Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DARK SIDE
Harvey keitel's performance is simply outstanding, one of the most intense uncompromising & candid you will see from an actor in any given year. It's a travesty that keitel wasn't nominated for an Oscar for best actor that year. He dominates this film to such an extent that you don't even recall anybody elses appearance. An acting masterclass.
Published on 10 Nov 2008 by horne556

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad print.
I love this film and was delighted when I heard there was a Blu-Ray release on the way. Unfortunately it's rubbish. The print is ok and there are no scrathes or other image issues but it's really really dark! Some of the night scenes are unwatchable as you literally can't see the actors faces! I am into my home cinema so have my TV set up to be nice and bright and any...
Published on 9 May 2012 by Mr. Sean G. Norwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad print., 9 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [Blu-ray] [1992] (Blu-ray)
I love this film and was delighted when I heard there was a Blu-Ray release on the way. Unfortunately it's rubbish. The print is ok and there are no scrathes or other image issues but it's really really dark! Some of the night scenes are unwatchable as you literally can't see the actors faces! I am into my home cinema so have my TV set up to be nice and bright and any other films I have look great so it's not my TV. I have a DVD copy of this film and it is so much better, nice and bright and the night scenes are fine so it's definetly a problem with the BD version.
Very annoyed that this has turned out so bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DARK SIDE, 10 Nov 2008
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Harvey keitel's performance is simply outstanding, one of the most intense uncompromising & candid you will see from an actor in any given year. It's a travesty that keitel wasn't nominated for an Oscar for best actor that year. He dominates this film to such an extent that you don't even recall anybody elses appearance. An acting masterclass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a happy camper, 6 Sep 2008
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Harvey Keitel's Bad Lieutenant is a marvellously played piece of unpleasantness. He lacks any limits to his various appetites, all of which are combining to finish him off via a series of unpleasant to shocking episodes. The rape of a young nun by two youths and his own problems with a bookie combine to expose his emptiness which, since he is (well, claims to be) Roman Catholic is undoubtedly Jesus' problem. That episode (I'll not spoil the plot) is particularly affecting. The downside with Bad Lieutenant is that it is a total downer. But Keitel is astonishing as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Redemption?, 24 July 2008
By 
Mr. G. C. Stone "mgcs" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Sometimes your need to explore the bad. Not sugar coat it, not make it all-right-in-the-end feelgood hollywood crowd-pleasing, but take a character and a situation and follow them both through to their rightful conclusion. And make no mistake, this is totally about badness - Keitel's character is as corrupted to the core as a human being can be. And we witness it all close up. But can someone like him be ultimately redeemed? I'll leave you to find out. Be prepared to be shocked, to witness total corruption and despair, and to witness one of the best performances an actor can give. This film will take you way beyond your comfort zone - but is a tour de force of vital, raw cinema. I still shudder now when recalling it and how I felt at the ending. It doesn't come much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, compelling and you'll feel like you need a shower., 19 Feb 2011
By 
L. Norris (southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Bad Lieutenant was for me at the bottom of a long list of films to watch for quite sometime, i'd seen Ferrara's debut feature, The Driller Killer and was rather disappointed.

Now I have thankfully watching this teriffic film about Catholic guilt and redemption.

Many people have complained about the extreme nature of the film, but without this the huge contrast needed would have been lost. that said, it can be a difficult watch and you will probably feel a little dirty after watching it.

Harvey Keitel gives a superb performance as the title character, he is very raw and very emotional, drawing you in uncomfortably close to his world. but you can't help but feel at times that he is some level above the abilities of the rest of the cast, not that they are bad, it's just the raw power of Keitel's performance does tend to overshadow his supporting cast.

Ferarra's direction is typically raw, sometimes feeling a little sloppy, as the story does have a tendency to wander, although it all draws together by the end and your not left wondering what a scene was all about, the roughness of the film does lend it a certain realism and has an ability to be more personal that often gets lost in bigger budget productions.

I won't bother going into the details of the story, some of the other reviews and the Amazon synopsis have covered that.

In closing, this is an amazingly powerful and personal film from Ferrara, exploring his own life and feelings of guilt growing up in a catholic neighbourhood, with some great performances all round, but due to the nature of some of the content it unfortunately won't be for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explicit, grim portrayal of human disintegration..., 3 Jan 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Keitel turns in what might be his best-ever performance in this monstrously ugly tale of moral corruption. There's no easy moment in the 90 minutes of this film. It veers from bad to worse to despair, charting the downfall of a corrupt cop who revels in every addiction going.
Watching Bad Lieutenant wasn't an entirely enjoyable experience -- although the film-making is to be applauded alongside Keitel's jaw-dropping depiction of a man on the brink. The spiral into awfulness makes for grim viewing, however. It's also one of those films with a paper-thin plot: the action is almost entirely character driven and bounces from one isolated scene to another with little to connect them apart from the self-destructive urges of the central character. The filming is remarkable, too, full of murky stairwells. peeling paint and dark corridors shot in a realistic manner. Sometimes, though, the viewer isn't entirely sure what is real and what is an hallucination.

UK viewers may struggle a little to understand what's going on with the baseball games (and these form a core of the story as they are what the cop is gambling on). You shoudl also check that you're getting a modern DVD with the extras and full-screen film. We saw an older version and had to watch it shrunk within goalposts, and the sound quality was desperate on that version.

Not nice in the slightest, but very impressive film-making.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, Keitel's best ever work, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Richard Punter (Havelock North, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [Blu-ray] [1992] (Blu-ray)
This is one of those movies that - for me at least - becomes so intense - at times its almost unwatchable. Keitel's portrait of a man destroying himself, and the inevitability of his passage down the "slippery slope" of depravity, where he leaves no stone unturned in his efforts to distract himself from confronting what he has become, is astonishing. How he is finally brought to this confrontation ........ you need to see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morally bankrupt, 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant (Collector) (DVD)
Not the easiest film to watch, certainly lacking any feel good factor, but nevertheless an outstanding performance from Harvey Keitel.

Keitel is a burnt out police lieutenant who has lost all sense of decency. He snorts stolen drugs, is a voyeur, sexual predator of teenage girls, and in fact is dedicated to abusing his position at every opportunity. The character is void of any redeeming features, and as a viewer my only emotion was one of distaste.
Eventually his luck runs out when he is unable to deliver on a contract with local mobsters, but it is impossible to feel any sympathy.

While the content is grim, Keitel's acting has to be praised for his utterly convincing portrayal of a character beyond redemption.
It was not entirely enjoyable, but certainly gripping and as such I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 8 Mar 2014
By 
A. F. Wallace "Grandad" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [Blu-ray] [1992] (Blu-ray)
I am no prude but I found this film disturbing, especially the rape of a young nun. It shows humanity in it's lowest form. I usually enjoy Harvey Keitel films but there was nothing in this film to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uncut, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Lieutenant [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
i have checked on the bbfc website and this is the uncut version of one of the best films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Lieutenant [Blu-ray] [1992]
Bad Lieutenant [Blu-ray] [1992] by Abel Ferrara (Blu-ray - 2012)
6.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews