Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost magickal album
People throw around the names of The Cult's three iconic records (Love, Electric & Sonic Temple) when reviewing Choice of Weapon. While they're right to mention them, they should avoid drawing steadfast comparisons - this album still sounds like The Cult, but it's a kaleidoscopic version - as much as tracks on here could fit on those three amazing albums, some other...
Published on 22 May 2012 by R. D. Horton

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Baby, Baby, Baby, Baby, this Album fell from the Sky! (actually, I brought it from a record shop)
You know there was a time, (back in the eighties) when Asbury & the Cult theatrical over the top alter egos, really struck a cord with public. Not so any more, perhaps folk are more cynical these days.
Anyhow, I would probably describe this record as a "Lap of Honour" similar to Pink Floyds's "Division Bell". Not that it's a bad album; it just doesn't add anything...
Published on 27 May 2012 by Jimi jac


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost magickal album, 22 May 2012
By 
R. D. Horton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
People throw around the names of The Cult's three iconic records (Love, Electric & Sonic Temple) when reviewing Choice of Weapon. While they're right to mention them, they should avoid drawing steadfast comparisons - this album still sounds like The Cult, but it's a kaleidoscopic version - as much as tracks on here could fit on those three amazing albums, some other tracks sound like the albums people try and write out of the band's history. Elemental Light sounds like it could fit on the band's self-titled 1994 album (admit it!) with it's odd rhythm and slow-burn build up to a curveball chorus. For The Animals would've fit onto Born Into This quite easily, just listen to Born Into This-era tune War Pony Destroyer. The guitar lick that opens The Wolf sounds like Love-era Cult, and there's a distinct Jimmy Page flavour throughout. Of course, all these points, to a Cult fan, are positives.

While quality of the tracks ranges from superb (For The Animals), to good (Wilderness Now), the majority of the record is astounding and pure Cult. Astbury's voice is richer than ever, Billy is still coming up with the goods, and the rhythm section John and Chris are providing the Cult with their most versatile beats and basslines since Electric.

Objectively, there's a lot here that could be deemed hammy (borrowed riffs and obtuse lyrics) but subjectively, as a Cult fan? It's tremendous, right down to Ian's weird vamping towards the end of Pale Horse. There's plenty for new and old fans alike to dig here.

PS. Get the deluxe edition, as the Capsule EPs included on the second disc and are worth playing loud

The Cult have delivered their most listenable album since Electric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Return, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
It has been said that the new Cult album is aimed at their long-standing fans. As a fan of some 30 years (SDC/Death Cult), I can say that I find it a real return to form after the disappointment of the previous album 'Born Into This'.

Ian said in an interview that it to his mind it's a return to 'Sonic Temple', but to my ears it's more sonically similar to 'Beyond Good and Evil'. (Personally my favourite Cult album and criminally underrated). There's a good mix of fast and slow tracks, with Ian's voice at it's majestic best throughout. Billy Duffy does his best Steve Jones impression on the majority of the tracks, and overall it sounds as if they are really enjoying themselves.

I recommend the Bonus CD version of the album, as the four 'Capsule' tracks are all strong and definitely add to the package.

Made to be played loud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Baby, Baby, Baby, Baby, this Album fell from the Sky! (actually, I brought it from a record shop), 27 May 2012
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
You know there was a time, (back in the eighties) when Asbury & the Cult theatrical over the top alter egos, really struck a cord with public. Not so any more, perhaps folk are more cynical these days.
Anyhow, I would probably describe this record as a "Lap of Honour" similar to Pink Floyds's "Division Bell". Not that it's a bad album; it just doesn't add anything new to their back catalogue. One of the reasons for this is using chuffing Bob Rock again, one of the most unimaginative producers ever. The Cult should have tried to get Rick Rubin (He worked on the Electric Album & "The Witch" one off single)
So in conclusion, If you a big cult fan, it a perfectly fine addition, but if you new to the works of the Wolf Child, I would go for "Love" or "Electric". Thankq & goodnight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fully Loaded Weapon Indeed., 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
A welcome return after a five year studio absence from Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy. I wouldn't say it's an album that harks back to their earliest raw days at all, but it's certainly got a lot going for it. Arguably it also shows off some of Duffy's best guitar work for quite some time. Soundwise it's not too far away from the "Sonic Temple" and "Ceremony" era of the late 80's and early 90's but without sounding too dated, not that those albums sound dated but a quite a few of the tracks wouldn't sound out of place on either of those albums. "Life>Death" and "For The Animals" are particular stand out tracks for me on first listen. It also features some top notch work from former White Zombie drummer John Tempesta and one time Ozzy bassist Chris Wyse.
Production wise it's very soild, but that isn't surprising when you have the huge talents of "Sonic Temple" and former Metallica (amongst many others) producer Bob Rock and former Masters of Reality mainman and Kyuss, Queens Of The Stone Age and UNKLE producer Chris Goss working together on it. All in all it's never going to be as classic an album as "Love", "Electric" or "Sonic Temple", but it's certainly very good in it's own right. And for a band that have been knocking out some of the finest British rock tunes of the last few decades, it's a lot better than what many bands half their age are churning out.
2012 seems to be a good year for older bands and artists to be releasing new material that is their best work for a long time such as the new albums from Killing Joke and Orbital to name just a couple. And that my friends can only be seen as a good thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Cultest" Cult album., 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
Well, it's always party time for me when a new The Cult album shows up, and this ain't different this time!
I can't say there's any Cult album I don't like, so if you want neutral, fair opinion, maybe I'm the wrong person to ask, but there's always some albums that are better than others.
As a whole, I believe this one is much better than Born into this or even Beyond good and evil.
The band (yes a true band now, not just Astbury/ Duffy & some guys) is very tight and focused, the identity of THE CULT has never been clearer and solidely branded into the songs.
Half rockers, half mid-tempo/or ballads (well, Brother wolf type of ballads), the whole thing is very strong, and feels very achieved.The production serves the music extremely well, not over-produced (somebody said Sonic temple?), not too stripped-down (Electric anyone?)...Just right.
There are definitly some recycled riffs or vocals here and there (from Dreamtime to Sonic temple or Love), but it never feels like a lack of creativity rather than an affirmation of their style.
I personaly wouldn't have mind some longer solos from Billy Duffy...But whatever, people seem to favor shorter tracks (download syndrome?).

As I said Weapon of Choice as a whole is probably better than the two previous efforts, although so far, it seems to me like it's lacking a "Tiger in the sun", a "Breathe" or a "True believers"...An anthemic song.
Although "Life> death" and "Elemental Light" are serious contenders...So let's wait a while.

The deluxe edition is definitly worth every penny (especially if you didn't already owned the capsules), "Embers" being one of the best song of that duo-pack.

It's been said in other reviews, if you're a THE CULT fan, you won't be dissapointed, and if Born Into This was a bit too experimental or scattered for you, then you'll certainly enjoy this one better.

For the time being, I'll give it 4 stars, but I'm sure that in a couple of days I'll come back and change that to five!

Okay after two days of heavy listening, I wish I could give this album 6 stars. IT IS THAT GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed but not really surprised, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
Why do I fall for this so often? Hoping that a band I liked 20 years ago still has the passion and the ability to produce something special. Bah.

I'm not sure why other reviews are saying this is a great album or a return to form. When I first heard it I was thinking "I hope no-one overhears this - it's embarrassing". However, for a period of a few weeks this was the only CD I had in my car, forcing me to listen to it more times than I would have done otherwise, and I have to admit that it grew on me a little bit. There are some songs I like, but there are also some very naff ones with lazy lyrics and lazy riffs, performed in a mediocre way. Duffy does nothing significant with his guitar. Astbury still has his distinctive voice but his heart doesn't seem to be in it. I'm not impressed with the production either - I don't hear a band performing songs that they're excited about - I hear individuals doing their bits separately in a recording studio.

In conclusion: disappointed but not really surprised, 2 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (MP3 Download)
This álbum Is a pretty good return to form for the cult, the guitars and vocals are excellent and much more suited to the more up tempo tracks. All in all worth a listen for any Cult fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some heroes don't let you down, 5 Jun 2012
By 
John P. Spelling "spelldorado" (victoria, australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
Firstly thankyou Ian & Billy for making music ...
& continuing to release albums in a download world ...
i will never buy downloads as cds or vinyl sound waaay better.
As someone else stated here ... the packaging is a delight
& testament to the band's love of art & love of their fans.
Im a longtime CULT fan & have everything you release.

So what do i think of this new album ??

Simply ... it's the best you've ever done.
My goodness this thing is alive & grows & grows.
Love>Death is my fave ... now Embers is ... now Honey ...
... you get my drift ... this is a grower in the best possible way.
Everytime i hear it i just love it even more ... i'll listen to this forever.

Sure there's parts of past albums that have their jawdropping
pants wetting fist raising moments ... Peace Dog ... New York City,
i could go on & on ... but this album is easily the most cohesive,
solid, consistant piece of rockin art you've ever made ...

Every CULT album is brilliant & i love each & every one ... but ...
Every CULT album has a weak moment & it may be a small thing
like fading out Sun King or including the Get Your Motor Running song.
No CULT album should contain cover material ... EVER !!!!
Listen to the box set & scratch your head as to why this happened.
There was sooo much quality Ian/Billy comps to choose from.

... anyway ...

Choice Of Weapon has no weaknesses ...
It's as strong at the end as it is at the start & never gets tired.
This is the quality of album every artist must strive for but few
actually make ... My boys The CULT have done it beautifully.
My heroes never let me down but this time they went beyond.

I'm reading a lot of reviews relating this amaaazing album
to the likes of Electric & Sonic Temple ... great albums i admit.
But i hear more the Black Sheep album in there ...
... even the cover is reminiscent of that stark image.
This is all good as i love that album & think it's a brave album.
The songs here are shorter ... that fat has been truly trimmed.
But never do i feel underfed & left wanting more.
& i love that there's no fadeouts ... always seems lazy to me.
Give a song an ending i reckon ... but every band does it sometime.

All these reviews pretty much say the same thing ...
If you don't have the album BUY IT NOW !!!!
& i couldn't agree more ... for me ... album of the year ...
... make sure you get the deluxe version ... those 4 extra songs rock ...

Hopefully see ya's here in Australia soon ... in the meantime ...
... i'm currently listening to LOVE>DEATH ...

Billy & Ian ... please never stop rockin' ... & thankyou so much.
You've given us an album we can all love listening to til we die.
You make 'em ... we'll keep buying 'em ...

... love ya's ... Spello xox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THANKYOU FOR SAVING ME FROM KERRANG BOREDOM, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
Jesus H Christ this album ROCKS!! wether your a seasoned fan or only ever heard a couple of Cult songs this baby is a must have disc!! Brilliant vocals guitars and drums, awesome production this is one of those albums that gets into your head with every play. Who said the Cult were dead.......FOO WHO?? RECOMMENDED BUY THREE COPIES FOR YOUR MATES!

ASTBURY AND DUFFY I SALUTE YOU THANKYOU FOR SAVING ME FROM RADIO FRIENDLY KERRANG DROSS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars rounds up to 5, 22 May 2012
By 
Nuno Benavente (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choice of Weapon (Audio CD)
I'll just say that thrive with each new album of one of my favorite bands of all times - The CULT. Choice of Weapon is no disappointment. I am loving it more and more. I just wish I could enjoy it with all the happiness this moments deserve but unfortunately I am going through an emotional storm in my life. Hopefully these worse times will end soon and I will be able to enjoy The Cult's music and Life in full again.
Buy it if you're a Cult/Rock 'n' Roll fan, you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Choice of Weapon
Choice of Weapon by The Cult (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews