Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.08+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2012
Thank you BGO for making a great album,which had been out of print for years available again.

TRACK LIST

1 Kickin' Asphalt ( Eddy / Knechtel )
2 Rockestra Theme ( McCartney ) - Bass, background vocals & producer: Paul McCartney
3 Theme For Something Really Important ( Lynne ) - Slide guitar : George Harrison
4 Spies ( Dudley / Jeczalik )
5 Blues City ( Cooder )
6 The Trembler ( Shankar / Eddy ) - Slide guitar : George Harrison
7 Los Campaneros ( Cooder )
8 Lost Innocence ( Dudley / Jeczalik )
9 Rockabilly Holiday ( Lynne )
10 Last Look Back ( Eddy / Knechtel )
11 Spies ( 12" Version ) Bonus Track
12 Rockestra Theme ( 12" Version ) Bonus Track
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
To my untrained ears Duane Eddy can do little wrong. Having just bought and reviewed his latest album "Road Trip", I thought that would be it. Along came the album released 25 years ago, I liked it then and I still do.

With some great musicians with him, either accompanying him or producing some of the tracks, he could not go wrong. Starting off with "Kickin` Asphalt" a hard rocker reminiscent of the early days, followed by "Rockestra Theme", Paul McCartney plays an integral part in this recording. Then one of my favourite tracks by anybody, ever, "Theme For Something Really Important", a beautiful lush slow-paced melodic tune with sterling accompaniment from George Harrison.

"Spies" a rather gimmicky track with all sorts going on in the background. Then there is "Blue City" a slower thought provoking tune, followed by "The Trembler", part written by Ravi Shankar, however this is a sitar-free zone. "Los Companeros" has a rather westernised feel about it. "Lost Innocence" follows another slower paced track which Duane handles so well. "Rockabilly Holiday" is much more up tempo, probably the most commercial track of all. Then we have "Last Look Back" a quieter finale only spoiled by the addition of two longer versions of "Spies", with added noises and "Rockestra Theme", with someone asking about their dinner!

On the whole a very good CD. Worth 5/5 for that one track alone. Next time for a bonus track it would be nice to have something completely different, do you agree?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
We shouldn't criticise the supplier on this one. It's not a rehash of second rate recordings of previous releases but a genuine re-issue.
What's more it's a good album with excellent input from other masters inc. George Harrison. McCartney, Lynne and Ry Cooder.
There are some excellent tracks inc. my favourite the underrated `Theme for Something Really Important' which the late Jet Harris featured in his live performances but never quite got that resonating trademark twang.
There are other good tracks such as `Rockabilly Holiday' much in vogue with `Tiger Love and Turnip Greens' from a 1958 album.
This like the recent `Road Tip' represented at the time a welcome return to the studio for an original album by Duane.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I am a big Duane Eddy fan and was pleased to add this item to my collection. Whilst I already have the original 1986 vinyl & CD versions this album is a worthwhile addition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Have come back to Duane Eddy after many many years only to find that he has improved with age - excellent cd.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
This CD replaces an old LP (which I still have) adding extra tracks and a big leap in quality. Thank You!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
Great value for background music. plenty of upbeat tunes too. Makes a change and great value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
BGO RECORDS MILKING YET MORE OF DUANE'S LATER WORK FROM THE LATE I980s, THIS 10 TRACKER HAS TWO BONUS ITEMS AS WELL, BUT THEY'RE JUST DIFFERENT MIXES AND A 12" VERSION. ITS BILLED AS 'DIGITALLY RE-MASTERED', BUT FOR THE AVERAGE EAR, YOU CAN'T SPOT THE DIFFERENCE! DON'T GET ME WRONG THOUGH, THERE'S SOME GREAT NAMES FEATURED HERE -- McCARTNEY, HARRISON AND LYNNE TO NAME BUT THREE, PLUS A COUPLE OF THE ORIGINALS FROM EDDY'S 1950s BACKING BAND, THE REBELS. THE PLASTIC PACKAGING ALSO HAS A SLIP CASE, BUT THERE ARE GOOD NOTES INSIDE AND ONLY A COUPLE OF TRACKS CLASH WITH THE 1992 RHINO RELEASE 'TWANG THANG -- THE DUANE EDDY ANTHOLOGY'. ITS A GOOD ALBUM, BUT I STILL FEEL SOMEBODY'S CASHING IN ON THE CURRENT RELAUNCH OF MR. EDDY'S CAREER AND NEW FOUND POPULARITY AS A RESULT OF WORKING WITH RICHARD HAWLEY. HAVE ALREADY SOLD THIS ITEM ON MY AMAZON SITE.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)