Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Star Wars books
Wow! Once again James Luceno has confirmed my belief that he is the best Star Wars author. I loved how the plot synced with other novels e.g Cloak of Deception, where an event that is taking place in another novel is being referenced at the same time in this one. Loose ends, such as Sifo-Dyas and the clone army, and character expansions, such as Darth Maul and King...
Published on 27 Jan. 2012 by Craig Anthony Colledge

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paper Tigers
Over the last decade I have had a love/hate relationship with James Luceno's writing. At times I have found his work to be brilliant, and at other times I have found his writing to be uninspired and muddled. Upon reading the beginning of this book I was quite taken by just how well written an imaginative the story surrounding Plagueis was. I was surprised how well Luceno...
Published 21 months ago by Shane


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Star Wars books, 27 Jan. 2012
Wow! Once again James Luceno has confirmed my belief that he is the best Star Wars author. I loved how the plot synced with other novels e.g Cloak of Deception, where an event that is taking place in another novel is being referenced at the same time in this one. Loose ends, such as Sifo-Dyas and the clone army, and character expansions, such as Darth Maul and King Veruna, will greatly interest Star Wars fans.
It was refreshing to read from the point of view of the Sith for a change. Darth Plagueis was a most intriguing character. The machinations of the Sith were complex and how they turned out was riveting to read.
Definitely one of my favourite Star Wars books, if not THE favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what it should be like., 20 Jan. 2012
So after the disaster that was Revan, we get Plagueius and what vast vast improvement. This Story captivates you immerses you in a period of the star wars history that has always held an interest in that it delves so deeply into the man that trained Palpatine and Palpatine himself answering some long asked questions.

This Book is a fantastic story it is everything that can be when a star wars author gets it right, and is a stark contrast to Revan, yes the book still has preview chapters of other novels but unlike in Revan where the story cam to an abrupt end there is no feeling of being cheated but the rather a one of satisfaction.

The Author of course wrote the fantastic sequel to Revenge of the Sith which was also a great book, and he does not disappoint here as gets Palpatine so right to the point you the reader can not sometimes see Palpatine manipiulations or rather you don't realize until later that Palpatine has engineered what is taking place. This book is highly recommendable to all star wars fan but especially those let down by the Revan novel. Just brillant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paper Tigers, 26 Sept. 2013
Over the last decade I have had a love/hate relationship with James Luceno's writing. At times I have found his work to be brilliant, and at other times I have found his writing to be uninspired and muddled. Upon reading the beginning of this book I was quite taken by just how well written an imaginative the story surrounding Plagueis was. I was surprised how well Luceno had laid out the character and how well the story had worked in a linear telling, something Luceno rarely does in his books. But as the story progressed, and after Palpatine was introduced, I was shocked on just how quickly the books solid story turned into sand and flowed through my fingers.

After Plagueis found Palpatine, a telling that was thin at best, Luceno parts from Plagueis's story to focus on the larger plan, a larger plan that centers around Palpatine. Little time is spent as to how Palpatine learns the Force from Plaqueis, and even less time is spent on grasping the connection the two men have to each other. In my opinion Luceno fails in bringing light to the wisdom and experience that Plagueis has to offer as both a Master and a teacher. Instead, we as readers, are exposed to a more simplistic telling of Palpatine's rise to political power.

The main bulk of this book focuses on the study of how Palpatine fits into the world around him. Every once and a great while we are exposed to scenes that ring familiar to what we know of other Sith stories but, for the most part neither Sidious nor Plagueis are great examples of the Sith we know and love. Darth Bane, and the teachings left by his reign, are spoken too often, however, neither of our Sith Lords completely fall into the Sith mold. As I read this book I often thought of both Lords as book smart but never street smart. Rarely are we exposed to either of them being mad or even taken by the power of the dark side. Rarely do either lash out when failure rises. Rarely do either bathe in the power of the dark side.

In the end the book's true purpose is to wrap up threads left from stories past. Scenes read like cliff notes as grand story arcs from other books and comics are horribly skipped over without either a brief description of events that happened, or the impact those stories had.

With all this considered the book reads as a long winded diatribe of internal analysis and shallow plotting. The characters, formed by experiences that are not addressed in this book, read like paper tigers as their power seems convenient and contrived. With scenes missing only Star Wars fans that have a vast understanding of the larger EU library will be able to follow the scenes skipped over. New fans, or those who haven't read that many books or comics, will be lost and confused. I, myself, have a good understanding of stories past and was able to process most of the plot points addressed, but even I still walked away from this book bitterly disappointed.

In conclusion, I feel that this book was overly hyped and under delivered. The classic feel gained by the Darth Bane chronicles was left void after the first fifteen percent of this book. Characters were left dangling in the wind blown by stories long since past. And after three-hundred pages the main characters of the book were left void of any real lasting impact.

Perhaps this book's only silver lining as that the audiobook's narrator has enough talent to deliver a better telling. But in the end the book lacks entertainment, enjoyment, and a competent ability to stand on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Politics.. not enough Sith Training, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Plagueis (Kindle Edition)
This book had a tendency to go from amazing to really boring within chapters. The lengthy political aspects, which were necessary in some parts, needed to be heavily reduced. The book did however manage to link gaps of the prequel trilogy films nicely and fill in some interesting details. I would have also liked to have seen less of Palpatine and more of Plagueis towards the end of the book, after all the book is named after him. All in all I enjoyed most of this book but wouldn't recommend it to readers who don't enjoy the political star wars plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wrong title, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For readers hoping to understand more about the life of Darth Plagueis you will be a little disappointed. Really this book should have been called "Palpatine". Don't, however, let this stop you from reading this book as it deserves the 4 star rating.
For the fan of Star Wars (new or old) this is a really cool book providing the usual in-fill / back ground to the main film timeline, whilst offering tantilising glimpses of possible answers to some of the "big" questions.

As a stand alone novel to the SW virgin? Well it is easy to read with a mix of action and intrigue. However, if you've not watched the films (particularly episodes 1-3), do so first to help deepen your understanding.

Age range? Well I'm just south of 40 and enjoyed reading it on holiday; my son is 11 and stole it straight off me the minute I finished! Basically it's an easy read for any age but contains enough info, intrigue and insights to keep "grown ups" hooked whilst not boring the living daylights out of a padawan or your young apprentice...

It should change your understanding of the Phantom Menance...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from Luceno, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy James Luceno's work, but he's reached a new level with this book. Dark, menacing, plotting, twisted, this book exposes Sidious and Plagues as manipulators extraordinaire and discloses some pre-episode one info beautifully. A really excellent read and exceeded every expectation I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Star Wars book to date for me, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As a fan of the Star Wars Universe perhaps one of the most wanted titles is the story behind the master of the Emperor, Darth Sideous. So when you have such a pivotal book for a series you really have to make sure that it hits not only the right notes but also helps to demonstrate how the pupil became the master and what attracted him to the Dark side originally.

This title does all of this, adds some cracking detail with top notch prose alongside pace. In addition to this, James also adds flesh to Palpatine's background as well as demonstrating the manipulations that he would become famous for. All in, this story will have you gripped from start to finish and for me, is my favourite story for the series. Cracking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and deep, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How many times has a science-fiction or fantasy series failed utterly and completely to paint a good portrayal of a characters backstory, let alone that of a major hero or antagonist? Any reader will have encountered disappointing backstories of these sort in one book or another, and it is the sort of thing that can completely break a book. When James Luceno’s ‘Darth Plagueis’ was announced, despite the expectation it created by what it would be based on, there was a definite sense of fear that it would suffer from this. After all, it could paint Darth Sidious and Darth Plagueis in a too-humanising light, or perhaps worse, in the traditional two dimensional way in which antagonist are depicted.

Does James Luceno’s ‘Darth Plagueis’ fall in this trap? Definitely not. On the contrary, it excels on it without falling into any of the traps other similar works have fallen in. It paints a beautiful picture of the characters, depicting them accurately and effectively bringing them to life, excelling in its way of revealing the story and avoiding a false sense of suspense.

Without giving away most of the plot, ‘Star Wars: Darth Plagueis’ is not just the story of Palpatine’s master, but also the story of the rise to power of his apprentice, Darth Sidious. The plot is mainly composed of a political thriller and serves as a backstory for the movies. Despite what one might expect from other titles, it doesn’t just throw in blaster and lightsabers, and instead it focuses on the machinations of Plagueis and Sidious to carry out the Sith grand plan. Of the action scenes it throws in, they are emotionally intense and bloodcurdling, and reveal a lot about the characters. Outright amazing. In a way, it is reminiscent of The Count of Monte Christo in how it develops.

Something I would like to note is how Luceno’s writing is how he adds and plays with all of the Star Wars history that the reader might now without creating a false sense of suspense. We know from the events of the movies that Plagueis was killed in the end as well as by who; so instead of making the reader falsely wonder what will happen, the question is rather how and when events take place. It fills many of the holes made by the movies and shines light on a lot of other events and Star Wars history that weren’t that well developed or depicted in other titles, and shows magnificently just the amount of planning and care the Sith put behind these events (I finally understand the events behind Episodes I and II, which is a welcome feeling).

The narrative develops well despite the changes in location and of characters, making it seem completely natural and avoiding to intrude in other storylines which don’t belong. The writing style fits perfectly with the plot of the novel, and just makes it all the better. It isn’t often that one encounters a novel written with this amount of care, and the tone suits the book really well. The narrator provides a lot of physical details which help to envision the characters and scene without this seeming overbearing, and it just makes the book delightful to read.

The characters were well built and developed, and I thurroughly enjoyed reading this book. So much, in fact, that the fact that I had to continue and finish it was both a blessing and a curse. Darth Plagueis and Sidious are wonderfully constructed, compelling, and three-dimensional. Their psychology and reasons for being how they are fit perfectly with both later events and those taking place in the book. I can only say concerning the characters just how good of a job Luceno has done, not only as someone interested in them and the Sith, but also as a great Star Wars fan. I have no complaints in this section.

Perhaps, what I liked most of all about this book was how well it read and how it fitted in perfectly with its plot the way of being of the Sith. Luceno does a great job at depicting these, and it is slightly had to put exactly into words just how much I enjoyed Star Wars: Darth Plagueis. The fact that Plagueis is a Muun is also handled really well, without falling into any unnecessary stereotyping that the Star Wars universe has tended to have in the past. The way he manipulates and trains Sidious is fascinating, as is Sidious’ development throughout the years. The way it also links with pre-Episode events, Episode events, and other works is also amazing. Luceno takes all of the Star Wars canon and handles it in the best of ways.

As such, what could I possibly conclude about ‘Star Wars: Darth Plagueis’? Putting into words just how much I enjoyed reading this book is quite hard. It isn’t often that I encounter such a well-crafted work which is such a pleasure to read. It certainly has become one of my favourite books, and I can’t wait to read it again. Luceno draws the reader in and doesn’t let go. Star Wars: Darth Plagueis is a wonderful addition to the Star Wars extended universe, and definitely a must-read for all fans of it and the movies, along with any other science-fiction fan. It is, by all means, awesometacular, and definitely one of the great works of this genre. I give it the highest rating, with a very strong recommendation. It will not let you down, and is a more than worthy addition to any library and collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The chessmaster is revealed..., 6 May 2014
It amazes me how great the literature for the time period of Phantom Menace is. I liked the movie, but it WAS a disappointment.
I...
We (!) expected more from the return of the Jedi to the cinemas.
But back on topic:
In here you have the story of Darth Sidious and his master Darth Plagueis. We get to see how they both manipulate and scheme themselves to the very top of the food chain, it is a political thriller mostly, but it is not dull... it is fascinating. You get to know not only the real story of Star Wars, but you get the insight into so many Sith-teachings, it is almost frightening.
There are a lot of surprises in this book, a lot of known events take on different shapes and at the same time this story holds all the other material ting into the first movie together.
It is recommended (although not necessary) to read Cloak of Darkness, Darth Maul - Shadow Hunter, Darth Maul - Saboteur, Darth Maul by Ron Marz and Jedi Council - Acts of War, because those stories are often referenced.
Actually there is a lot of name dropping, especially for the period of Darth Bane and before, but these books are less required, because even to our main anti-heroes, these times are very ominous and legendary (I am not saying you should not read them, I am saying you do not need them to get the whole picture).

All in all maybe my favorite Star Wars book of all time, topping even the Thrawn trilogy, which has tremendous sentimental value to me!
This is required reading if you like Star Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best to date!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book. After quite a few mediocre books recently it is good to see a genuinely interesting Star Wars story again. Despite the plotline being revealed pretty much at the beginning this is a gripping read. The story is firmly routed in the Sith arc of the universe and when some known characters appear at various points throughout the story its interesting to see them portrayed from a completely different angle. In fact the Jedi don't look all that good here. The characterisation of Plagueis and Palpatine is well done, again a positive departure from the recent norm.
Why only 4-stars? Well despite being a great book not only providing a great independent story, but also filling up a lot of background material, this is a huge missed opportunity. The story reads and feels incredibly rushed despite Luceno's best efforts. The reason is quite simple - the huge array of plot elements and lose ends that are brought together here. Not only is this the story of Darth Plagueis, it's the story of how Palpatine became Sidious, the story of the political machinations on Naboo, the story of the creation of the Trade Federation, the disintegration of the Republic, Jedi Master Sifo-Dyas and the creation of the Clone Army and for good measure the story of Count Dooko. This is just too much and although Luceno carries it off admirably this should have all come together in at least a trilogy. There is more story here than in the current Fate of the Jedi series. Accepting that this cannot be undo though, this is one of the most important books within the Star Wars universe to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Darth Plagueis
£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews