Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portia's best bonk-buster!
In Suite Seventeen, lonely widow Annie is concerned about her neighbours' strange behaviour. The couple seem to behave very oddly, disappearing off in the car at night with Maria in a blindfold, copulating over a bench in the back garden and heaven knows what else! Annie pretends to herself she is shocked by their behaviour, but secretly she is aroused, and somewhat...
Published on 10 Oct 2007 by Lucy Felthouse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok.
Quite a good book. Have read a couple of books from this author and she is good. Arrived on time and in good condition.
Published 15 months ago by MrsH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portia's best bonk-buster!, 10 Oct 2007
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
In Suite Seventeen, lonely widow Annie is concerned about her neighbours' strange behaviour. The couple seem to behave very oddly, disappearing off in the car at night with Maria in a blindfold, copulating over a bench in the back garden and heaven knows what else! Annie pretends to herself she is shocked by their behaviour, but secretly she is aroused, and somewhat jealous. Annie discovers she is ready to have that kind of intimacy with someone again since the death of her husband and after taking the advice of a friend she meets up with Charlie, a young, attractive and financial type. However, he is simply there to talk numbers and discuss Annie's finances - she has been left rather well off since her husband died and Charles would like her to invest the money wisely.

There is no doubt in Annie's mind that Charles is only after making some money himself out of this deal, but she figures she may as well have some fun into the bargain. He is gorgeous after all. And so her adventure begins. Stood up at the prestigious Waverley Hotel by Charles, Annie is propositioned and flirted with all in one evening. She begins to realise that she has plenty of life to continue living, and so when stunning new
acquaintance Valentino disappears off into the darkness behind the hotel, Annie follows him.

Needless to say, they have some down and dirty fun. But it has opened Annie's eyes, and a whole world of opportunities. Now Valentino has shown her another side of sex, there is no going back.

The Waverley Hotel contains the famous Suite Seventeen. Famous, that is, in certain circles. Those into sexual adventure well know that the Suite is special. It contains everything anyone would require for a night of kinky sex with one or more partners, and even more crucial, hidden cameras which film the entire thing. After their fling, it appears Valentino would like to continue playing games with Annie, and he orders her to sleep with Charles in Suite Seventeen. She knows full well he, and possibly others, will be watching. But she no longer cares because she has been truly changed by her experience and wants to learn more about the sexual underbelly of Suite Seventeen, and the mysterious Valentino...

I loved this because it was a love story as well as a bonk-buster! I was genuinely rooting for Annie, and I loved Portia's descriptions of Annie's longing and lust for Valentino, and her fears that her feelings would never be reciprocated. I found it very touching, and very real that our heroine didn't immediately get the hero and live happily ever after. There was enough conflict to keep me desperately reading until the end, which in itself was very satisfying. A bunch of fantastic characters, and those who have read Entertaining Mr Stone will recognise some old favourites. Quite possibly my favourite Portia da Costa novel, followed very closely by Gothic Blue. A must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite by far!, 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is officially the best by far in Portia Da Costa's extensive library of titles. It provides a base for many of her other books so the characters are constantly referred to. The characters are well placed in the story and are easy to identify with. This story is incredibly easy to follow and also to become lost in, to the point where you can't actually put it down! The main characters aren't stereo typically ones that you'd expect to succeed in their journey together but when you follow them, you are actually willing them to be together. I love it!! 100% recommended, a real must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 23 April 2010
By 
C. I. Smith "c i c smith" (Kent,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't normally read this type of book but had it recommended to me for a light read,tastefully done and an enjoyable read,i would recommend Portia De Costa's books any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best ever, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suite Seventeen (Black Lace) (Kindle Edition)
This is probably Portia da Costa's best yet. A brilliant and exciting read and romantic as well. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
LOVED THIS BOOK. DA COSTA GIVING A LOVING TOUCH TO COMPLEX CHARACTERS AND SITUATIONS. ANNIE DISCOVERS HOW TO LOVE LIFE AGAIN AFTER BEING WIDOWED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars :-(, 2 Feb 2014
By 
L. A. Fitchett (jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't get into this book, found it really difficult to get interested in it, just like the other ones like this I brought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book,!! Very enjoyable and an easy read but likes they way it incorporates previous characters form other books. well recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a good book. Have read a couple of books from this author and she is good. Arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, very naughty but nice., 14 April 2013
By 
Rebecca Hayter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, very steamy as is all her books, and yet a lovely romance story so its not a dirty porn book, although some of the sections could be discribed that way. And I never thought of a transvestite as being a sex god, but It even made me wonder if hubby would try the eye linner and lipstick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suite Seventeen (Black Lace) (Kindle Edition)
A light, predictable read. Ok if you want some bed time reading, quite entertaining. Not sure I would search for the author again though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suite Seventeen (Black Lace)
Suite Seventeen (Black Lace) by Da Costa Portia
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews