Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A milestone recording, 4 May 2012
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
Every artist gets to record a special album, one that either defines their work or moves them up into the "A" list of their genre, and this is Claire Martin's. Too Much In Love To Care teams our finest UK jazz vocalist with a blue chip US band, some superb, timeless, songs from the Great American Songbook, and the result is spectacular.

Underpinning the material throughout is the wonderful, melodic playing of pianist Kenny Barron. Here, he is the perfect accompaniest to Claire Martin through a range of moods and settings, never too intrusive, never too much in the background - just perfect. "A time for love" is perhaps the standout track on the album, but there are no duff songs here, so everyone will probably select a favourite or two.

What makes this such a fine, career-defining album? I don't think Claire Martin has ever sounded better - she covers a range of emotions without ever sounding phoney or over-the-top, and it's this honesty that makes the song sound authentic. Despite the fact that the Great American Songbook is perhaps over-familiar to lovers of jazz vocals, there are new things to be heard in these interpretations. The musicianship from everyone is superb, and the Linn Records attention to sound brings out every nuance. It's hard to believe that an artist this talented sometimes plays live gigs at half-empty provincial venues - simply a crime.

Hopefully, with the release of this wonderful new album, Claire Martin will garner even more praise - and audience attention. She is far and away the finest vocalist working in the genre today; much better than some big-name US stars of the moment. As one of the lyrics on offer here states, an "under-rated treasure". An essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claire's best so far!!!, 30 April 2012
By 
Joe 90 (nr Silbury) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Claire Martin for over 10 years, and enjoyed all of her albums, but with this new disc she's raised the bar to a new high. Partly this is thanks to her cracking band, including the mercurial Kenny Baron, but ultimately it's that ravishing voice that does it! And this time the tunes are all pure gold, Great American Songbook. Fantastic sound too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 13 great performances from Claire Martin..., 23 Mar 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
I too have enjoyed Claire Martin's singing over the past few years and was particularly taken with the choice of material for this album and that was why I purchased it. I had heard almost all of the songs on the album and those new to me went so well with those I knew. It is not often that you get so many songs that you enjoy one and all. My top picks are the Gershwin's "How Long Has this been going On"; "A time for Love" (Johnny Mandel) & "Too Late Now" by Burton Lane. All the performances have the best of the jazz/cabaret atmosphere and make for superb listening and again I have had my headphones on to catch every sound. Spend a musical hour with Claire and you too will be hooked...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just very Special and the best to date!, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. C. S. Horne "SarfLondon Jazzbuff" (Clapham, S London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
I have listened to about all of Claire Martin's albums and when I recently heard one track off this one, I just had to get it. She has developed so much expression and sensitivity for putting across a song. There is now a silky quality a bit like Ella and the ability to improvise over a number of notes like Sarah (without sounding a tad inebriated!), but it is still very much Claire Martin as a really affecting performer. Live shows will be yet the better for this.

Kenny Barron's piano work is also a joy, clever, fluent but not intruding and an object lesson in how to do it. I cannot imagine any other pianist doing as well. Peter Washington on bass and Kenny Washington on drums and the Steve Wilson on sax and flute maintain the ultra high standard.

Yes, you should get this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A big hit!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
Sometimes Claire Martin goes away from her strengths but with this CD she really hits the mark and produces some lovely versions of great songs. Well done Claire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Claire Martin has another winner!, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
Excellent recording as always from Claire Martin, This CD can not be rated more highly well worth a listen and with Autorip it is always available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
I had not heard Claire Martin prior to buying this and love her voice. Excellent accompaniment too. Good selection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
Wonderful! A great voice from a lovely lady: perfect for the selection. A very sophisticated production: great for late night relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Usual excellence from Claire Martin, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
Combined with excellent musicians and tasteful arrangements, Claire Martin shows her superb voice gets better. An album for late night chilling out with friends and a glass or two of fine wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional., 16 July 2014
By 
Mr K R TAYLOR (Cambridge, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much In Love To Care (Audio CD)
Claire Martin and Kenny Barron are a match made in heaven, add to this a rhythm section of exceptional quality and you have a beautiful collection of songs to keep listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Much In Love To Care
Too Much In Love To Care by Claire Martin (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews