Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murder in the village
i really enjoyed this book by Alan Burridge,it's very rare that i find a book that keeps me hooked enough to the point of i never want to put my kindle down but this book did exactly that,if you like murder mysteries you will enjoy this book.
Published on 2 May 2012 by sarah21

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All a bit odd......
This book doesn't seem to know whether it's Mc Dermid or Christie. Partly cosy, village style murder - glossed over details so as not to upset the reader - and partly graphic sex 'n' violence full frontal murder - without any apparent point? I won't disclose the ending as it would spoil it for others but prepare to be a bit bemused!I did guess 'whodunnit' in the main...
Published on 20 Jun. 2012 by Carbo


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All a bit odd......, 20 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
This book doesn't seem to know whether it's Mc Dermid or Christie. Partly cosy, village style murder - glossed over details so as not to upset the reader - and partly graphic sex 'n' violence full frontal murder - without any apparent point? I won't disclose the ending as it would spoil it for others but prepare to be a bit bemused!I did guess 'whodunnit' in the main story though.
However, Burridge does a nice line in character building - you get to know the thoughts and feelings of the main protagonists well, and the book was easy to read, other than the usual Kindle issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mixed genre, 24 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
What this author needs is an editor. The solicitor starts with a black bob and then has an auburn ponytail, a policeman is a DS, then a DC, then a DS again. He too often loses his way and seems unsure whether he is writing a cosy mystery or a thriller. Using words out of context etc. All very irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OAPs, sex and violence - what a combo!, 4 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
I kept thinking there would be some black humour or irony behind this very mundane story (interspersed with geriatric sex and gratuitously graphic violence) but, alas, if there was, I was not able to see it. I read to the end in the hope that the denouement would be worth it - it wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Apostrophy nightmare, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
I did get fairly involved with this story, but the constant apostrophes in all the wrong places, virtually on every page, spoiled my enjoyment. There were other mistakes as well as another reviewer has pointed out. If the author had chosen surnames which didn't end in an S he might not have got into such a muddle over where to put the apostrophes. It really bugged me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murder in the village, 2 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
i really enjoyed this book by Alan Burridge,it's very rare that i find a book that keeps me hooked enough to the point of i never want to put my kindle down but this book did exactly that,if you like murder mysteries you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
At the start of the book I really got into it and really enjoyed the story, Here was Fred a pensioner doing gardens for the ladies when one was murdered then he was arrested but then released and the story carried on in a charming way. But then it became strange and went off on a tangent into a dark and evil way, leaving Fred out and other murders creeping into it which in my opinion were not relevant to the book and certainly not needed and to be honest I lost interest and just skimmed it to find out what happened at the end!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth reading!, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
Just about plausible storyline which then slides downhill. So many grammatical and spelling errors in the Kindle version that it was irritating to read - in fact I found I was just waiting to see what the next one was going to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Bearsden, Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
I love murder mysteries, but I felt this was ludicrously unbelievable; it also had masses of syntactical errors which should have been picked up by any editor worth their salt. I thought the characters were TOTALLY unbelievable, the plots implausible and the failure to resolve the murders of the undertaker family was as disappointing as the full gruesome details of the demise of the wife/mother and son stretched my imagination too far; a bit of a cop out, I felt. I'm not at all encouraged to read anything else by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but the grammatical errors drove me mad!, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
All in all not a bad premise and plot. However, the grammatical errors and incorrect use of apostrophes infuriated me. It appears that this book has not been proof read by anyone, as at one point it says that Grace was dressed for the funeral and it actually means Gwyneth, who is about to attend Grace 's funeral.

It also feels as though the writer got bored and decided to quickly wrap things up with an epilogue rather than finish the story properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does the proof-reader understand English punctuation?, 14 May 2012
By 
Cagey (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Village (Kindle Edition)
This book had a good basic plot but with a somewhat disappointing denouement.
However, it was riddled with appalling basic errors of grammar and punctuation which spoiled the flow of the reading.
The proof-reader (if not the author) really should get to grips with the use of the semicolon - if in doubt don't use it and definitely never before the word "and". Even the average greengrocer would be surprised by the regular misuse of the apostrophe.

There were also silly errors like the use of the wrong name (someone doing something when she had already been killed off) and someone with a fractured femur having his LOWER leg bandaged (!!). One should also point out that it is "one fell swoop" not "one fail swoop" and the table in a church is an altar not an alter. I could go on but you get the drift.

I'm afraid I won't be looking out for any more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder In The Village
Murder In The Village by Alan Burridge
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews