will immediately say no depth. I say read these first to get the bones of a subject. You want depth look for the long often incomprehensible mixed up prose from the afore mentioned.

Not all, but too many in my humble opinion make interesting historical subjects downright boring.

Long live history in an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dickens History in an Hour, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Well I got what it says - Dickens in an hour. A wee bit disappointed as there was no in depth guts to the narrative and it all seemed a bit rushed. Still as I said - what else can you expect for a cut down autobiography?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dickens: History in an hour, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
A clear chronological summary of the life of Charles Dickens. Sufficient but economical use of detail achieved a good balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Got this on kindle for my 9 year old who was doing a project at school and we read it together. He worked out how to get it to read to him, so he also did that. It takes more than hour to read though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dickens: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Very good there was a lot I did not know, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dickens: History in an Hour
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews