Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars red blood black sand
If you have read With the old breed by E.B Sledge and Helmet for my pillow by Robert Leckie then this is a must ! it completes the trilogy of the story told by the HBO mini series The Pacific .It picks up the baton where the other books have almost finished and takes you through one of the last great battles of the pacific campaign - Iwo jima .

Chuck Tatum...
Published 23 months ago by warbuff1944

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
OK, but a bit straight factual for me. Not nearly the impact of Eugene Sledge's book.
Published 4 months ago by hugh roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars red blood black sand, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have read With the old breed by E.B Sledge and Helmet for my pillow by Robert Leckie then this is a must ! it completes the trilogy of the story told by the HBO mini series The Pacific .It picks up the baton where the other books have almost finished and takes you through one of the last great battles of the pacific campaign - Iwo jima .

Chuck Tatum writes from the heart and leaves no detail out, from when he first enlisted ,to hitting the beach at Iwo jima ,although he covers quite a lot about the hero John Basilone the book is a testament to all the ordinary men who did an extraodinary job - the job of heros,who then returned to the USA and tried to pick up life where they left off .

This book tells their story ,by a man who has been there and done that ,and survived - Chuck Tatum ( bronze star)

Well written and hard to put down !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read other books about the Pacific war but not one that is on such a personal level. Iwo Jima was an awful and horrific ordeal for the Marines and Japanese who took part and this book manages to convey that to the reader, even though I have no experience of such ordeals. If you are into military history then I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant read, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started to read this book and couldn't put it down for anybody wanting to read about the WWII it's a must to read, fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Blood Black Sand, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A first hand account of what these men went though. Harrowing tale well told, I enjoyed it very much. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Blood, Black Sand: Fighting Alongside John Basilone from Boot Camp to Iwo Jima (Kindle Edition)
OK, but a bit straight factual for me. Not nearly the impact of Eugene Sledge's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He hardly knew John Basilone, 13 May 2015
By 
Onyx "J.Bear" (chesterfield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought the book thinking that I would learn about John Basilone and the author hardly knew him. Despite this I was hooked. They fought a horrific war, it seems to me comparable to sending men over the top of trenches in the worst World War One battles. In the past I questioned whether the use of nuclear weapons against Japan was justified but now I understand more about how they fought and what they were willing to do even when they had lost. I will never forget this book and I am dissapointed in myself for not making more effort to learn of the courage of the men in the Pacific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars red blood black sand, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for avid reader of anything to do with WW II. Recipient was more than pleased.
Another welcome paperback to add to his collection. Fast delivery after disappointment when
Ordered from an American company that was a non-delivery after waiting over a month.
Amazon saved the day. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite as interesting as i thought, but still very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my son bought this book for himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book and an easy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews