Customer Reviews
X


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back after 12 years
It was with great surprise that I found the new Tribal Tech album X on Amazon as they had disbanded about 12 years ago. Being one of my favourite Fusion bands, it was an easy choice to buy the album. It contains 10 tracks of predominantly improvised jazz fusion, but such is the calibre of the musicianship, you would think they had all been endlessly rehearsed. All the...
Published on 21 July 2012 by John McLaughlin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too experimental, misses the old TT
For those who have grown up on Face First etc, this is more tech than tribal, if that makes sense, and loses the plot in over experimentation that might work for the musicians but certainly not for this listener. I would have the older TT albums on a desert island, not this one.
Published 8 months ago by A. Chaudhuri


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back after 12 years, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
It was with great surprise that I found the new Tribal Tech album X on Amazon as they had disbanded about 12 years ago. Being one of my favourite Fusion bands, it was an easy choice to buy the album. It contains 10 tracks of predominantly improvised jazz fusion, but such is the calibre of the musicianship, you would think they had all been endlessly rehearsed. All the tracks are outstanding, but the one that tips it for me is Palm Moon Plaza, where Scott Henderson "out-Jeffs" Mr. Beck.
An exceptional album with 4 of fusion's top players on top of their game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In A Word, "Wonderful"., 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
It's so good to hear these guys on form. There's still fire and surprises in the playing, (which is both muscular and loose), but this is never at the expense of being truly musical in terms of serving some wonderful compositions. In short there's a real sense of wisdom which is much deeper than some musicians just showing off what they can do...For those of you new to Tribal Tech it may take a few listens but I think it's well worth it. In my humble opinion possibly the best thing they've ever done.

Thank you Tribal Tech, it was well worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their best since 1991., 16 April 2012
By 
Ian A. Bury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
this is tribal's best album since tribal tech in 1991 its been worth the long wait,the last album rocket science i could not get on with,this is so much more a band album more melodic,every body much more subdued,even scott has been rained in, i just love it,here's to the next tech album. (not 10 years though chaps.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too experimental, misses the old TT, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (MP3 Download)
For those who have grown up on Face First etc, this is more tech than tribal, if that makes sense, and loses the plot in over experimentation that might work for the musicians but certainly not for this listener. I would have the older TT albums on a desert island, not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good to see them back, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
After what was a lengthy layoff, Tech return with another chunk of fusion.

Hope they go on to record XI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X
X by Tribal Tech (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews