Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light, compact and will match most silver/grey laptops
LG have a reputation for providing the optical drives used in most laptops and desktops PCs and have held that position for many years. Their drives may not be the most expensive, but are generally reliable and forgiving of media brands, something that cannot be said of some 'prime' brands of writer where a limited range of media is known to be compatible. Such...
Published 19 months ago by Andy_atGC

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty unit, no compensation for wasted discs, product doesn't exist on LG Support website
Would love to give LG another chance but since they have already cost me 24 in wasted in discs, I will have to look elsewhere.

I was using high quality Verbatim BD-R at about 3 each and the intention was to burn data for backup purposes. The device comes with a lot of software that takes ages to install and I installed everything and used the LG burning tool...
Published 22 months ago by Sean Fackrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light, compact and will match most silver/grey laptops, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
LG have a reputation for providing the optical drives used in most laptops and desktops PCs and have held that position for many years. Their drives may not be the most expensive, but are generally reliable and forgiving of media brands, something that cannot be said of some 'prime' brands of writer where a limited range of media is known to be compatible. Such restrictions may result in poor review ratings for certain products.

I had long chosen LG writers where an external drive was needed and it therefore made sense to select this model over several others. All sides and edges are gently rounded which makes it attractive on the desktop. USB 2.0 only - it can be used if USB 3.0 sockets are the sole version available - and it has a single connector on the drive for power and data. However, as with many other external optical drives, it uses a Y-adapter in order to ensure a sufficient amount of power is always delivered. You may not need to use both, but some laptops and hubs do not deliver anything close to the 500mA minimally required. You may need to consider that if you need to use both connectors, they will need to be in close proximity and on some laptops that is simply not possible. You may therefore need to invest in a reliable hub in order to use this drive effectively. Many buyers will need to use only the main, and slightly the thicker cabled, USB connector and ignore the auxilliary. As with other similar drives, the overall cable length is around a half-metre in length, which should suffice with a laptop but may be insufficient for a desktop PC. Short USB extension cables (0.5 or 1m) could be used where needed.

Although another reviewer claims that the casing is thin and very flexible, it is not and its generally domed top adds greatly to its strength and resilience. In contrast to a similar external DVD writer of another brand which needs to be very carefully handled as excessive pressure on its casing will prevent the disk drawer from opening and closing, this is much sturdier and will take a little more rough handling. The disk drawer has a metal base and is therefore stronger and less flexible than those which are completely plastic. The Eject button is a small and only slightly protruding disk, either side of which are small pinhead LEDs, the left one to indicate disk read access and the right when writing to media.

In addition to the rather minimal documentation provided you get a disk of software, mostly CyberLink products, including a version of their 3D DVD player and Power2Go. There is no driver software as it is Plug & Play!

Thus far, and it is early days, I have written a few each of CDs, DVDs (single and Dual-layer) and Blu-ray media (25GB only) of a mix of brands and all had been written successfully. It is a little slower in writing all media types than other drives I own which are all full-sized, but this is normal of all portable writers, regardless of media types usable and brand. It therefore appears to be a reliable design. Most media was written with Nero 12 although a couple of disks were originally ISOs and burned with other software.

Reasonably priced, attractive and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked perfectly, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
Excellent product. I was able to write to Blu-Ray from my IMac 2008 and Toast without a hitch.
Being an external drive, I was also able to use it on my PC using Nero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good technology, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
We needed a blue ray player for the laptop when we are away, plus the bonus of the M discs for storage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product LG BP40NS20 - Excellent Reseller Service Quantum Wireless, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
I have purchased the LG BP40N having reviewed all about its technical characteristics, positive and negative. It serves perfectly my work, which is occasional BD burning using Nero under Windows 8. Additional use is under Mac OS X 10.8.2 BD reading, by using dedicated BD Software Mac Blue Ray Player by Macgo.

I work on a 2011 MacBook Pro 15" portable with both Mac OS X and Windows 8 (Bootcamp Partitioned 120 GB with Win 7 Drivers for Mac).

The LG BP40N external BD burner works perfectly under both environments, although burning BD is only available under windows. Apple does not support BD burning but through the SW mentioned above, one may enjoy BD playback. Burning of High Definition movies under OS X is possible and worked perfectly with the LG BP40N by using Toast Titanium SW in OS X 10.8.

The LG BP40 installed with no problem in both operating systems Mac and Win 8. It plays back all BD I have tried, official BD titles and BD data and movies disks previously burnet in a BD internal burner. Under Win 8 and by using Nero 12, recently bought from Nero.com, the LG done its job as expected.

In all circumstances the BD disks used were original BD Brands, rather expensive compared to clones. I have burnet 8 BD home made movies in TDK T78301 BD-R, with no rejects or faulty disks. Also burnet several Sony DVD-R disks under OS X with no problem from the LG BP40.

In short its a good machine doing its job reliably. One may find drives which outperform the LG BP40N characteristics, but its hard to say if these work adequately under both Operating Systems, Mac and Windows in the same Portable Computer (Macbook Pro).

I have not installed or used the accompanied SW disk since I use Nero 12 for my purposes under win 8, and hence I cannot comment on any of the offered programs.

The reseller, Quantum Wireless shipped and delivered the product in two working days from UK to Greece in a perfect condition. Notably the delivery time was extremely short. The five stars rating goes for both the reseller and the drive which as I have mentioned serves its purpose for the money it costs.

I hope the information above are useful - mainly to Mac users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty unit, no compensation for wasted discs, product doesn't exist on LG Support website, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Sean Fackrell "gashead" (Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
Would love to give LG another chance but since they have already cost me 24 in wasted in discs, I will have to look elsewhere.

I was using high quality Verbatim BD-R at about 3 each and the intention was to burn data for backup purposes. The device comes with a lot of software that takes ages to install and I installed everything and used the LG burning tool which doesn't detect files that Windows' own burn facility can detect - and also doesn't tell you which files it has rejected.

Once you get round these niggles and start burning, my unit was obviously faulty because it got to about 65% of the way through 5 different discs each at 21-23GB (not the same data each time to rule this out as a cause) and then failed. No detail in the error, no reason, just a failure. Disc unusable each time, game over.

Also tried using Windows 7 burn and same result. Tried to check support on LG website: model doesn't even exist on their own website. Queried this with LG in an email. They replied and said no chance of any compensation (despite my photos of the reverse of the discs clearly showing they were all failing in the same place) and they totally ignored the comment about the model not existing on their website.

Will I risk another unit from LG and waste more money in lost discs? No. I also tried 3 different Blu-Ray films to test the playback and only one worked (they all work on my Sony player). The other 2 crashed the LG playback software with a fatal error containing no detail about what caused the crash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars odd..., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
thought a blu-ray drive would play dvds of all regions (I don't own bluray disc)....
very inconsistent in terms of which one it plays and which it doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray upgrade made simple, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
Stylish design with lots of applications, easy software installation and a cost effective way of bringing blu-ray to my family's various computers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
Item was fantastic and better than i thought on my Pc but it didnt work on my iMac because of there new ios, still it works great on my PC and thats what i bought it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lg bluray recorder, 4 May 2013
By 
R. Emerton "robo" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
love this good build slim build does the job no problems so far.would recomend this to enyone.its powerd by the usb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LG BP40NS20, 11 Sep 2012
By 
ALI Z. Agel (Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20.AUAE10B 6x USB 2.0 SuperMulti Blue Slimline External BD-RW (Accessory)
Great BluRay RW and has no issues if you thinking to buy new BR RW this one will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews