Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I have always suspected
Written by two professors it does what it says on the tin, gives " the truth about all these science scare stories" and shows that the planet is warming up but that was an ongoing trend some millions of years ago, that it is not man made and there is nothing that man does will prevent it.
They say that all doomsday predictions have a short life span and the we will...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by Mr. Robert A. Evans

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
As a confirmed sceptic on 'global warming' (as well as many other so-called 'green' issues) I bought this book hoping for an intelligent discussion of the state of play of the relevant science on a number of key current issues, to learn more about them and in particular to read solid, level-headed analysis and well-referenced debunkings of the alarming claims made by...
Published on 18 Aug 2009 by Philip Drury


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 18 Aug 2009
By 
As a confirmed sceptic on 'global warming' (as well as many other so-called 'green' issues) I bought this book hoping for an intelligent discussion of the state of play of the relevant science on a number of key current issues, to learn more about them and in particular to read solid, level-headed analysis and well-referenced debunkings of the alarming claims made by self-styled 'environmentalists' which have become so common in the media these days. Perhaps I ought to have taken more notice of the title and cover, a parody of the Sex Pistols first LP, and lowered my expectations.

What I got was a rehash of stuff I largely already knew, in a book which seems to have been spellchecked rather than edited or proof-read, where several of the contributing writers seem to repeat themselves quite a bit and which contains material on somewhat tangential issues like globalisation, railways and ethics. OK, the sections on the manufactured global warming and obesity panics are decent enough summaries of the position (which is why I've felt able to go to three stars) but overall the book is a letdown.

This sort of material is handled rather better in Booker and North's 'Scared to death'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars much less useful than bollocks, 20 Aug 2010
a tissue of utter nonsense almost from start to finish - from the daily mail school of scientific reviews the authors can't even get basic science, syntax, grammar or methodology correct.

the many glaring untruths include the assertion that all meat has the same food value - 'liver the same as connecting tissue??' and that 23% of pregnancies are aborted!! - out by a factor of 12

I stayed with it to the end only to find that the last two chapters are a repeat almost at random of unproven'facts' from the book.

If you want a laugh or as an ironic gift to a scientist then buy this - otherwise don't bother

the biggest question the book raises is how it ever got published in the first place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Illiterate Twaddle, 27 July 2009
By 
J. Hampton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sceptical of some of the science underlying the man made global warming scare. And sceptical of some of the mitigation strategies advanced. This review concentrates only on the global warming section of the book, 73 pp out of 328 pp. If you want a good intro to the AGW debate, get Climate of Extremes by Michaels et al. If you want a notionally similar book to this one but streets ahead in all ways get Scared to Death by Booker/North.
The AGW section is written by Stanley Feldman, proudly proclaiming himself to be a professor on the cover of the book in the same way as a TV actor in an advert wears a white coat. Feldman's emeritus chair is in Anaesthesia, which does not disqualify him from writing about climate science but hardly needs to be shouted about.
Reading this section, it feels like Feldman has gone to the sceptic literature, including its worst examples, and has done a poor, non referenced, rehash aimed at around the Daily Sport end of the intellectual market.
It is not good enough in a work of 'popular science' to present opinion as fact, and 'evidence' without references. Feldman is barely able to string a sentence together, let alone an argument, and waffles on and contradicts himself, and repeats himself until he decides he has finished, when he stops. This is one of my favourite bits - re the Arctic ice cap:
"Even if it melted entirely - a very unlikely proposition because it is a gigantic iceberg - it will not cause more than a few millimetres rise in sea level as all but its visible surface is already under water" p51.
And there is much more in similar vein.
There is some good quality material about for those who wish to read the sceptic's side of the AGW debate. This load of simplistic tosh does a grave disservice to the debate in general.
My favourite piece of Feldman speak - from his ghastly 'Globalisation' chapter: "Against this background, the pleas of those who protest at globalisation and of those who advocate a massive reduction in industrialisation in case it causes the ice caps to melt are trying to turn back the clock of progress" p295
This book will appeal to those who are already entirely convinced that anthropogenic global warming is not occurring, and find stuff like 'science' or 'reading' a bit too difficult for them. I should have trusted the reviewer who advised me to steer clear on the strength of the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK in parts, but..., 29 May 2010
By 
Oxford Bookworm "RGT" (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
I thought the first few chapters were brilliant, and confirmed my suspicion that the 'Global Warming' bandwagon creates more hot air than it purports to combat. At that point I was prepared to award this book a full five stars. As I read on, however, my enthusiasm began to wane. The chapters on food and the benefits claimed for so-called health foods struck a chord with me, although, reading on, I felt the authors were perhaps a little too dismissive of potentially poisonous metals and electromagnetic fields.
In the section on Transport Policy, the authors argue that because roads can carry a much greater volume of goods and passengers than railways, and at a lower cost, we should tear up all the tracks and convert all the railways to roads. But there is far more to travel than mere cost. There is the convenience of not having to grind your way through traffic queues and then have to deal with the issue of where to park (and at what cost) in the town or city; and the comfort of being able to read a book or newspaper rather than be constantly peering at the road ahead. In a train you can stretch your legs as you walk along the corridor to the buffet car, strike up a conversation with other passengers, or use your journey to do some work or creative writing on your laptop; or you can admire the scenery or just sleep!
The authors give the impression that it's almost a waste of time, money and effort to recycle anything, arguing that there is more than enough landfill capacity just to stick it all under the ground with the rest of our rubbish.
I was puzzled by the alleged dogma that 'There is no need for population control' - is that a common view? I was, however, disturbed by the authors' unqualified approval of abortion as a means of population control.
For me the most disagreeable feature of this book as became clear in the later chapters, was the wholesale contempt for anything faith- or religion-oriented. As an example, in the chapter on Ethics, Stanley Feldman takes some examples from the Bible out of context and, commenting on the Ten Commandments, states: "Even God's ethical code does not stand up to scrutiny". He later makes the offensive comment, "If even God can't get it right...".
I nearly gave this book only one star, but decided to upgrade my assessment slightly on account of the earlier chapters. Shame about the rest, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all..., 19 May 2014
By 
Probably not as the authors intended but just about every word between the covers of this book is complete and utter bollocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What two doctors know about climate science., 26 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart R. Dye "Stuart Dye" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The title of this book suggests it is not meant to be taken seriously by anyone capable of intelligent, independent thought. I hope its authors know more about their own professions. If I want justification for not giving a monkey's about the environmental damage caused by humans, here it is. Unfortunately I want peer-reviewed science, so I have also read a number of other works by people with genuine knowledge and expertise in the subjects covered by this book, so 'a load of bollocks about global warming' is the title that should be on its cover. The heat-trapping property of CO2 was confirmed in the 19th century. Burning fossil fuels releases CO2. Work out the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I have always suspected, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Robert A. Evans "Duke" (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Written by two professors it does what it says on the tin, gives " the truth about all these science scare stories" and shows that the planet is warming up but that was an ongoing trend some millions of years ago, that it is not man made and there is nothing that man does will prevent it.
They say that all doomsday predictions have a short life span and the we will soon lose interest in global warming in the same way as we have lost interest in food allergies, pollution and the supposed hazards of electricity pylons. They also have a go at a few other moral panics. Junk food will not kill our grandchildren, GM foods are harmless and superfoods will not prolong you life..

Should be compulsory reading for all politicians, newspaper editors and greenpeace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Weisi Guo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Why is every historian, psychologist, failed journalist, surgeon and local shop assistant writing about Global Warming in an authoritarian and deterministic fashion? That would be far more interesting a topic than the rubbish spewed here.

How would Feldman react if I wrote a book on anesthetics, which is his speciality. Perhaps this book can be a new form Anesthetic for the most painful of procedures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not so much bollocks, 23 July 2009
By 
T. Hulme (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want the myths dispelled then this is the place to go, From man made global warming to obeseity and organic food, everything the media and greenies expound as scientific truth is examined and debunked, if you are sceptical in any way about these things this is the book to read, all explained in understandable language. this is a book that should be read whichever side of the fence you are on, or even if you are sitting on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vox pop is not science, 28 Jan 2010
Catchy title with re-use of punk iconography, but so what. This book is a collection of sometimes interesting, but often poorly substantiated opinion pieces. Polemic yes, but whether it is well informed is hard to tell. A list of further reading is not the same as referencing where information comes from. If you are a climate change sceptic, there are other books to add to your armoury. If you are a climate change believer this is just more noise amongst the considerable volume already out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews