Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed yes, but harsh reviews
The reviews of this book seem rather harsh, agreed it is rather detailed compared to similar stories but the story itself is rather thought provoking and makes you wonder what really does go on behind closed doors.
Published on 24 Jun. 2012 by Aracas

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much detail - not necessary!
Having been the victim of childhood abuse and now in full recovery, I do not see the point in books being too explicit. I could not read this book even as a fellow survivor and would question the need to go into detail. We all know what abuse is and is not but to detail in this manner will definately attract sexual predators.

Having counselled and been...
Published on 13 Jan. 2007 by S. HOWARTH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much detail - not necessary!, 13 Jan. 2007
By 
S. HOWARTH (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having been the victim of childhood abuse and now in full recovery, I do not see the point in books being too explicit. I could not read this book even as a fellow survivor and would question the need to go into detail. We all know what abuse is and is not but to detail in this manner will definately attract sexual predators.

Having counselled and been counselled it is important to talk about feelings and emotions rather than detail. It is a pity the publishers and editors did not remove the graphic content as every Survivor has the right to be heard as this helps the healing process. Best wishes Karen my love thoughts and prayers are with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed yes, but harsh reviews, 24 Jun. 2012
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
The reviews of this book seem rather harsh, agreed it is rather detailed compared to similar stories but the story itself is rather thought provoking and makes you wonder what really does go on behind closed doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking details!!, 23 Dec. 2006
I could not read after the second page because the writing was too explicit. I will go as far to say that I believe this book will attract the wrong kind of reader and surprised Amazon has allowed the pages to be shown. My own personal opinion is, you have walked the road once and survived, why put your self back on it so graphically. I have read other books on this subject and they have been written with dignity and grace without stating the obvious. "A boy called it" "A house full of whispers" and "The step-kid" springs to mind. If you want to be shocked, and read detailed discriptions about child abuse without leaving any thing to your imagination, read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Little detailed.., 7 Sept. 2012
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
I think this book is being reviewed to harshly. Personally some people like to get everything out and every detail and that's a therapy for and helps them. Don't judge saying it's to graphic, because if the books not for you then just put it down. Having been through abuse I am very sensitive to people and believe every has a right to say how they feel about their abuse and what exactly happened. at the end of the day this book is real and about something that did happen...theres no denying that. If something happened to you and you wanted to talk about it, then you would and shouldn't question it when other people want to talk about their experiences. I say help heal the victims with time and support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Karen, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
It was good at the start as it when on I lost it. Looking back at the reviews I thought it be brilliant but it wasn't that good and glad I never paid for it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
Good book, I really felt for this child/woman. As a person who had a relatively 'normal' childhood, it shocks me to read this was going on and still is - on our very doorsteps and still gets ignored. Hats of to ALL the brave children who have got through this and became positive strong adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
I feel this lady has a huge amount of bravery x her life plagued with disappointment and lose x but what a character to overcome all that adversity x well worth reading x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A girl called karen, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
Stated ok but I soon got distracted not as graphic as people stated but happy the writer has made a positive career helping others in this terrible situation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A girl called karen, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
Pretty boring book only read first 30 pages more about a social workers point of view not really anything about younger life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very gd read, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Girl Called Karen - A true story of sex abuse and resilience (Kindle Edition)
Very gd read altho a very sad story. Would definatly recomend. Didnt want to put this book down..would read again..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews