Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slice of Pure Early Eighties Funk, 3 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Glow Of Love (Audio CD)
Graduates from the same funk school as Chic, Change was the brainchild of producer Jacques Fred Petrus. His not unique but highly polished bass-guitar driven early eighties funk sound was complimented by a number of guest vocalists on this album, including several appearances by a younger Luther Vandross on many of the tracks including the fantastic 'searching' and the famous title track 'The Glow of Love'. In fact, it was his appearance on this album that got Luther noticed. For today's listener, you will hear source sample material for the French house sound with groups such as Daft Punk, Modjo and Superfunk being representative. This is a pure slice of early eighties funk at it's best. Buy it before they delete it. Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Chic, 20 Oct 2007
This review is from: Glow Of Love (Audio CD)
Here we have a marriage of the sound of Chic and early Italian house and it is a marriage made in heaven. Luther Vandross and Jocelyn Brown are vocal giants and the production complements them with aplomb. Vandross on Searching and Glow of Love is mesmeric. 'Caught the glass as it fell from my hand' 'like a child couldn't quite understand' when he meets the girls of his dreams after 'so long' on Searching', just drips with his feelings of disbelief and joy. I've got goosebumps just writing about it. Plenty more highlights here, All you need to do is listen and you will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic example of 80's funk, 2 Nov 2004
By 
J. Pearce "janpirret" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glow Of Love (Audio CD)
This album is a classic example of the nightclub music period in the early 80's. An introduction to the worshipped Luther Vandross. An alternative to try is SOS Band - similar sound to Change..... always wondered if there was a connection. If you enjoyed nightclubbing and the funk sound in the early 80's - go on and buy this album, a true treasure not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 3 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glow Of Love (Audio CD)
The Glow of Love.. i dont know where to start with this cd-album, i remember when it was first released it just hit you like a brick....just stunning and it still sounds as great now as it did when i first heard this in my youth....lol. 7 tracks on the cd and every one of them is still as good now. you sort of get two for the price of one with CHANGE, THE GLOW OF LOVE.. great dance tracks and great music and you get THE GREAT LUTHER VANDROSS befor he hit the big time, so if you love LUTHER and dont have this' you should go and get it now.i cant recomend this cd more than enough, its a cd that every one who loves great music and some good disco music should have in there home, so go and get this now, you will not be dissapointed with this stunning cd.................enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaah, Luther Van Dross, 7 Dec 2005
By 
Mrs. S. D. Maine "Sue" (Chelmsford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glow Of Love (Audio CD)
This CD is worth buying for the classic Luther tracks alone. His unmistakeable voice on these older songs is sheer heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic cd., 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glow Of Love (Audio CD)
I originally had this album on vinyl, great to get it on CD. A fantastic memory of the early '80s a true classic that has to be in your collection. Delivered in good time in a jiffy bag in perfect condition, What else could you ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glow Of Love (Audio CD)
I believe this is the best album ever done by Change. Luther at his best and a kicking happening song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the glow, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glow Of Love (Original Album And Rare Tracks) (MP3 Download)
this is the first ever change album (i bought the vinyl when it came out in the early 80's) loved it then and am still in love with it - this album was the first to spring luther vandros into the public eye - anyone new might think its a bit dated but i bet it won't be long before your feet are tapping .................give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a blast of pure 80's funk with the added class of The genius that is LV(Luther Vandross)!!!!!, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glow Of Love (Original Album And Rare Tracks) (MP3 Download)
Essential chillin/partying/happy vibe music. This album is a must for all lovers of funk, soul, disco music. Pure music heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glow Of Love (Original Album And Rare Tracks) (MP3 Download)
A must for all soul, funk and disco lovers. I defy you not to get on your feet with these tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews