Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Twelve People
Imagine yourself arriving at your holiday destination (which you booked as a package deal) and realising that the motley bunch on the coach with you are to be your "neighbours" for the next week, like it or not. Such is the position that the book's hero, Mia, finds herself in when she opts to holiday solo in Kefalonia. It seems a strange thing to do - turn down the...
Published on 25 April 2012 by June Louise

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Good for reading if you want to empty your head. It does not give you anything to think about. Good for the beach.
Published 8 months ago by Debra Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Twelve People, 25 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
Imagine yourself arriving at your holiday destination (which you booked as a package deal) and realising that the motley bunch on the coach with you are to be your "neighbours" for the next week, like it or not. Such is the position that the book's hero, Mia, finds herself in when she opts to holiday solo in Kefalonia. It seems a strange thing to do - turn down the invitation of friends to join them on holiday, and to go somewhere completely different alone - but dentist Mia has a genuine motive, and one that fills her with anger, apprehension and bitterness. Things aren't helped when she is forced to live in close proximity with such characters as Caz and Babs - the overweight, Essex-girl forty-somethings who never say anything quietly; Craig and Steve - the football shirt "chav"-type duo who hope for great things in Greece; Margaret and Frank - the couple in their sixties who are on holiday celebrating their fortieth wedding anniversary, before things start going awry; Simon - the jilted bridegroom who decides to go on his honeymoon to Kefalonia on his own and bore everyone with his woes; as well as Nath, Jo and Shantee - in which a very fiery love-triangle starts up. "Looking after" them all is the Greek adonis Dmitri, travel-rep Nikki, and Marie the nurse - whose services are required more than once.

It's a story which is humorous, compelling, cringeworthy and tragic as one by one it becomes apparent that each individual has an "issue" of some kind - some of these only being taken seriously after dramatic events. The characters are easy to engage with - I personally couldn't abide Caz and Babs, nor Craig and squint-teeth Steve, but yet felt huge sympathy for the annoying Simon and the trying-so-hard Frank.

Very well written Tasha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greek holiday fun, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
A good fun cover is always appealing plus luckily got it free. Great start of typical package holiday where to get a cheap deal allocation on arrival. Set on Kefalonia one of the quieter Greek Island a mix of 12 people are thrown togerther. Yes there are lots of sterotypical characters this adds to the fun wondering just how they are going to interact. As the saying goes you never know what goes on behind closed doors this can defineatly be said about this book. Not all fun and laughter as each character unfolds with a tale to tell. Nice fun filled factor to the book with lots of Greek sunshine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect summer read, 10 Aug. 2012
By 
C. Plunkett (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book, particularly so as summer here hasn't been too hot and so this has been the perfect antidote to some rainy days! I couldn't wait for my daily dose of sun and escapades from the characters in this tale of love and lust in beautiful Greek Island of Kefalonia. There is such broad appeal in this book as the author has cleverly included so many different characters including, local heartthrob Dimitri, a couple in their 60's celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary, young lads who mistakenly think Kefalonia will be a mecca for girls for them to pursue. Friends Babs and Caz in their 40's, freshly single and looking for a good time, the jilted groom Simon and of course the heroine of the tale Mia, who it turns out is in Greece for reasons other than a holiday.
I would highly recommend this book for some fabulous holiday escapism, it is well written and I am definitely going to be downloading the authors other book Hot Property.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not my usual type of read but GREAT!, 1 Aug. 2012
By 
M. Barry (East Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
I decided to take a break from the action/adventure type of novels and try this (it was free at the time) It was excellent. Started off as everybody's idea of Brits abroad but managed to weave a story for each of them. At the same time, it managed to convey the holiday atmosphere.
I think I may be about to buy the writer's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not your average 'fluffy' read, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book of Tasha Harrison’s that I’ve read, the first being ‘Hot Property’. I loved this book just as much as the first for its portrayal of real-life characters who don’t descend into stereotypes, its humour and great storyline. The book is filled with typical characters that anyone could meet on a package holiday but it’s the way that they interact that is so brilliantly done. If you’re looking for a light read that isn’t ‘fluffy’ then this is for you. Of course, it also has the added advantage of being set in Greece, a country the author evidently knows well from the snippets of language and culture that appear in the book. Can’t wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will love this one, 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Friends fan (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
This was a decent book, very similar to any Mauve Binchy book - a lovely story that kept you wanting to read on and on.
The characters all had their own story to tell be it happy or sad and in the end everyone helped each other.
Well worth a read - some of the bits are obvious but others take you by surprise. There are alos lots of comical sections too.
I would recommend this to anyone who loved Mauve Binchy stories because this is as close as you're gonna get to one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tonic, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
Oh how I smiled at this even laughed out loud.
Having visited this resort, I decided to buy. It was so true to life a bunch of people thrown together by a package tour, who all appear very different, and do not like the look of each other at first glance. They become interwoven and good friends by the end, seeing each others good points, how often does that happen !
enjoyed it so much I bought another of her books hot property which I also liked very much, and will buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this one is a grower, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
It took me a while to get into this one but i am glad i stuck it out and i really enjoyed it in the end, it was great give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
Good for reading if you want to empty your head. It does not give you anything to think about. Good for the beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Like pulling teeth., 9 May 2014
By 
illustrani (Tenerife, Canary Is.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Package Deal (Kindle Edition)
This book reads like a short story from a women's magazine that goes on....and on...and on. I found myself skim reading and skipping large chunks. The characters did not spark my interest and their individual stories were simply dull. Predictable and pedestrian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Package Deal
Package Deal by Tasha Harrison
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews