Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
At first I was a bit annoyed with the set up - kept crashing! I decide to give my system a fresh install with an image file. I used the latest amd driver - AMD_Catalyst_12.11_Beta8_NET4
Then installed the game for the second time! I have not had one crash. Something worked! The game is excellent!

The only thing I hate is all the skill levels and skinning...
Published 19 months ago by ladcrooks

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Far Cry 2 than the original Far Cry....unfortunately.
OK. Let me start by making something blatantly clear. It is mind-numbingly obvious that some people will like this game, and others will not. A review is a matter of personal opinion, and in mine, this game is average.
Let me explain why....

I loved Far Cry. The original was ground-breaking. You needed a freakishly good PC to even run the thing. I had to...
Published 19 months ago by P. Vlahodimos


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Far Cry 2 than the original Far Cry....unfortunately., 3 Dec 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
OK. Let me start by making something blatantly clear. It is mind-numbingly obvious that some people will like this game, and others will not. A review is a matter of personal opinion, and in mine, this game is average.
Let me explain why....

I loved Far Cry. The original was ground-breaking. You needed a freakishly good PC to even run the thing. I had to upgrade my GPU at the time just to play it. The best cash I've ever spent. The water, the foliage, the different tactics, the ludicrous plot twists etc made the game one of my favourite of all time.

Then the second Far Cry came along and changed the rules completely. A FPS RPG kinda game. Still brutal. Still needing a beast of a PC to run. Plot was ok. But what I didn't like was the whole 'sandbox' aspect of it. All of sudden you had to get 'missions' a la GTA or something similar. God knows why they felt the need to change it, but they did. Some loved the game, I never finished it. I got bored of travelling from A to B with the sole purpose of getting given another mission, coincidentally back where I was before.

So seeing the trailers for Far Cry 3, the first thing that struck me was the island. Back to basics perhaps? Well, kind of. The game is beautiful. The jungle, the caves, the beaches, the sea....oh the sea....wow. Like the original, the sea looks astonishing. And guess what? Just like the original, it is a monster to run. First game in two years I've not been able to run on high or ultra high settings. So you'd better have some nice new kit, or some top of the range pc from a 12-18 months ago or you'll struggle to get acceptable framerate.....

....but I digress. The game itself. Storyline and characters are great. Insane nutjobs that portray the despair of your predicament. Violence is high. Guns are great etc etc. So lot's of positives. BUT, and here's where it falls down for me. It is way too random. The intro scene is excellent. Kidnapped by brutal loons? Check. Escape with casualty of loved one? Check. Terrifying chase before sliding down into churning white water a la Arnie in predator? Check...... Pretty good till here, no?

Then all of sudden you're awake in a 'friendly' village, and the frenetic pace is just gone... You meet the 'others' (feels a bit like Lost, although in this case the 'others' are the good guys). They own shops that sell guns (yessssss). They teach you to harvest crops and plants from the jungles and fields and even rivers and sea to make medicine and other interesting stuff. They teach you to hunt wild animals for their pelt (so you can build bigger backpacks etc). You can pick up bounty hunter contracts, kill wild animals to complete challenges, and loads of other stuff.

Backpacks? Collecting plants? Really? Are you kidding me? Do I really feel like playing Far Cry 3 to make myself a bigger backpack, or to make myself an evironmentally friendly aspirin...?

But hey, masses and masses of things to do. Definitely value for money if that's your thing.

BUT, and here it is again....my opinion is that this is just yawnstakinly boring. I prefer a linear game like the original. You had to follow the plot. You could do it in your own way, but you had to keep following the plot. It kept it more exciting and more engrossing. I wanted to keep playing. In Far Cry 3, this is not the case. Its too big, too vague and in my opinion, too boring. I've not finished it, but the side missions just don't relate to the plot at all. I know that's nothing new, but in Far Cry 3 I don't see why I should bother doing them. They're thrown in to extend the length of the game obviously, but why not put the effort into the main plot instead? Don't get me wrong, it's a good game, but it's not what I wanted or expected from the franchise, and I was disappointed.

If you want a fast paced FPS like the original, this is not it. If you want something more like the second, but with more bells and whistles and generally more polished, then you'll probably love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
At first I was a bit annoyed with the set up - kept crashing! I decide to give my system a fresh install with an image file. I used the latest amd driver - AMD_Catalyst_12.11_Beta8_NET4
Then installed the game for the second time! I have not had one crash. Something worked! The game is excellent!

The only thing I hate is all the skill levels and skinning the animals to get the things you need to play the game. A lot of buggering about, and do we have to really hunt animals, my mind set is ok, but will this trigger off certain issues with the demented society we already have? I still think Far Cry was better for a shoot me up without the hassle of collecting things.

Anyway, this game is still brilliant and i do like the idea that you have to kill an animal to save your skin, that goes without saying when a tiger, leopard, komodo dragon etc is on your heels!
It adds the tension without a doubt! Went to take a short cut cross a river and a crocodile got hold of me! Made me jump and laugh after!

Yes the game will be hard act to follow, just wish they had cut the skinning and finding silly trinkets and looting your dead out etc!

10/10 still!

System used - i7 920 @ 3.4ghz - 6 gig ram hd7970 very high settings to ultra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Crusoe to Rambo: The Incredible Far Cry 3, 30 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Far Cry 3 is an incredible game but it may not be what you are expecting. If you are thinking it's just an FPS, you are probably underestimating the game. Before you buy this game consider two things, one - it's not just an FPS game that you can quickly finish and move on. Second - don't judge this game from the previous Far Cry games. This is an evolving FPS - survival game with strong RPG elements, you can even call it the ultimate survival game. it's the transformation of neophyte Jason Brody, that's you, and great voyage of survival and revenge. So let's start the transformation from his being a novice Robinson Crusoe to Rambo, yes, the professional killing machine.

I didn't compare Far Cry with Far Cry 2, but I do compare Far Cry 2 with Far Cry 3 but before you judge me read the full review, the reason for my comparison is because both are using Duniya Engine, and I loved the Duniya (meaning "world" in Persian, Hindi and Arabic among other languages) in Far Cry 2. One of the best features for Far Cry 2 was that the gameplay is realistic and brilliant and the way you play categorically influence the game. Far Cry 3 is much greater with those elements. There are multiple way of approaching the game.

SINGLE PLAYER
Somewhere between the Indian and the Pacific ocean there is a beautiful tropical archipelago called Rook Islands, Jason Brody, the protagonist finds himself stranded in a very hostile environment worse, his brother Doug killed and his girlfriend Liza disappeared. He is determined to find her and avenge his brother's death, more important, to get out of the Island which is inhabited by savages, crazies, dangerous animals and other aggressive elements. Jason Brody is basically a nice guy forced to fight to survive, unlike the Special Forces operative Jack Craver in Far Cry , or the mercenaries you played in Far Cry 2, he is not a combat expert, but he learns really fast. The basic story is, what I mentioned in the title, the average everyday man's transformation to a deadly killing machine.

GAMEPLAY
Gameplay of Far Cry 3 is very similar to Far Cry 2, non-linear, open world sandbox mode style, where you are free to explore. If you can see it you can go there, the vast open world provides both hostile environment and a beautiful tropical landscape. The dynamic weather system, day and night cycle, can be used in the player's advantage. The tropical jungle (often reminds you of the original Far Cry) provides cover and strategic movements, yet you should remember that as it has its advantages the environment can be equally deadly.

The enemies react dynamically to your modus operandi, Duniya 2 engine presents much more intelligent and polished enemies and hostile yet adaptive environment. You can refine your approach depends on the situation, customize weapons and strategies. You can be stealthy, cunning strategist, run into a situation guns blazing, or even try a mixture of all these strategies, or find something totally new in your style of approach.
However, remember, at the core Far Cry 3 is a first person shooter, so even if you prefer a stealth approach it wouldn't be like Theif , Splinter Cell, MGS, or Sniper Elite or similar games. What you can do here is that stealth approach can be used to your advantage, and it's really great, but that didn't mean you can use a full stealth approach throughout the game, and you shouldn't , if you really want to enjoy the game. However, it has more opportunities to play stealthily and strategically than the previous Far Cry games, much much more opportunities to use the environment to your advantage. Talking about the advantage, there are multiple ways to devise your strategy and the game will adapt to it. For example, when you see the enemies have caged animals you can free the animals and they will take care of the enemies while you can also snipe them at your convenience and safety.

There are a few minor jumping scenes, nothing as wild as the original Half Life, and some of it makes you feel a bit vertigo, for example when you climb the telephone beacon tower, where you can have a look at the massive open world awaiting you down there. "Death from above" is a jump-kill approach, where you can dispatch an enemy by jumping and stabbing to make a stealth approach more effective. You can spot enemies behind the crates like a silhouette and taken them down strategically.
The enemy AI is really brilliant in this game, they try to work together, outflank you, provide each other support and suppressing fire, run to activate the alarm for help, providing frequent and plenty of challenges to the player.

The introduction of the role playing game elements is something new to the Far Cry series. Experience points, skill tree, looting the boxes are all introduced in Far Cry 3. You can see the skill tree as it is, like RPG game style, and the tattoos you are getting is the new skill. The protagonist Jason's transformation is another key element of the game, I have to say, from a neophyte carefree man to the ultimate killing machine, is an awesome transformation. The massive open world of Far Cry 3 offers numerous secondary campaigns and hours and hours of gameplay.

DUNIYA 2
Far Cry 3 features the fantastic Duniya 2, a modified and advanced version of the original Duniya engine. Now, if you are familiar with Far Cry 2, James Cameron's Avatar or Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood you know about Duniya Engine, even if you've played the original Far Cry and Crysis series, you can imagine what you'll get from Duniya 2, because Duniya is based on CryEngine which was modified for Far Cry 2. In short CryEngine 1 is the mother of both the latest CryEngine 3 in Crysis 3 and Duniya 2 in Far Cry 3.
I don't think any other Game Engine has the dynamic and realistic weather effects, fire, volumetric and indirect lighting like Duniya engine. Those who played Far Cry 2 know about how the weather effects and terrain can affect the equally brilliant dynamic fire propagation. Duniya also supports large open world maps without level loading, and great special effects. Duniya 2 went one step further in non-scripted Artificial Intelligence, much more polished weather and geographical system, realistic animation whether it's a ravaging fire or a slithery snake, it's so lifelike, also facial expressions, with totally awesome radiation, lightning, and global illumination, incredible is the only word to describe it. The Island has the best dynamic ecosystem as well, everything is so alive and reacts to everything. When you make a sound or fire your gun, it may not only attract the enemy pirates, but alert the animals too, and some of them can be really hostile. Personally I think Far Cry 3 is the most realistic first person shooter at present and you, the player and your avatar are much closer than any other game you ever played, in Rook Islands you are not playing, you are surviving.

CAMERA
The monocular in Far Cry 2 is replaced by the camera in Far Cry 3, which can be zoomed to investigate enemy movements, patrols, arsenal, strategic locations, weak points, and to study the environment. You can tag enemies and strategic objects with the camera.

MOVEMENTS
Jason is more agile than the Far Cry 2 mercenaries, you can slide to cover or attack, jump to kill, throw the knife to kill while sneak attacking, pull up climb, and a variety of movements possible combined with attack or strategy or part of exploration. One of the interesting features of the Far Cry 3 is the location marker, so you can see where you are heading as it will guide you. So you don't have to check the GPS map regularly like you did in Far Cry 2.

WINGSUITE
Wingsuite a mini parachute is a brand new addition to the game, it's always with you, so if you fall off or jump from a higher place you can use it to safely land or glide a bit to safety, it's like the wingsuite or the parachute in Just Cause 2.

ENEMIES
In Far Cry 3 there are various types of enemies, which you can identified by the icons above their heads.

Pirate Troops
Pirates or mercenaries, identifiable with a skull icon, are the standard enemy you will encounter in Far Cry 3, they are not hard but they operate and co-ordinate in numbers, and quick to mobilize.

Chargers
Identifiable by the electric charge or flash icon, they seem high on something, without fear, even dare a suicide attack on you. They ran into you and keep attacking until you are dead or they are. The chargers with Molotov cocktails are particularly good at this, even when they are engulfed in flames, they will keep fighting. Chargers are dangerous as they can inflict damage even through body armour.

Sniper
SVD sniper can be identifiable with the marksman target icon, and can be located by their sweeping laser sight. They can see you from a distance (obviously) and their shot can be really damaging, often remove two cells from the health bar, also reducing body armour.
RPG snipers don't have the laser sight, and when they spot you they retreat to safety and spray your area with RPGs or anti-tank rockets.

Heavy
The heavies are the troops with full body armours and carry light machine guns, they are identifiable with the armour shield icon. Once they spot you, they will walk towards you, blazing their machine guns, spewing shell cases, like an army of terminators.The heavies who do not carry machineguns, carry flamethrowers instead. The wear heavy fireproof body armour. Once you unlock the Heavy Takedown skill, dispatching them is much easier.

WEAPONS
In Far Cry 3 you will many weapons, you will have your default combat knife, other weapons can be classified into different categories let me list them. In the pistol category you will have Kimber Warrior which is similar to Star .45 or M1911, Makarov 6P9, Desert Eagle and Taurus Raging Bull. Three different shotguns M1887, Remington 870, SPAS-12. Assault rifles include AK-103, FA-MAS F1, HK416, SIG 552, M1A SOCOM 16, and Galil ACE. Submachine guns are A2000, VZ 61 Skorpion, MP5N,Vector, and PP-19 Bizon. Three major sniper rifles Dragunov SVD, Remington M700, and Armalite AR-30. Two light machine guns PKM and Ultimax 100 Mark 3 and two grenade launchers RPG -7 as the rocket propelled grenade launcher and GM-94 - pump-action grenade launcher. The arsenal also includes Flamethrower, Type 10 - flare pistol, and DShK (mounted) heavy machine gun. The explosive kit includes Molotov cocktail, frag grenade, and Improvised Explosive Device (IED). Saving the best for the last, the bow and arrows, which is a great weapon, with a variety of arrows for different purposes, from stealth kill to fire propagation and distraction.
You can customize weapons as well, for example with the money you can buy extended magazine, optical or red dot sight, or sniper scope even give it a paint job to styling it like stripes or fire, or jungle camouflage etc.

FAUNA
Far Cry 3 has a great animal kingdom which is both exotic and dangerous, the vibrant yet hostile environment is alive with a great variety of animals which you can harvest or can use to your advantage. Some of the animals you will come across are dogs, tigers, leopards, wild boars, bears, pit bulls, monkeys, water buffalos, and even Komodo dragons. The tropical jungle also has, birds, lizards, bats, fishes, snakes (standard syrette heals snake poison too), turtles and other fauna. You will also find bull sharks and crocodiles in the treacherous waters in the Far Cry 3 world. Some animals are easy to kill but others can be really dangerous, even the easy ones can be dangerous when it's part of a larger pack. If you've Predator's Pack which includes the exotic thylacine, an endangered Tasmanian tiger or wolf, white Tiger, black panther and red vulture.

HANDBOOK
The handbook is a journal that records your progress and you can see the missions, which were completed, with stats, which includes missions, supply, weapons, relics, and recipes acquired, vehicles driven, story quests, trails, radio towers accessed etc.

LANDMARKS
The towers in the game not only gives you a vantage point over the vast map, but also unlocks various points on the map as well. (Listed below is the main landmarks)

Calvary Point
Calvary point, originally built by the British missionaries to herald the arrival of the gospel to Rook Island in the 1800s. The site of the great cross is now a bloody ground for the pirates to kill their victims and enemies.
Heron Perch
The bell tower was Originally built as part of the cathedral. It's the only remaining structure when the Cathedral collapsed.
Citra's Temple
This site is a place of worship as well as Rakyat's primary stronghold. The place is the centre of myths and one of the oldest structures in Rook Islands.
Rook Point Lighthouse Tower
The Rook Lighthouse was built in 1899, to protect ships from the hazardous coastline of Rook Islands.
Temple of Stone
The origin of this mysterious temple still is shrouded in mystery. According to the archaeologists, temple of stone is the oldest structure in Rook Islands.

VEHICLES
The vehicles in Far Cry 3 are: Armoured personnel carrier (APC), Rigid-hulled inflatable boat (RHIB), cargo truck, helicopter, and jet ski. Patrol boat returns from Far Cry, hang glider and buggy returns from Far Cry 2 (hang glider has better maneuverability than Far Cry 2 and can spend longer time enjoying the vast scenic beauty of the open world), and quad bike returns from Far Cry 2 Fortune Pack Edition, other vehicles include Scavenger jeeps and Styrus cars. The vehicle animation is much greater than the previous far cry games, for example, when you travel with the boat, it moves so realistically with the waves and the wind, giving your avatar a complete feeling that you are indeed riding a boat.

TRAVELLING
You can unlock different locations in the map, but Rook Islands (it's plural) have a lot of ground to cover and explore.
Vehicles
In Far Cry 3 you can drive through the great massive open world, even tailspin (you'll love it). Some of the vehicles are a little difficult to handle especially at high speeds because of their condition like Sedans, but others like 4x4s are great to handle and a pleasure to ride, ATVs and trikes are great but easy to roll over. One thing to note is while riding you might run into pirates.
Fast Travel
Remember going to the bus station in Far Cry 2 to travel distant locations, or driving through the vast open world, same here, any safe house in the game can be used for fast travel. When you have to go to different parts of the map as part of the missions or the main story, fast travel locations save a lot of time instead of driving very-very long distances.
Waypoints
If you can highlight a location in the map, it can be used as a waypoint. Waypoints can be placed anywhere. If you are using a waypoint and ends up in a barren location it means there's an alternative way like a mineshaft, underwater grotto, old cavern or some sort of underground passage.
Gliders and Wingsuit
Gliders are much more navigable than Far Cry 2, and can be used to cover great distances. Though gliders slowly go down if you are careful and manage to guide the nose up you can own the sky for longer time.
Once you get the wingsuit, you can jump from high cliff faces and mountains, and it will be a fun way to have a short flight and view the great scenic beauty of the gameworld. Any fall more than 10 feet triggers a warning to open the wingsuite.
Zipline
There is the great zipline travel, even when you are on zipline you can use your weapons, an added advantage.

MINI GAMES
Games within the game? Yes, there are a few mini games in Far Cry 3 good for some extra money and experience.

Racing Challenge
If you want to make a little extra money you can go for racing challenges. The races are timed and you need to hit all the markers to win.You can run free or betting for $50, $100 or $200.
Knife Throwing
You can do free practice rounds or challenge the local into knife throwing for a bet of $50, $100 or $200. When you push the key to throw the knife, a slider appears and travels along a gauge. The scores are outer ring (5 points) , white ring (10 points), inner white ring (25 points) and bullseye (100 points).
Sharp shooting
Sharpshooting bets can be participated with pistols, shotgun or sniper rifle. Skeet shooting is the game. The targets will be released from the sides of the screen and you have to shoot it before it disappears. Bets are $50, $100 or $200.
Poker
You can play poker game with the same bet $50, $100 or $200. Since I don't know this game or interested I couldn't tell more. But if you know poker, I am sure you will enjoy it.
Supply Drops
Supply drops are not exactly part of the mini games, but more like a side mission which is labelled with a green cross icon in your map. The aim to deliver the medical supplies in a yellow backpack in a vehicle, and you must get the backpack and drive the vehicle to the final stop. Again it's timed, often under 90 seconds, and a slight distraction can hamper your mission, if so better restart it. The reward is 250 EXP and money ($175 to $500).

ENEMY AI
Enemy AI is brilliant in Far Cry 3, it's both cunning and adapting to the environment and situation. Even the animals react to the environment, for example a dog in a pack can be dangerous, but when its partners get killed it often gets scared and run away. AI, both scripted and non-scripted, is much polished and greater than Far Cry 2, enemies will cover, swarm, try to outmaneuver, outflank, provide suppressive fire and support to their buddies, and strategically work and cooperate with each other to take you down. Other than some minor notes, enemy AI came out brilliantly.

MONEY AND TRANSACTIONS
There are boxes, chests, can be found in the Far Cry 3 world, which contains money and can be looted. You need money to buy ammunition, explosives and weapons. The chests are like the briefcases in Far Cry 3, also identifiable in the map with the diamond icon. There are lots of chests in Far Cry 3, the greenish or brownish chest contains small amount of money usually up to $50. The metal greenish chest contains small about of money and either small amount of random ammunition or a single grenade. The red chest is rare but it contains ammunition, a single high-priced item, and money up to $300. Look for near collectible items.
You can harvest animals for their skin, which can be used for money or customizing (crafting) your items to make it more durable or adding an extra feature, for example crafting a holster to carry a weapon or upgrading a holster to carry more weapons. Once you've crafted the heavy duty 4th stage upgrade for all your items, skinning is a great source for money. Exploration is a key aspect of Far Cry 3, where you can cultivate many opportunities and looting itself presents the opportunity to know more about the Island than getting money and materials, so it's really a rewarding experience. Another good feature in the game is that the loot chests automatically refill items over time.

REALISM
Those who familiar with Far Cry 2 knows how realistic the game is, here realism reached the next level and it's amazing. Everything reacts to you as in the real world. Much greater physics system, healing system, more realistic depth. I personally don't think any games at present challenge Far Cry 3 in realism.

Co-op Mode
Co-op mode has four avatars for the player 1. Leonard the ex-cop, Mikhail the hitman, Tisha the ex-military, Callum, the Scottish chef (!). Far Cry 3 Co-op mode has six campaign chapters, where need to survive the heart of the island, and slowly get closer to the stolen treasure. Unlike other co-op gameplay, in Far Cry 3 co-op mode individual score is also stressed. Though your team is the first priority, and there is no "i" in team, there is a "me" in that. And each chapter also presents a unique challenge and an opportunity to excel. Where you can be the top scorer. According to Ubisoft, co-op and multiplayer unlocks will be shared in one unified profile. So you can manage your customized load-outs, skills, and weapons anytime in-game and through the web.

MULTIPLAYER
Please note Multiplayer modes are too early to evaluate with finality, but as far as I can say, it's great. Domination, Team Deathmatch, Transmission and Firestorm are the four types four team based multiplayer game modes.

Domination
Like the name implies, it's all about dominating the other team by capturing and holding Command Points. There are three command points, marked with a flame or flare, getting close to it capture the point. If there are enemies inside the capture area, you need to clear it to proceed capturing. Your team is in blue and the top of the screen shows a bar that will indicate the status of your fight. Blue spots or circles are the Command Points under your team's control and the red spots are the enemy controlled points.

Team Deathmatch
As you probably know already the team with the highest kills wins the round when the time is up. Here is something worth noting, every time you revive a teammate, a point will be subtracted from the other team. Got the point, keep an eye on reviving as well.

Transmission
In transmission, your team has to find the transmitters and hold them. The team that hold the transmitters the longest will win the round. In your mini map you can see the transmitters that are active and scattered in various locations. Once you hold the transmitter, you can earn the points, in time the transmitter will get heat up and transmit louder doubling your points. If the enemy gets hold of the transmitter you can recapture it, until it overheats.

Firestorm
In Firestorm your mission is to destroy the enemy supply depot, while protecting your own depot. This mode is bit innovative, once you trigger a fire in the first enemy depot, within a short time, rather simultaneously, you need to set fire on the second depot thus triggering a firestorm. Then you need to capture a radio activated in the middle of the map, once you capture it a plane will dump gasoline onto the area, setting fire to the rest of the map and wins the game. On the other hand if your team didn't start the firestorm but capture the radio the plane will pour water on the area thus extinguish all the flames and reset the match. So make sure to start a firestorm and capture the radio. Since this mode is a two stage process and both defensive and offensive strategies are crucial to winning of the game, it's a great adrenaline rush experience.

HEALING
There are a variety of healing and first aid animations, including the Far Cry 2 syrettes. Also you can mix and make healing potions which can cure the health slots in different ways, depends on the potion you blended from the plants.

If a damage depletes a cell of health, it will slowly regenerate, however the further cell remains as it is and you need to heal it. Syrettes are the easy way to heal the health. You can buy them for $100 (each), or find them during the game or make them through crafting (one green leaf per syrette). Before using syrette, try the basic first aid, which will restore some health (though it take a little longer than the quick fix).
Far Cry 3 has lots of elements against your health, even in the hardest (infamous) mode in Far Cry 2, you are not that bad when it comes to health, if you strategically plan your attack with stealth. Here on the other hand, you can easily loose health, so keep your cover, use syrette (don't wait for later, even when you think you are fine), careful of the jumps - even a short fall can deplete a cell out of the health bar, and longer falls can be fatal. Animal bites, claw attacks, mÍlée attacks, fire, explosions etc. can drain your health so fast than you think.

In the Event of Death
Once you are dead you'll re-spawn in the safe house or similar location. Your weapons and achievements will revert back to the last auto save.

MORE THOUGHTS
Far Cry 3 is incredible, the graphics, the game engine, the game AI, yet chances are you might also find some generic graphics and settings. I am assuming, that the early Crytek models of rocks, buildings, blocks, and few aspects of flora can be encountered some part of the game. Slopes in Far Cry 3 and some part of the forest, vegetation, and geography nostalgically reminds you of Crytek engine, and it's very similar to early Far Cry and
Crysis games.

In Far Cry 2, environment is friendly except for minor cautions like fire propagation, but in the Far Cry 3 environment realism moved to many further levels of realism. The environment can be friendly as it can be hostile and deadly. There are venomous snakes, hungry sharks, predatory animals, and you are just part of the vast environment. Even without you, the predatory animals attack other animals or hunt and kill as in the real world.
You can distract enemies by throwing a piece of stone or rock, just like in the original Far Cry. Alarms can be disabled, to prevent reinforcements. So even if you change your mode from stealth to gun blazing, if the alarm is disabled the enemies wouldn't be able to alert reinforcements.

Digital Delux Edition
I suggest Digital Delux Edition is the best buy because, according to Ubisoft and Steam The Deluxe Edition includes:
* The Monkey Business Pack: Meet Hurk and his explosive bomb-carrying monkey in four heart-pounding missions and get two bonus ways to humiliate your friends in multiplayer.
* The Lost Expeditions: Discover the secrets of the island's lost World War II ruins in two suspenseful action missions, and unlock the power of a shotgun in a one-handed flare gun in multiplayer.
* The Warrior Pack: Strike fear in your enemies with an exclusive dagger and get an early unlock of the tattoo editor in multiplayer.
* The Predator Pack: Hunt four ferocious animals with the M-700 Predator Rifle in single-player and silently kill opponents with the unlocked Predator Bow in multiplayer.
* The Survival Guide artbook (pdf file): Discover unique artwork and insider information to help you survive the insanity of the island.
* The game soundtrack

Uplay POINTS
According to Ubisoft, there are Uplay actions and rewards, which lets you earn units by playing any Uplay enabled Ubisoft game. The points earned can be spent in any game or any platform.

Co-Op Campaign
Far Cry 3 Co op campaign is so addictive, often than the singleplayer campaign. You play oneof the four characters Leonard, Trisha, Callum or Mikhael, going after a cruise ship captain who sold the entire ship to pirates with passesngers to slavery. The story takes part six months before Jason's trip to Rook Islands. Basically you play through various chapters with another three players to follow captain to get the money and the revenge. During the co-op campaign you can compete with your friends too. The enemies are AI controlled, which means it's not completely multiplayer, consider it as an extension of the story campaign except you'll play with other three players.
There are two more additional missions Redemption and Jailbreak are avilable to download. Unlike the story mission your health is limited and you cannot take the heavies-armoured ones and flamethrowers down with the knife in melee combat. To unlock various attachments to weapons you need to level up the weapons.
Your level seems capped in 75, you can't progress beyond that. Also, chances are you might find some bugs which makes you restart the game. Infinite loading screen is also a problem sometimes. Still, chances are once you start the Co-op play it's almost certain guaranteed to makes you an addict.

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

Mininum
Processor: 2.66 GHz Intelģ Core(tm)2 Duo E6700 or 3.00 GHz AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 6000+ or better
RAM: 4 GB
Video Card: 512 MB DirectX 9.0-compliant card with Shader Model 4.0 or higher

Recommended
Processor: Intel Core i3-530 or AMD Phenom II X2 565 or better
RAM: 6 GB
Video Card: 1024 MB DirectX 11-compliant card with Shader Model 4.0 or higher

Hi-end
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K or AMD FX-4150 or better
RAM: 8 GB
Video Card: 1024 MB DirectX 11-compliant card with Shader Model 4.0 or higher

Pay attention to two major things. One if you really want to enjoy the game at least medium settings, make sure you have 8 Gigabyte RAM and at least One Gigabyte dedicated graphics in your video card. It worked fine on my old XFX GeForce 9600 Far Cry 2 edition graphics card with 1.5 GB dedicated graphics memory. Still, I had to reduce settings a bit, the reason I guess was because of the PC memory of 4 GB. However on a laptop (Toshiba Qosmio X875-Q7290) on 3GB GDDR5 nVIDIA GeForce GTX 670M it worked perfect (as you can see it has three GB dedicated graphics memory), highest settings on default. So my personal opinion is the suggested ideal configuration should have 8 GB or RAM and One GB of dedicated graphics memory. Though Ubi soft mentioned 512 MB graphics card with 4 GB RAM as minimum configuration, you wouldn't want to play with that configuration unless you are ready to compromise for lower settings and erratic gameplay. So let me stress it again, if possible try to play it with at least One GB of dedicated video ram, and at least 8 GB or 16 GB RAM for a fuller gameplay or try with consols. If you are playing it on 512 MB dedicated video RAM and 4 GB RAM you have to compromise a lot, I am not saying you won't be able to play, you can, but it won't do justice to the massive game, and you won't be able to enjoy the game fully.

Activation
For PC Versions: An Internet connection is required for a one-time activation, through Uplay PC. Once activated, Far Cry 3 can be played online single player (including the social features) and multiplayer, or switched to offline mode in the Uplay PC for a single player experience without an Internet connection.

Pros:
Awesome Content and Open World
Beautiful Tropical Islands
Realism
Great Graphics
Strategy Elements
Great AI and Non-scripted AI
Personal modus operandi

Cons: (Not everyone has the same issues)
Linear co-op mode

Some gamers complained about the graphics issues (I didn't have any issues yet) but I will keep updating the review. If you have any questions add them in the comments, or have a suggestion positive or negative, let me know, I will answer them as best as I can. Please share your comments and review as well.

