Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Errors have been corrected!
Note from the Publisher:

We have taken down the faulty edition of End of the Line and corrected the errors. The edition available to download now is error free! If you have downloaded the previous, faulty version, you will be contacted by Amazon to download the new version.

And please keep your eye out for more great McLevy mysteries!

Best...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Reilly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars End of the Line
It was just okay but nothing especially enthralling for me - the book was finished but the content did not fully engage with me
Published 7 months ago by Peter Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Errors have been corrected!, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Note from the Publisher:

We have taken down the faulty edition of End of the Line and corrected the errors. The edition available to download now is error free! If you have downloaded the previous, faulty version, you will be contacted by Amazon to download the new version.

And please keep your eye out for more great McLevy mysteries!

Best wishes,

Polygon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of the line comes too soon..., 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: End of the Line (Kindle Edition)
I am a big fan of the Inspector McLevy novels having read the previous three Kindle editions of the novels. This was another quality addition to the catalogue, with wonderfully evoked characters and atmospheric setting, but I confess that I hadn't fully appreciated from the description that it was in effect a novella, of certainly less than 100 pages in length, so was left disappointed. Well worth the purchase and has provided me with a 'quick fix', but I am left still eagerly awaiting the next full length novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good work - but this edition need editing, 2 Jan 2012
By 
W. Leitch "nagraman" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: End of the Line (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy David Ashton's writing very much. This novella - basically an adaptation of a story around the length of one of the radio plays - is as good as you'd expect, and worth the small purchase fee.

But it is carelessly edited - e.g. you won't find a double letter f in the edition. We get words like "ofer" and "cofee" all the way through.

Very silly, very careless, and very irritating.

ADDED To be fair I just found the word "puff". Not long before I read "cofin" Weird!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashton is on form with this Mclevy story. An easy read and great fun., 2 Mar 2012
By 
Andrew W. Macfadyen "A-w-M" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I must confess to being a big fan of David Ashtons Inspector Mclevy. Set in 19th century Edinburgh this is a short story adapted from a 45 minute BBC Radio 4 play but make no mistake it is an absolute gem and at 49p great value.

The plot revolves around a body found on a late train and the investigation soon leads Mclevy and Constable Mullholland to meet varied cast of characters.

Mclevy's dry Calvinistic wit in his banter with Jean Brash the mistress of the local high class " bawdie hoose" makes it an easy and amusing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read only complaint too short, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs D Taylor (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Cannot get enough of Jean, the Inspector & co.love the radio plays, captures the times, you can almost touch the past in David Ashton's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars End of the Line, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
It was just okay but nothing especially enthralling for me - the book was finished but the content did not fully engage with me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars McLevy, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Good background story well written and in keeping with what is expected from Inspector McLevy novels. Good reading that kept the reader interested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a light read, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
A short story to while away a spare hour. Not in the class of the Author's full length McLevy Mysteries (but that is to be expected - James McLevy is not a man to be shortened ) it is still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read .Funny informative characters brought to life very well.A well written crime ,history book .great insight into the city at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great police story set in Victorian Edinburgh, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: End of the Line (An Inspector McLevy Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
I have head the Inspector McLevy stories on the radio but must of missed this one so it was great to get it as an ebook. I think it helps that I've heard them as I can now hear the characters voices while reading the book which really helps bring the book to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews