Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic persian tale of true love..., 6 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Layla and Majnun (Hardcover)
This book is sublime, I have never read any book in which there is so intense a description of love. Eric Clapton has quoted much of the poetry in his Layla and other assorted love songs - (Derek & the dominoes). It was this book which inspired him to compose this his best solo album!
This book is a classic, essential reading! The ideal gift for a lover...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that will touch the soul of every reader!, 21 April 2001
This review is from: Layla and Majnun (Hardcover)
This book has been well written and touched me deep within in my soul. The sheer beauty of the story brought tears to my eyes and l was hooked from the start and was unable to put it down until l had finished. Nizami was able to show the reader what true love was and what it can do to people when they are kept apart from each other! A must read for those who love Love itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 26 May 1999
By A Customer
I have owned a copy of this book since 1991 and I have read and re-read it many times. This is one of those rare books which get better each time you read it. This is the most moving and dramatic lovestory I have ever read and ever will read. Romeo and Juliet to the power of ten!! The emotions portrayed here are so intense and real. It is my advise to everybody to read this book and enjoy it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An epic like no other, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla and Majnun - The Classic Love Story of Persian Literature (Kindle Edition)
No lover knows what is love, to love, to be loved and to be consumed in the fire of love that consumes the self for the love for the beloved until they know the ecstasy of majnun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Middle Eastern Romeo & Juliet, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla and Majnun - The Classic Love Story of Persian Literature (Kindle Edition)
Good to read the full version.
My God what a pathetic (as in full of pathos) tale this is. Excellent translation.

I wonder if it would sell in modern condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Warming, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the best love story ever written. A powerful narration of love, love for oneself, love for the other, love for the beloved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Wrenching, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla and Majnun - The Classic Love Story of Persian Literature (Kindle Edition)
Based on a true story. The original Romeo and Juliet. More painful and sad. Keep tissues. Gives expression to unrequited love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla and Majnun - The Classic Love Story of Persian Literature (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this for kindle, it was a brilliant read and very mystical. The poetry often bought me to tears. The imagery was magical and enthralling. However, there were times when I felt the storyline was a little repetitive and long-winded.
Overall though, I would gladly recommend this book to those interested in love-stories and also to those interested in mysticism (which is hinted at within the book, as it was written by a Sufi). This book really takes you to a different world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just poetry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Layla and Majnun - The Classic Love Story of Persian Literature (Kindle Edition)
Great story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews