Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant story
I really enjoyed this story - the USS Walker is an old World War one era four stack destroyer with the Pacific fleet in World War Two. Its 1942 and allied forces are being pushed back by the Japanese. The USS Walker is under attack and being pursued by a large Japanese force so hides in a squall, but this takes the ship and its crew to an alternative Earth where their are...
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by SJ SMART

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alternate history - half good, half mediocre
Synopsis: Jave Sea, 1942, and while engaged in one of the real battles of this period, an American four-stacker sails through a time portal and winds up in an alternate world, where they land in yet another war. They are forced to choose sides, and to try and replenish their dwindling stores of everything; but at least they have technological advantage!

My...
Published on 15 Nov 2009 by Henk Beentje


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant story, 25 Feb 2009
By 
SJ SMART "Smartie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this story - the USS Walker is an old World War one era four stack destroyer with the Pacific fleet in World War Two. Its 1942 and allied forces are being pushed back by the Japanese. The USS Walker is under attack and being pursued by a large Japanese force so hides in a squall, but this takes the ship and its crew to an alternative Earth where their are no humans but two races at war, (and a sea full of huge prehistoric beasts.) The Crew take sides and help fight, and even though their ship is old and out of date in 1942 is better than anything in this alternative world where their are no engines, machines or guns. Just sailing ships, crossbows and swords.

This is the beginning of a very promising series. If you like S M Stirlings or John Birminghams books you will like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and different, 14 Feb 2010
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow. What a different story!

The attention to detail and historical accuracy really helps the tale jog along.

Set in world war 2, the crew of a 4 stack destroyer enter an alternate earth that has evolved somewhat differently. Having watched Avatar, I now have a mental image of those aliens as The People from the Destroyermen series.
Although there are never really any big surprises in the book, it's well written and pacey with a different view on the world and really does do character development.

I've written this review having read the three available books in the saga - I had to import book 3 from the US as it's not available here and can't wait for the next one.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 16 April 2009
By 
G. Fergus "jollyjambo" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes it has been done before but the quality of the writing and an obvious love of the subject matter by the Author lifts this way above average. As well as being a cracking adventure story the book introduces you to an aspect of the Pacific Naval War during the early part of WW2 that is extremely interesting and I had previously been unaware of. Educational,entertaining and a great read. I look forward to reading the sequels in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice twist in the world of fantasy, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This felt a very fresh take on fantasy writing or perhaps a fresh take on World War navy action?

The story

An obsolete and outgunned '4 stack' destroyer is fleeing for it's crews survival from a Japanese fleet. In a bid to escape they steer into a storm and seemingly evade danger, only the world they knew before the storm has undergone some drastic changes when they emerge from it and now their obselete ship may be the most powerful weapon on the planet.

What follows did feel very original but at the same time had a definate early star trek feel, as the crew find friends and enemies, and a good old scrap!

The Writing
It's good and played with a very straight bat, so that it feels really like a historical 'Reeman' type book but with monsters. There is a large and convincing cast list, which was initially a bit befuddling but was dropping into place come the end.

Perhaps the writing could have been a bit more tongue in cheek as we are essentially talking fighting lizard men here but did not stop me enjoying the story. My only other critisism is that Bradford the ship's Aussie sounded nothing like any other Aussie I have ever heard and was a bit like having a character played by Dick Van Dyke but I am splitting hairs now!

Should you read it?

Well judging by all these glowing reviews Yes! I certainly enjoyed it and would also like, as a Brit, to ackowledge the little homage to HMS Exeter at the start of the story.

The authors knowledge and enthusiasm for the navy gives this a grounded and authentic base on which I'm sure the series is able to build. So I have ordered part 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strangely good !, 13 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this would be a bit cheesey but how wrong i was , its very well written and i could not put it down .
I highly reccomend this if you are into naval fiction or sci-fi .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alternate history - half good, half mediocre, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Synopsis: Jave Sea, 1942, and while engaged in one of the real battles of this period, an American four-stacker sails through a time portal and winds up in an alternate world, where they land in yet another war. They are forced to choose sides, and to try and replenish their dwindling stores of everything; but at least they have technological advantage!

My opinion: half the book is pretty good - the Navy part, and the personalities involved (and I include USS Walker here!) are engaging. But the aliens, or alternate world races, are so basic that it made me feel the author consulted his 13-year old daughter to make them up. And that is where the book falls down for me; I like the premise, and the author certainly can write, but half his players are feeble. Pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blown out of the water, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd heard about this series before I picked up the first book, but had little idea what to expect. Once I started reading, I was swept up in the book. I fell in love with the cast, all of whom had very distinctive personalities and traits, and with the real main character, the Walker herself.
I can't wait to read more, and to find out more about this world, and to follow the characters as they explore further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars husband loves it, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is one of the first books in the destroyermen series that i bought for my husband he loved the book and i bought he more in the series he checks to see now as often as possible if any new ones have been added
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant read, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The concept of other versions of our world existing side-by-side with ours is one much loved by science-fiction and fantasy writers - think Philip Pullman's trilogy and S.M. Stirling's "Conquistador". In this case, an obsolete WW1 US destroyer, fleeing from a vastly superior Japanese force in the aftermath of Pearl Harbor, goes into a squall and emerges in the same world geographically speaking, but different in that evolution has taken an entirely different course. There are no humans, but there are other species, and they are at war. What should our heroes do?

This, the first book in a series, is an enjoyable opener. It starts to creak and groan a bit at the seams as the improbabilities mount (e.g., the obtaining of fuel for such a ship in a world which doesn't use oil). And of course they just happen to have on board the right people for (a) scientific/engineering expertise and (b) romantic interest. And a Catalina flying boat!

Will I buy more? Hmmmmmm...really not sure....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived very quickly, was listed as read but from the quality you couldn't tell, it looked band new. best purchase ever made on Amazon. would recommend to everyone and anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews