Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars It is accessible and beautifully illustrated. I do feel the maps could have ...
I bought this to expand my knowledge of biblical times, and to put events in a geographical perspective. It is accessible and beautifully illustrated. I do feel the maps could have been bigger.
Published 3 months ago by MaryFCB

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor quality product
I was very pleased to find that The Oxford Bible Atlas had been updated to a Fourth Edition, having been a possessor of the Third Edition for some years. I placed an order looking forward to pleasant time perusing its pages. I am sad to say that the general quality of the paper, printed pictures and text is so poor that I would not encourage anyone to purchase one...
Published on 10 Aug. 2011 by Bethany Stjohn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor quality product, 10 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Hardcover)
I was very pleased to find that The Oxford Bible Atlas had been updated to a Fourth Edition, having been a possessor of the Third Edition for some years. I placed an order looking forward to pleasant time perusing its pages. I am sad to say that the general quality of the paper, printed pictures and text is so poor that I would not encourage anyone to purchase one without seeing it first. There are a number of errors:

*page 17 is spoiled by printers ink smudge on the bottom margin of the page and also within the text.

*p. 65 has no immediate continuation on p. 66 an the reader has to search for it.

* the majority of landscape pictures are too 'blue' giving an overall blue effect.

* some of the pages are in a strange and contrasting an random cream colour that is in noticeable contrast to the majority of white pages

* the quality of the paper is probably 90gm or 100gm weight which will not withstand heavy usage by Bible students

* the stitch binding is of very poor quality thread and tension so that the pages are not secure.

I would not advise anyone to purchase this Atlas without seeing one first and checking with the seller.

However, that said, the content is excellent and informative and only adds to the disappointment of the product quality.

My volume was printed through Phoenix Offset, China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is accessible and beautifully illustrated. I do feel the maps could have ..., 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
I bought this to expand my knowledge of biblical times, and to put events in a geographical perspective. It is accessible and beautifully illustrated. I do feel the maps could have been bigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Bible Atlas, 9 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
The book was well advertised on the internet and is well written. It presents a good overview of the historical content connected with the maps illustrated.
Many of the maps have been taken by satallite which gives a good picture of how a certain country relates to its neighbours.
It is an ideal book for modern Bible students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nicely presented but bit short on substance?, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
I wanted something between an academic tome and a picture book and to be honest this was more on the picture book side but my problem not the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
Yemso (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
Brilliant atlas, very user friendly. Nicely set out in a thoughtful arrangement. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to put places to names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bar-Mitzvah present, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
This was part of a Bar-Mitzvah present for a great-nephew. It seemed a grown-up present for a bright 13-year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford Bible Atlas, 6 April 2011
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
This is a beautifully illustrated book. It is an excellent guide to the background of the books of the Old and New Testaments. It not only covers geographical studies but also those of ancient history and archaeology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Biblical geography with history., 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
Full of interesting revelations of the history and geography of the Bible lands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital tool for your Holy Bible study, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. A. S. Milne "Andrew S M" (Strood, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Bible Atlas (Paperback)
Superb definition pictures and clear concise text make this a vital tool as part of your study of the Holy Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Bible Atlas
Oxford Bible Atlas by Adrian Curtis
£7.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews