Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..A GOOD CHEESY ACTION MOVIE.."
This is not a direct sequel to the original starring Jason Statham but a completely different story set at a different time!! But its actually quite a good movie in a cheesy kind of way, the sequel is once again directed by the love or hate director Uwe Boll, I never had a problem with the original I thought it was a pretty awesome fantasy romp with an interesting...
Published 23 months ago by S. Drury

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really A Patch On The Original
There has been a glut of films with a medieval setting recently, plus Game of Thrones and together with the Skyrim game the bar has been raised very high.

Sadly In The Name Of The King 2 fails to set any new standards. The story follows Dolph Lundgren's Grainger (a retired US Marine in the modern world) as he is pulled back through a vortex to a time which...
Published 23 months ago by Northern Warrior


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really A Patch On The Original, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There has been a glut of films with a medieval setting recently, plus Game of Thrones and together with the Skyrim game the bar has been raised very high.

Sadly In The Name Of The King 2 fails to set any new standards. The story follows Dolph Lundgren's Grainger (a retired US Marine in the modern world) as he is pulled back through a vortex to a time which appears to be some years after the original Name Of The King. The plot meanders around and while there's a few twists it's not hard to spot these in advance. Various themes are started but not really expanded on or seen through to conclusion. The ending had me going, "Uhh, is that it?" Almost as if they ran out of money or what we got was a much abridged version of the director's original vision.

The remaining cast seem to have been largely picked from Eastern European C list and are so wooden they make Dolph Lundgren look like Oscar material.

Must have been really low budget as when we eventually get to see a dragon, the effects aren't even as good as BBC's Merlin series.

All in all, I was quite disappointed. If you want to see a movie that takes a character out of the modern day into an ancient time, Army of Darkness takes some beating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..A GOOD CHEESY ACTION MOVIE..", 22 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not a direct sequel to the original starring Jason Statham but a completely different story set at a different time!! But its actually quite a good movie in a cheesy kind of way, the sequel is once again directed by the love or hate director Uwe Boll, I never had a problem with the original I thought it was a pretty awesome fantasy romp with an interesting assembled cast. Part 2 stars Dolph Lundgren and Natassia Malthe (bloodrayne 2-3) both who are quite good in their roles and have some witty dialogue, the story is quite good too once it gets going its rather good fun and a good romp right up to the end, this is worth checking out for a bit of cheap fun especially if your a Uwe boll fan. The picture quality on the bluray is sweet and the nice medieval locations look great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars In the name of Dolph Lundgren!, 22 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Two minutes and sixteen seconds. That is exactly how long it took me to realize that "In the Name of the King 2: Two Worlds" was going to be an epic suckfest.

Specifically, that was when a Xena-style sorceress eluded a pair of Robin Hood ninjas, and ran right into the street of a modern city. In his ongoing quest to make my brain melt, Uwe Boll has churned out yet another ghastly sequel to one of his horrid movies, dragging a perpetually befuddled-looking Dolph Lundgren back into Ye Olde Renfaire surroundings.

Grizzled veteran Granger (Dolph Lundgren) is pulled through a vortex by a mysterious sorceress, who then dies after proclaiming that he's part of some prophecy. He finds himself centuries in the past, where hooded assassins are trying to kill him. King Raven (Lochlyn Munro) tells him that he's the destined Chosen One of a prophecy who is the only one who can kill the Dark Mother (Christina Jastrzembska) and stop the Dark Ones, blah blah. It's all very generic.

So he's sent out on a mission with a bunch of soldiers and a sexy lady doctor named (I kid you not) Manhatten (Natassia Malthe). Does she have sisters named Brooklyn and Harlem? Anyway, Granger and the soldiers fight the Dark Ones on their way to where the Dark Mother is, but soon Granger discovers the truth about the Dark Mother and King Raven -- meaning he must now fulfill the prophecy in a different way.

"In the Name of the King 2: Two Worlds" is a lazy, LAZY movie. Everything about it is halfhearted -- the acting, the plotting, the backstory, and even the fricking prophecy that the whole plot revolves around. Even worse, there's a MASSIVE plot twist that completely invalidates most of of the stuff that happens in the first half of the story, and leaves vast gaping plot holes behind it.

The entire movie has a grimy, dirty air, as if Boll rented a long-abandoned RenFaire ground for the setting, and both the Dark Ones and King Raven seem to have armies consisting of about two dozen guys. The scripting is absolutely abysmal, made even funnier by Natassia Malthe's hilariously stilted, breathless delivery ("It was an honor to fight beside you and lie with you as your woman!").

And I honestly believe that Dolph Lundgren was drunk during the production of this movie. And I cannot blame him. He puts no visible effort into any kind of acting. And at the beginning of every scene, he has this slightly befuddled expression, as if he's thinking, "Aw man, I'm still in this turkey? I need another drink."

Sadly, Lundgren himself is the best thing about his character, who is 150% Gary Stu. He's a Special Forces supersoldier who is also the chosen one, has a secret past, and has a prophecy revolving around him; soldiers who initially hate him randomly become his biggest fans, and women who have exchanged two sentences with him want to have awkward sex with him.

Oh, and the ending? Copout. I assume that Boll's RenFaire lease expired, because he never really shows us what happens to the Dark Ones... and instead we get a lame, strangely abrupt one-on-one battle.

I thought fantasy couldn't get more hackneyed than the first movie, but "In the Name of the King 2: Two Worlds" proves that you can always make a bad fantasy series cheaper, dirtier and more halfhearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much what you'd expect!, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Mark Hansen "There can be only 1!" (Nyborg, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is ok, not great in any way, but plain and simple ok. Being a cheap sequel, it didn't dissapoint, but it didn't raise an eyebrow either. I expected a solid b-movie with low production values and some cheesy acting, and I got fulfilled in that aspect. Still recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars INCOMING!, 20 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dolph plays Granger, a marshal arts instructor and ex-military man who is transported back in time to fulfill a prophecy about defeating evil. If the accent and bad acting of Lochlyn Munro as King/Raven doesn't make you laugh, stay tuned as the acting gets worse. The king's sorceress (Natalia Guslistaya) who transport Dolph dies, but her spirit sticks around a few scenes to help Dolph. Michaela Mann plays a bad actress who Dolph is too tired to have sex with.

After a little bit of wine, Dolph goes from telling the king to "stick his prophecy..." to "let me at the B...." He must kill the Holy Mother (Christina Jastrzembska) most likely due to her rejected Renaissance performance. Natassia Malthe (Bloodrayne: Deliverance)is the King's doctor who will accompany Dolph on his quest after he takes her virginity. She reminds me of a horrendous medieval Mila Kunis. Meanwhile the king will work on attempting to fully grow out his beard.

Dolph realizes things aren't the way he is being told and the water isn't purified. This sets us up for the twist...and a dragon.

No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Some minor Pg-13 words and sexual innuendos. With the bad acting, simplistic plot, and language it would appear the movie was designed for a tween to early teen crowd, but due to the violence got an R rating, placing it in the worse of both worlds. For serious movie watchers, 1 to 2 stars. For young teens about 4 stars. Might do well during an MST marathon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Two Worlds, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Name of the King: Two Worlds [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is not like the first one which in my opinion was great, with Jason Stratham, this one fell short.

I am a fan of the dungeon siege pc games and this movie did a poor representation to the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: In the Name of the King: Two Worlds [DVD] (DVD)
I personally liked this movie. I liked the first one and I seriously don't think that this movie and also the first. Are as bad as everyone makes them out to be. I mean I've seen other dvd fantasy films that are a lot worse! trust me. These movies are fun enjoyable fantasy/action flicks.

Just thought I would write a little review saying something good about the films. Considering some of the bad reviews on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars different than expected, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Name of the King: Two Worlds [DVD] (DVD)
i thought this video was a follow up of a dungeon siege but it looks like i was wrong but it was enjoyable anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In the Name of the King, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Name of the King: Two Worlds [DVD] (DVD)
I would rate this as a poor B movie, at times the acting was wooden and the set of the kings fortress looked as if it was made of cardboard, not worth the money paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Really Really BAD!!!, 22 Aug 2012
By 
A. J. Cannon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DO NOT BUY!!! Terrible sums it up. The acting, story-line, special effects and just about everything is absolutely awful. This really should not have been released as a main stream movie. Let me just give an example of why this is not a professional film despite how the packaging makes it look and having a famous actor in it, If you look at the near the beginning of the movie at the fortress when the guards close the gates and the camera pans out you can see in the background some random car? I mean seriously no one noticed this, that should really be enough to put anyone buying this film. 3 stars what??? I can pretty much watch anything all the way through this is the only movie that i had to fast forward all the way through since Kung Pow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb60ba534)

This product

In the Name of the King: Two Worlds [DVD]
8.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews