Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warts & All, however...
This is a great read and tells it as it was for Ginger Baker, however, it must be read with some caution. The long running animosity that he feels for Jack Bruce requires to be taken into consideration. He has often gone on & on & on..... about how he hated the Bruce/Brown writing partnership, but this seems a little like sour grapes to me. Pete Brown was originally...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by Numinous Ugo

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The best drummer ever but....
This is an easy book to read and if one imagine's Ginger's voice reading it to you then it adds to it! Obviously the best parts are from 1960-70 (even though it's covered much better in Dick Heckstall-Smith's overall superior autobiography),but the book has too much on drugs (like Noel Redding's book) and the parts about Nigeria and polo I found tedious - reading pages...
Published on 3 Oct 2009 by Daniel Ratner


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Excellent, everything as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aint no writer, 16 Nov 2013
its weird that so many people wanted the cliched version of gingers story , where all is rosy in the garden , not this nutcase who did bundles of drugs etc ,( lets face it they were all over the place , and still are !) was chasing around women blah blah , if you,ve stepped over into that madness nothings right cos every things wrong , and hes pretty damaged goods , and is a drummer not an author , so what did you want shakespeare playing bongo bongo , i,ll tell you from experience he is lucky to be able to write anything about anything , but what a bongo player eh , mahatma Ghandi he aint ..... he sounds like a lot of guys ive come across over the years , many aint been as lucky as him ( or me ) for that matter , there long dead ... maybe it would have been better to have kept just listening eh !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars master of the double footed drum roll., 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger Baker - Hellraiser: The Autobiography of The World's Greatest Drummer (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book, not only because I was a big fan of cream but it was very interesting reading about all the stuff Ginger did before he was famous and the things he's still doing now, a really top guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All smeared gloss. no depth, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ginger Baker - Hellraiser: The Autobiography of The World's Greatest Drummer (Kindle Edition)
Being an autobiography you would expect the bad bits to be minimised and the good elements to a life story to be prominent. This book however is little more than a succession of diary entries with no background, no real interest nor are any writing skills on show.

Ginger Baker has been one of my musician heroes but the impression I gain from this book is that as a human being he falls well short of what I would have hoped for. If my impressions are true then I have no desire to ever come across him in real life. Very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. P. Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i was really looking forward to this book and learning about ginger baker.
unfortunatly the way the book is written is very weak with no depth and the worst bit is that ginger baker is a bit of a prat
such a shame as his drumming is superb
if you want an insighful and exciting book about a drummer read dear boy not this tosh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. P. Bergman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only book i have ever read more than once. A great personal account of his life and career, although i would have preferred to read more about his days in Cream and less about Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, Dull, Dull, 6 Feb 2011
A poorly written schoolboy essay which quickly bores. Like others, I found the Polo and African elements tedious.
GB is obviously an egocentric individual who finds it necessary to denigrate anyone he sees as a potential competitor or more successful than himself-even at this distance from the events. What amazed me is how anyone can write about the 60's rock scene without once mentioning the Beatles.There's passing reference to Macca otherwise zilch. Perhaps his more recent sour musings about the fabs explain this ommission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews