Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
I'm not an avid reader
I got a Kindle so I found this, its the kind of stuff I do read
Very good I think.
Well written
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Let Me Down
On the plus side Alastair Taylor's "With The Beatles" is a real non stop page turner, fun, colloquial,and human with a touch of the tragic. For Beatle historians Taylor provides some interesting source material and vignettes, particularly on the persona of Epstein. However its a shame the book was not properly proof read as it looses much of its potential weight triping...
Published on 29 July 2012 by Whanster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Let Me Down, 29 July 2012
On the plus side Alastair Taylor's "With The Beatles" is a real non stop page turner, fun, colloquial,and human with a touch of the tragic. For Beatle historians Taylor provides some interesting source material and vignettes, particularly on the persona of Epstein. However its a shame the book was not properly proof read as it looses much of its potential weight triping over contradictions and errors. Taylor comes across as a most likeable and honest chap whose tragic missfortune was to turn down a cut on The Beatles original contract.I think I have read almost every "authoritive" book on The Beatles and Alastair Taylor has never previously emerged as anymore than a very useful stage hand, albeit on the greatest stage of the 20th centuary. It's intersting to cross reference his name in the index of all other Beatles tombs for some perspective. The tough truth is Tayor was a most useful fixer to the Beatles and real confidant to Epstein, but uttery replaceable. His contribution was valuable but not fundamental to the greatest rock 'n' roll band so far, unlike say Geoff Emerick. There is a "hard luck" sub text to Taylor's story, but there is little evidence to corroborate his perspective. That said The Beatles could be somewhat small minded/forgetful about publicaly acknowledging and crediting the enablers around them, but in the big scheme of things we can forgive them this flaw when set against their staggering cultural contribution. I am left with the impression Taylor thinks The Fab four should have looked after him better as they imploded after Epstein's death,for which its hard not to be sympathetic. Curiously Taylor makes no such suggestion about the Epstein estate, which to my mind had more responsibility to Taylor than The Beatles did. I hope Alastair has made a stack of cash from his book, its a harmless but likeable real life story. The romantic in me hopes Macca has read it, had him for tea and given him a very late and very large severance cheque, after all they are both nearing the end of that long and winding road they once intimately shared. Buy the book, its worth it if you are a fan, lord knows there are enough of us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faulty pages inc., 5 Feb 2007
By 
Christian of Sweden (Helsingborg, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: With the "Beatles" (Paperback)
Well, you must at least feel a little sorry for Alistair Taylor, a man that sacrified so much for the "boys" and indeed for mr Epstein and then got sacked by Alan Klein. However. Even when you discard the most obvious errors, like spelling Brian Brain and so forth, the book is loaded with contradictionary facts. We learn in one chapter that Beatles had no leader, just to read a couple of pages further on that John was the only leader of the band. It becomes even stranger when Taylor and Epstein visit a concert in 1963 which begins with the band playing Michelle (released in 1965). Having also ordered Revolver - The secret history of the Beatles, from the same publishing house (John Blake) I start to wonder if this company ever check their authours stories. Or are they possibly just printing whatever they feel like, hoping to get away with it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but Alistair Taylor's a cockwomble, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Michael K (Utrecht, Nederlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
Developing these tall tales must have kept Al sober all afternoon.
A couple of honkers:
John Lennon hadn't even heard of acid when The Beatles got their MBEs...neither had anybody else.
And then there's Alistair's one time headline-grabber 'I was Raymond Jones' which was believed until MOJO magazine found a Mr. Ray Jones who could prove he WAS the guy who ordered 'My Bonnie'!!

It's no wonder the band let him go and let Allen Klein take the blame. He's full of it!

So it is that this book, which I first read, believing most of it, under another of its remarketed titles, is, in retrospect, just about the most useless item from an (actual) insider!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
I'm not an avid reader
I got a Kindle so I found this, its the kind of stuff I do read
Very good I think.
Well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
Great book very honestly written. We'll done Alister from a fellow scouser. Just finished reading this book on holiday in Croatia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Steven V. Armes (Ipswich,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't have believed that Fresh view on the Beatles was possible, well I was wrong, a great read and Alistair Taylor deserves far more than he has received for taking part so intimately in the lives of our heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
I thought I'd read everything about, and by, the Beatles but this was very different because Taylor was intimately involved but writes in a modest voice, and gives a different, and loyal, perspective of Epstein's role and character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very one sided, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy reading books about the Beatles and have read several. The majority were very rounded giving a balanced view. This seems to be one sided, with the author painting a very rosy picture. Those of us that have read other books will know this was not the case. It does cover a large portion of the Beatles life but not everything should be taken as gospel. Read this book but remember it is is one mans memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
For the Beatles fan, a must read behind the scenes account by someone who lived and loved those heady days of the Beatles. A warm and easy to read personal account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another book, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With the Beatles: A Stunning Insight by The Man who was with the Band Every Step of the Way (Kindle Edition)
Read it all before? No you haven't! This is a really good read. Best read on a hot sandy beach with the White Album in your ears ( at least that's what I did!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews