Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 7 April 2012
I've read on forums that many people have problems with this album mostly due to their expectations, some are Dream Theater fans that expected the album to be progressive metal, others are Symphony X fans that wanted awesome guitar solos like the ones Michael Romeo plays, or people who expected something more technical and complex considering that Mike Portnoy and Russell Allen are in the band. I saw a similar reaction from people when Slash released his solo album last year (and AMAZING album, but people wanted it to be Guns N Roses).

If you have that kind of expectations you might be somewhat dissapointed, but if you can accept and respect a musicians freedom to play what he wants, then you'll probably like the album a lot.

I do have every Dream Theater album and dvd (they're my favorite band), and I also have a few Symphony X albums among other progressive metal albums because that's my favorite style of music, but that doesn't mean I don't enjoy A LOT bands like Disturbed, Pantera or Rammstein, music doesn't have to be complex to be good, and it's obvious that the musicians on this album are all very capable even if they wanted to make something more mainstream just for fun.

Omerta has above average soaring vocals, good riffs, entertaining guitar solos that serve the music well, and it's the kind of album that you can listen to and enjoy greatly while doing homeworks, working out, surfing the web, etc. It's NOT an album to listen to it dozens of times discovering new layers and sounds, but it's one album you can listen to lots of times for the pleassure of fast adrenaline injected metal.

The songs Undaunted, Indifferent and All on the Line should give you a very good overall idea of what the albums sounds like (probably the 3 best songs from the album if you ask me), but pretty much all the songs are good enough so that you don't want to skip any of them (Come Undone and the ballad Angel Sky are highlisghts too), so just listen to them on Youtube and if you like them go ahead and give the album a chance.

In short, Omertá is a fun metal album with powerful yet melodical and "mainstream" vocals and choruses, effective and bitting riffs, decent guitar solos, and nice drumming (Portnoy shines on the song Down to the Floor).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 31 March 2012
Judged as a metal album, it's great. I love DT and did not expect musical w""kery from Mike on this. Some may feel it's a step down for MP, but he delivers the grooves and fills you would hope for in a balls out rock album. Some great riffs, bass work and vocals. "True metal fans" may scoff at the melodies and harmonies, but they fit really well with the tone. A great album both in its own right AND if you are an existing DT/MP fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 29 April 2012
this album and band sounds something similar to a hybrid of such things as Disturbed and Godsmack and things of that nature

the playing its really tight and heavy and groovy, the drumming is really tight with the bass, and the guitaring while not particularly original although the solo in the first song is actually really original and very cool is energetic and powerful to listen too.
the vocals again are like godsmack but with more sort of disturbed rythmic stylings to it, really good powerful and angry sounding. Its a really fun fun fun album to listen to. highly energetic and excellent debut album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 9 May 2012
If, like me, you are coming at this from the angle of being familiar with Russel and Mike's work with Symphony X and Dream Theater respectively, then prepare yourself for big disappointment. Frankly this is a career low for both of these guys. I'm not familiar with the other guys in the band, but after listening to this record I don't care. This music is deeply average heavy rock/metal. There's nothing interesting about nay of it. Portnoys drumming is just stock. Yes it's good, but no moments worth mentioning. Russel Allen, in my opinion is seriously over-doing the gravel in his voice to the point where it's ridiculous. The production is typical of the modern metal sound, which means it has a tendency to really annoy, and damage the ears with it's overload of frequencies (and I DO like loud music, I'm not a dinosaur).

I can normally allow less-than-amazing lyrics, but these guys are really scraping the barrel with their lyrics and subject matter in general. 'Psychosane'? Come on, guys! And when by track for they attempt a ballad for 'balance', I can take no more. Fans of completely stock aggro-metal may rate this album, but when two of the band members have released albums such as V the New Mythology Suite,Images and Words,Live On Earth (2CDs + DVD) or Bridge Across Forever, one has to ask what personal satisfaction they got out of this mess?

This is metal by numbers for an undiscerning audience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
This is One hell of an album! Literally every song is top notch! Great musicians who decided to make great songs together! There are some fistpumping tracks and even some more sensitive tracks (for this kind of album) but every song is great and you can really hear these guys are enjoying themselves and just wanna make cool music together! Must buy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
If you like old school Heavy Metal in styles of Zakk Wylde and Black Label Society then you will love this album, filled with thick and dirtily heavy riffs. Packed with signature Mike Portnoy licks, fills and tasty grooves along with slamming double bass. Shreddy and melodic solos and a perfect low to high vocal mix. It's the Metal album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Some metal fans might find the inclusion of some musicianship beyond thrahsing the hell out of a six string and the use of melody for substantial part of the album a bit of a shock. But hang on guys, givi it a good listen and you'll see that it is heavy and worthy of the name metal. Just listen to "undaunted" and journey on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
Omerta was a spur of the moment purchase due to reading a review in a magazine and can thoroughly recommend this album 9/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2012
Great album which gets better with every play. You can pick up on the influences from disturbed and Dream Theater.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Coverta by Adrenaline Mob (Audio CD - 2013)

Dearly Departed
Dearly Departed by Adrenaline Mob (Audio CD - 2015)

Men Of Honor
Men Of Honor by Adrenaline Mob (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.