---(Update) ----
After months of gameplay I have experienced a few random game issues or bugs. Twice the Far Cry 3 hanged with the error message that it's "not responding" (restarting the game solved the issue, though I have lost the progress since the last checkpoint). On co-op mode there are few bugs, in a new checkpoint or chapter you may not see any enemies but an empty world like that in Langoliers. (If this occurs, the players need to die (by going away from the map or using grenades) in some cases you can go back to the beginning of the map (where it's marked) and wait for the other players to come back or die, to restart the mission chapter.)You might not be able to pick bombs in competition, or servers throw you out for no reason. And the worse, the infinite loading screen (usually restarting the computer after a few hours solve the issue). Still these are very rare random issues, usually restarts solve the issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My review, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Once the 'game' is out of the way, one can practice 'liberating' the camps on 2 seperate islands (one can also re-set the camps to 'enemy controlled' again without the need to go through the 'game' again.. Great fun after a day at work listening to the enemy soldiers shouting up the valley sides - I continually laugh my head off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
One of the best single player FPS games to grace the PC. multiplayer co-op is really hard, multiplayer competitive deathmatch is quite boring. Overall worth every penny due to single player experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Game, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this for my partner-best buy...as he has had hours of entertainment on it! Great interaction and endless fun.Highly recommend - 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Far Cry 2, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Played Far cry 1, loved it.
Played Far cry 2 (about a dozen times from start to finish), REALLY Loved it.
Have been awaiting Far Cry 3 literally for years, Disappointed. :(
All I really wanted was Far Cry 2 with, maybe a few more characters, some new missions and maybe a different landscape.
Well the landscape is certainly good and the new characters are good but the actual storyline and practical game play leave a lot to be desired. The Lack of a "quick save" was a major issue or me. If you have to stop playing mid mission, then next time the game is started you have to go right back to square one.
Credits in Far Cry 2 where gathered by earning diamonds, but in 3 it's done mainly by "Skinning" wildlife. What sort of Shoot 'em up is that ????
The worst bit is the stupid drug induced fantasy levels which have to be fought through if you want to proceed and see Citra's breasts.
A shoot 'em up should be just that IMO, no stabbing, no hunting animals, and no "drugs" which make your mouse hard to control.
PS I'm now playing Far Cry 3 Blood dragon (about a fiver to download). So it can't have been all that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry 3 is just too easy, too violent and not interesting enough!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
William Elsley (Welwyn Garden City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
WARNING SPOILERS IN REVIEW: I like so many reviewers bought Far Cry and was wowed I haved played this game several times and still think it is amazing especially considering when it came out! Far Cry 2 I played for a while got bored of, then stopped without finishing and will not go back to, rubbish basically and then came FC3?! I bought this hoping for some improvement and there was some... However I find the plot ludicrous, the skill, weapon and equipment too easy to find and the game not enough of a challenge generally. SPOILER: I quickly realised going up the towers enabled new weapons so went round all the towers first, enabling most weapons early on.
The plot itself starts well but I think quickly becomes brutal and over graphic in places (torture scenes included). Maybe I am a bit old fashioned but are all the scenes necessary leaving some things to the imagination can work better and would then exclude the need for the graphic violence. I found the plot scenes in places just too much, I know realism is good but there are limits IMO - others may disagree here. The plot itself also falls down hard and to me made little sense. FC3 is definitely better than FC2 (not hard) but still a long way off the original, but I did finish this one.
Personally I would like a better storyline, weapons which can only be obtained at certain points but customisable (as was the case here) and perhaps better ability to carry ammunition like the original. I quite like having a favourite weapon which I can keep and use throughout which will cope in most situations with patience. An assault rifle, a sniper rifle and a heavier weapon are normally all you need in most games and thats fine with me, too many weapons just becomes confusing. I also like to walk, or run, everywhere but this is a pain if you constantly run out of stamina.
There are definitely some good points but I personally like more open play doing things my way not the way the game wants you to do it and a more engaging storyline save the day/girl less of the crazy trippy stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Massive, Mind Blowing, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Rob" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Far Cry back on form. After the stupendous original, Far Cry 2, with it's insance checkpoint system, derailed the franchise. So I am delighted to report that FC3 marks a superb return to form. A huge, immersive game world that's glorious to behold. A decent plot, and lots of guns, vehicles, and set pieces to enthrall and entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry - a bit disappointing, 7 April 2013
By 
Mr. R. Davis "richd54" (Isle of Man UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Not as good as Far Cry 2, somewhat over-complicated and with some very frustrating sequences where the game would not respond to the controls as expected. Still worth the money but not as enjoyable as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD)
Far Cry 3 - The Lost Expeditions Edition(PC DVD) by Ubisoft (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£38.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews