Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Author To Watch
I have read several of Hannah Hooton's books and have to say i have loved every one, she has an incredible talent for making completely lovable and relatable characters. As someone who likes horses but doesn't follow horse racing at all i did worry i wouldn't understand some of the plot, but i was pleasantly surprised when i read the book I understood everything, it is...
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by becca Sheahan

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predctable
An easy read but almost from the begining you could predict the outcome. More twists and turns you have improved the storyline.
Published 18 months ago by keith emerson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Author To Watch, 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
I have read several of Hannah Hooton's books and have to say i have loved every one, she has an incredible talent for making completely lovable and relatable characters. As someone who likes horses but doesn't follow horse racing at all i did worry i wouldn't understand some of the plot, but i was pleasantly surprised when i read the book I understood everything, it is really a great story, i promise you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
a fast paced book with likeable characters. its the usual boy meets girl with lots of misunderstandings but these are not contrived and are believeable ( mostly) and better built up than in most books like this. you don;t need to be an avid racing post reader to follow the heavy horse racing slant, having been to a few meets helps with the understanding of the tension that builds up in a race though it is conveyed well in the book and I think you would be willing the horses on even if you had never stood at a track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
This story had me hooked from the start: wonderfully gripping, full of intrigue and drama, human interest and emotion. Great characters, including a very likeable heroine and my favourite sort of hero... Looking forward to the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Holiday Read, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
What a refreshing read. Took this away on my holiday and so enjoyed it. Not usually into romance but this was quite charming and found the in-sights into what goes on behind the scenes in horse racing very interesting and will now look at the races in a totally diffferent way. Thoroughly recommended and looking forward to her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rattling good romantic romp, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
With a haplessly well-intentioned heroine, a strong silent hero and a desperate race between sexual attraction and ambition, this story is Georgette Heyer updated to the 21st Century. The horse-racing background is vivid and pacey without being overwhelming for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I raced to the end, 26 Feb 2012
By 
Richard Gould (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read, a romance full of twists and turns with realistic, strong characters. The novel is set in the world of horseracing, largely in Newmarket, England. I had little idea about racing before reading this, but by the end had some insight into that world, just the right amount to be intrigued and rooting for the heroine's horses. Just like a race the novel gathered momentum and was a page turner as I tried to figure out how what seemed like an unresolvable dilemma would be sorted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable read, 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
A beautifully written book based on the world of horse racing, At Long Odds proved very difficult to put down. The characters are plausible and (to a large extent) likable! The storyline moves at a good pace, and produces a great mix of emotions, which I really love in a book. As other reviewers have already mentioned, the story is well researched - even so, it doesn't bewilder the reader with excessive details. On that basis, I think the book would be easy to follow for those with a limited knowledge of the sport, as well as genuine race fans.

At Long Odds has a bargain price tag, and I'd certainly urge anyone to give it a whirl. I'm waiting with anticipation for the next offering from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Odds, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book, excellent racing and romantic storyline, didn't repeat itself like some books do, couldn't put it down. Thank you, more please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very very readable, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this and read it very quickly! Only reason I did not give 5 stars is because in places it was a bit predictable. But isn't that what makes a good romance work? Flowed well and kept a good pace up throughout, with the right amount of horse background thrown in. Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LIKED, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Long Odds (A Racing Romance) (Kindle Edition)
A realistic horse racing romance.Loved the story...race horses, hot guys what more could you want and it was free bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Long Odds (A Racing Romance)
1.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews