Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the Footsoldier
Excellent book, writen in a balanced style as opposed to glamourising the involvment in violance. Shows the impact that operating in such circles has on family life and mental health as opposed to all gangsters being "evil". Carlton seems like a genuine guy who looks after his friends and family but is certainly not someone who should be crossed in a hurry.
Published 21 months ago by George Smith

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twin of Muscle
If you already have Muscle by Carlton Leach then don't buy this. It is near enough the same book. I was hoping for more but was disappointed. What it did have was photographs of his past youth, family and friends which was a bonus.
Published on 25 Dec 2008 by Jma Pinero-rey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the Footsoldier, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier - In My Game, The Choice is a Jail or a Grave (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, writen in a balanced style as opposed to glamourising the involvment in violance. Shows the impact that operating in such circles has on family life and mental health as opposed to all gangsters being "evil". Carlton seems like a genuine guy who looks after his friends and family but is certainly not someone who should be crossed in a hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twin of Muscle, 25 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you already have Muscle by Carlton Leach then don't buy this. It is near enough the same book. I was hoping for more but was disappointed. What it did have was photographs of his past youth, family and friends which was a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars some nice anecdotes but that's about it, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier - In My Game, The Choice is a Jail or a Grave (Kindle Edition)
I've read a couple of books similar to this and this is lacking charisma . It felt like a collection of anecdotes rather than an autobiographical view of Carlton's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good - not glorifying, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier - In My Game, The Choice is a Jail or a Grave (Kindle Edition)
This is a must read for anyone interested in the UK crime scene. I grew up in Essex and was fully aware of the Essex Boys stuff as it was happening. This book though is really commendable. Even though the narrative is exciting and a good read this book doesnt try and glorify violence or crime.

This should be curriculum reading for all school leavers. Lessons could be learnt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars got a bit bored, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier - In My Game, The Choice is a Jail or a Grave (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was quite interesting for a few pages about how the other people like this man live.he seemed to come from a decent home with good parents,but chose to go of the rails srarting with being a football hooligan.After a good spell of being a pain to the police and other football fans he went into the darker side of life,on top of this he seemed quite free with his sex life ,fathering several children starting when really just a child himself.this is not really my type of book ,i thought to read this would be a change but i dont.think i will go down that route again all i can say is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hard hitting read, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most people, I came upon this book via an interest in the Rettendon murders in 1995. Having lived most of my life in Essex, I remember switching on the news and opening the papers to this horrific murder. Carlton Leach has written a pretty hard hitting book here, although I am sure there is plenty he has left out, for obvious reasons. At times he comes across as quite humble and very honest about his exploits. He doesn't actually glorify what he has done but neither does he apologise for it. He is who he is, he's done what he's done, he's come out the other side a poorer but wiser man. I really enjoyed the book, it kept me gripped from start to finish. Carlton has probably packed enough into one lifetime to write several books! You don't have to agree or disagree with his lifestyle, it's an interesting and informative read regardless. I would def recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reworking of Muscle, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Having watched the explosive film, 'Rise of the Footsolidier', the book was a must read. Though the book is a rework of Muscle, several additional chapters such as 'Birth of a Footsolidier' and 'The Next Generation' have been added, bringing the book up to date, post film release for 2008. A good range of photo's bringing the book to life have also been added, which were disappointingly absent in Muscle. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier - In My Game, The Choice is a Jail or a Grave (Kindle Edition)
Really good gritty book that you can not put down a must read for everyone film is good as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Considering, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier - In My Game, The Choice is a Jail or a Grave (Kindle Edition)
I bought this as I wanted to read this since seeing the film. I have Charlton's story but hadn't read this version. I enjoyed the detail put in to the book and his honesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars very poor reading, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very poor reading repetative story lines, in my opinion boring continual self opinionated storylines (hardly the rise of a foot soldier)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews