Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History repeating itself........
The first issue here is over the name of the book, It is NOT `Bitter Lemons of Cyprus'; it was published as `Bitter Lemons', and that title has far more contextual meaning. Lemons are bitter sweet, and that defines Durrell's relationship with Cyprus, his village, the villagers and indeed the UK, which he generally referred to as Pudding Island. I will declare an...
Published on 19 May 2007 by A. H. Franks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money
Good condition .very pleased
Published 3 hours ago by Mrs.Sara Baggott


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History repeating itself........, 19 May 2007
The first issue here is over the name of the book, It is NOT `Bitter Lemons of Cyprus'; it was published as `Bitter Lemons', and that title has far more contextual meaning. Lemons are bitter sweet, and that defines Durrell's relationship with Cyprus, his village, the villagers and indeed the UK, which he generally referred to as Pudding Island. I will declare an interest: I adore Cyprus; this book was a main reason for me to visit, and subsequently, some 20 years ago we bought an arty house in a beautiful village. We have spent eight years living amongst some of the most generous, open and warm-hearted people on earth. This rings out from Durrell's book too. His descriptions are precise, accurate, affectionate and objective. In parallel with his attempts to make a home in the fabulously arty and beautiful village of Bellapaix, we watch in horror as the strategic political hypocrisies and cynicism play out at courtyard level. This era of Mediterranean history is not without shame for all the actors involved in it, and the victims are invariably the individuals caught up in the dangerous world of international politics mixed with nationalism, fear and misunderstandings; made the more dangerous by external meddling. Sounds horribly familiar to events elsewhere in the world, thereby proving that those who do not learn from the mistakes of history are condemned to repeat them. This book is a salutary lesson of the problems faced not only in buying a house in a foreign country, but also the problems of buying acceptance into a foreign culture, and inevitably the tragic price of failure. Bitter sweet. Bitter Lemons, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars v good, 5 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Edward Gregory "Ed G" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting read describing life in N Cyprus at a pragticularly difficult time in its history. Vivid word pictures of local populace, of terrain and of life in the area at the time. Recommended for anyone with an interest in social history, travel, life in the 50s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Mayle and Mayes came Durrell., 22 Jun 2001
Forget all those insipid Peter Mayle books and the myriad imitations that they spawned. This is the real thing; a book about settling in a new country, buying a house (the funniest chapter in the book) and the slow realisation that, politically, the situation is becoming untenable. Bitter Lemons, which starts off so optimistically, is a sad commentary on the inability of people to get along with each other. Take this book away with you this summer and Mr Durrell's unique ability to evoke the Spirit of Place (see his collected letters) will stay with you and haunt you long after you return home from your tame Greek beach holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Jun 2004
I bought this book to read on holiday and i am glad i did. I was actually in cyprus when i read it. The characters are brilliant and to think they were real. The episode where he is buying the house is hilarious,i found myself reading faster and faster as the sale got more fast and furious. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of two cultures, 3 Feb 2007
By 
Dr. E. Korusoy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hope, discovery, humour, tragedy and greed are portrayed with great literary skill in a captivating and very readable style in this excellent non-fictional story. Although easy to miss among the miriad of wonderful characters brought to life by Durell, there are some very real political undertones in comparisons with Crete and the description of the Greek revolt against British rule in the 1950s. The book implies that, in an attempt to keep hold of control over the island, Britain exploited the soured relationship between Greece and Turkey to set up a federation in 1960 that it knew would remain divided and in need of constant British involvement. Those familiar with the later tragic consequences in 1963 and 1974 will lament the the divide and rule policy of a dying British empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very human background to the EOKA uprising in Cyprus, 22 April 2013
By 
Jay R (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (Kindle Edition)
I recently spent a week in Kyrenia and this book was recommended to me several times on the first day as background reading. Downloading it that evening, I read it with great pleasure and some surprise over the next few days. My image of the man was previously that of the effete older brother that Gerald Durrell portrayed as 'Larry' in 'My Family and Other Animals'. The person that comes over in this book is very different. He is observant and entertaining, with a lovely (if a little dated) turn of phrase. While the book is essentially autobiographical about his three years living in Bellapais in the early 1950's, through his friendships with a wide range of amusing local characters we get the background to the EOKA uprising which broke out against the British in 1955. The book clearly draws heavily on his notes made at the time and was published only two or three years later. It gives a very real impression of an unwilling uprising born of frustration that could have been resolved at a local level but became unmanageable once it became an international issue. In that sense it is a sad but very human book. Forty-three years ago I served as part of the United Nations Force in Cyprus - some time after the Eoka uprising. I wish I had known to read the book then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I ever read., 13 Sep 2010
By 
J.M. Tissot van Patot (Rotterdam, Nederland) - See all my reviews
This is one of the most inspiring books I ever read. I loved it cover to cover. This one and "Esprit the corps" are really funny at places, but also moving tales of living in other cultures. The tragic history of modern Cyprus is an alarming background of this very personal tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 11 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been to North Cyprus several times as I have family there, when visiting Bellapais, everyone makes a big thing about Laurence Durrell and his book, and yet probably, most people (like me)have never heard of him or the book,so I decided I must read it. I could not put it down, it is rich in description, and because I am familiar with the areas he talks about, it transports me there.I do not know if you would read or appreciate the book if you had not visited this beautiful island which has had so much tragic history, but if you are planning going, read the book or take it with you, and read it while sitting with your coffee, in the shadow of Bellapais Monastary.
one more thing, the house buying process has not changed much in 50 years!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry in Motion, 4 Mar 2010
By 
First and foremost Durrell was a great poet. When he writes, this leads to a wonderfully descripitive use of words.The language embraces the subject matter and what flows from his pen is nothing short of poetic imagery. You get the feeling of being there with him, drinking Raki with the locals, driving along the coastal roads, stopping at an ancient ruin and listening to it speak of its glorious past.

As the country shakes off the colonial shackles and fights for its freedom, Durrell caught in the middle, shares the pain of the locals and struggles with the inept British administration he has become a part of.
Durrell loved Cyprus and its people, as he did the Greeks and their lands in general. Reading this book will transform you into his and their lives and you will be enriched by the experience.

Bitter Lemons of Cyprus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bitter Lemons of Cyprus, 13 Feb 2009
By 
T. Stonehouse - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lawrence Durrell's personal account of Cyprus during the troubled period leading up to independence is fascinating. It throws a great deal of light on the complex problems surrounding Cyprus's emergence from colonial status, even if, in his anxiety to include all the essential issues, in one chapter the author lapses into a rather tedious "listy" style. The vast majority of his book is, however, an excellent read and the descriptions of characters Durrel met and worked with are wonderfully informative and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bitter Lemons of Cyprus
Bitter Lemons of Cyprus by Lawrence Durrell
£4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews