Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars None of us can be trusted. We're all agents, 7 Jun 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"My name is Drood; Eddie Drood. Also known as Shaman Bond, the very secret agent. I face down the monsters, so you don't have to."

The first two books of the Secret Histories series was all about the nasty secrets and political upheavals of the Drood family -- and now at last, it's time for the dark-fantasy-James-Bond stuff. The third book "The Spy Who Haunted Me" is where the series really starts to take flight, with a murder mystery wrapped up in a lurid string of supernatural conspiracies -- from elves to aliens, from ancient monsters to angry ghosts.

After Eddie thwarts a bizarre caper in the Tower of London, he's called home to hear of a new problem facing the Droods -- there's a traitor among them, who is responsible for some of the nasty stuff they've dealt with.

Unfortunately the only person who knows the traitor's identity is the legendary Independent Agent, Alexander King -- and since King is dying, he's holding a special contest to discover which secret agent is worthy of inheriting his secrets and vast knowledge. Eddie is one of the chosen six -- along with the treacherous Blue Fairy, a pair of real-life Bond girls (one CIA, one a lethal seductress), King's fussy corporate grandson, and the mysterious Walker of the Nightside.

The unlikely team is given five tasks to complete, all of them tracking powerful, horrible creatures across the universe -- Loch Ness, the elven world, Tunguska and so on. But then people start turning up with broken necks, and it becomes clear that someone is murdering agents so they can get the prize. And it turns out the Independent Agent has some nasty little tricks up his sleeve for anyone who tries to get his knowledge...

Somehow the first two Secret Histories books never clicked with me -- too much Drood politics and Droodcentric nastiness. But "The Spy Who Haunted Me" is where the storyline relaxes into a stretch of the bizarre and grotesque, and adds some intense mystery and conspiracy into the mix. Green even includes glimpses of his other works: some forays into the Nightside (including a fight in Strangefellows) and mentions of Shadows Fall.

Green still has his knack for writing dark, creepy stuff (such as Pound of Flesh Inc.) and infusing it with a wicked sense of humor ("And then you can make the poor guy sit up on his slab and tell us what happened. Right, Walker?" "It was just the one time!"). And he weaves a spellbinding little series of subplots, with Eddie and Co. exploring different supernatural hotspots and discovering the very shocking realities behind alien abduction, the Philadelphia Experiment, and mysterious creatures in the backwoods.

And he embroiders his dark, creepy little world with all sorts of freaky characters (a "necroleptic" who drops dead every now and then), nasty problems (a living elf impaled on roses) and weird supernatural background for all sorts of stuff. But the Droods are not neglected -- there's a nasty conspiracy, a traitor, and a terrible secret in the Russian permafrost that is just ITCHING to make a future reappearance.

And Eddie Drood is becoming a very likable anti-hero, with his nimble tongue and frequently bruised morals -- he's a nice guy in a cruel world, and in this book he struggles with the idea that an agent must be a heartless murderer. Walker makes a good counterpoint for him (ancient, dapper and virtually unstoppable), while the ever-unhappy Blue Fairy, Honey Lake and Lethal Harmony (how very Bond girl!) add color to the cast. Peter, on the other hand, is a snotty little dip.

"The Spy Who Haunted Me" is a turning point for the formerly okay-but-not-great Secret Histories series, and there are some loose threads that promise to be interesting in the future. As the Walker would say, it behooves Green to write more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Green never fails to produce, 9 May 2009
By 
P. A. Brandon (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another masterpiece from Simon Green following hot on the heels of The Man with the Golden Torc and Daemons are Forever comes the third instalment of the Secret Histories stories.
This time Shaman Bond/Edwin Drood gets invited to be part of a game involving 6 of the best spies with a grand prize of winner takes all (all the secrets that the organiser possesses).
The usual mix of action (some of it bloody) and humour plus Simon's ability to weave the likes of Loch Ness and Roswell into the plot makes this a great read.
You may guess the outcome before the end but it is still well worth it.
Roll on the From Hell with Love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simon Green does it again, 23 Sep 2009
I am a big fan of the Nightside series and was somewhat sceptical when the first book of this series ("The Man With The Golden Torc") appeared. I liked it but was not massively impressed. There was definite improvement in #2 ("Daemons Are Forever") which featured a hero from another Simon Green series (Giles ...).
I received "The Spy Who Haunted Me" a few days ago and have to say that Simon Green has found his style for this series : Fastpaced and (as always) with a portion of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Episodic, But Still Fun, 29 Dec 2011
By 
David Ford "Genre junkie" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last two books in this series have been traditional action thrillers in terms of structure. Perhaps boldly, Green decides to go in a slightly different direction for this one; it's not entirely successful, but one can only applaud him for the risk.

Eddie Drood is stripped of his usual allies for this one, as he is sent to join a group of the world's most prominent agents competing for a legendary spy's accumulated knowledge. Said spy assigns the group a series of mysteries to investigate, and these challenges form the bulk of the novel.

Because of this, the story comes off as less of a continuous tale, and more like a collection of short stories linked by theme and protagonists. While all of the mysteries are fairly different (everything from Loch Ness to Tunguska), the similar structure of each chapter leaves this installment feeling slightly more repetitive than the first two.

There are still many pluses; Green, as ever, is a master of pacy action and extreme violence, throwing huge beasts and pychic horrors into the mix. The main group is an enjoyable assortment as well, including CIA fox Honey and Eddie's erstwhile betrayer the Blue Fairy. After the last book gave us a Deathstalker cameo, this one works in a guest from Green's Nightside books, an addition that works well.

The plot takes plenty of twists and turns on the way to the conclusion, with backstabbing and turnabouts aplenty. The fact that the team are ultimately in competition for one prize adds an extra element of tension to proceedings as well.

On the whole, a brave attempt to do something a little different with the series, although now that the experiment's over, I hope that Eddie's next adventure is slightly more business as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Romp, 29 July 2009
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this an enjoyable book full of references to existing conspiracy theories. It does not take itself seriously and all in all was a good romp through the occult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss this?, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Special Needs teacher "marnie" (West Country Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't believe I hadn't come across this writer. Super series, fun and in the mood. Eagerly reading all his others now! If hou haven't read any, it's a bit private eye, with a supernatural/fantasy edge, and TerryPratchett type humour. Shame I have read all this series..now embarked on Droods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE SPY WHO HAUNTED ME BOOK 3, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again - a totally brilliant book with my favourite anti-establishment hero. Only problem with it was that I read it in one sitting.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Usual quality and consumability of Simor Green, 17 May 2012
By 
Kurt Nielsen (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read a fair few Simon Green novels in my time, I can recommend this novel to anyone who likes a fast paced alternative reality setting, where James Bond, MIB and good old english humor blends effortlessly into a book which is very, very difficult to put down.
This is not War and Peace or catch 22, but it is well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the Nightside, 13 July 2011
By 
S. FORGAN (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As I mentioned in the title if you like the Nightside series by this author you'll certainly like these. Great characters, humour, action and story. A good read that will have you coming back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Episodic fun, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very much enjoyed the first two books in this series, but this one left me less impressed. The characters are great fun, but the story is split into a series of mini-plots almost that are just tests to be solved rather than a cohesive plot to be followed, which was disappointing.

The humour remains entertaining and I certainly had fun reading it, but it's a step down from what went before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

[The Spy Who Haunted Me] [by: Simon R Green]
[The Spy Who Haunted Me] [by: Simon R Green] by Simon R Green (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
Used & New from: 4.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews