Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
10
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2016
This is one of those Doctor Who novels that opts to focus heavily upon government agencies and military organisations that investigate alien activity and seek to utilise alien technology. Hence there is plenty of conspiracy with various parties pursuing their own secret, shady agendas during an alien invasion.

Much of the same ingredients are used in ‘The Devil Goblins from Neptune’, co-written by the author of ‘The King of Terror’ and featuring some of the same characters. Most of the themes and much of the subject matter are also quite similar without any worthwhile development. It is more of a case of repeat rather than continuation.

The Doctor has a relatively minor role. Rather than being a Doctor Who story this feels more like a Doctor Who spinoff where the Doctor makes the occasional appearance. When he is featured, the characterisation of the Fifth Doctor is usually quite off and really doesn’t capture his nuances.

Tegan and Turlough are both shoved off into subplots of their own with mixed results. Tegan is reasonably characterised and receives a reasonable storyline which actually develops her a bit, but the whole romance she is given doesn’t quite ring true. The author doesn’t seem to have much of a role for Turlough other than to leave him imprisoned and tortured. Although this ‘experimenting’ on him serves a minor role in the plot it is far too dominant and often unnecessarily gratuitous.

Being a novel that inevitably features UNIT (considering the subject and style) the Brigadier also plays a role in events. He is much better characterised than the others based on onscreen characters. Mainly this is the Brigadier post ‘Mawdryn Undead’ and, possibly, the spinoff ‘Downtime’. However, there is also an ancient over one hundred and twenty year old version of him that appears for no real apparent reason.

There is a lot of time in the novel, especially earlier, that is devoted to pointlessly following around a few characters (mainly Paynter and Barrington and a group of cultish, drop out ‘terrorists’). None of these sequences are that interesting, are quite drawn out and often not that relevant to the overall plot.

The story takes a while to get going. It develops into something a little more intriguing when it becomes about two alien races threatening to invade the Earth, one pledged to destroying the other. This does make the resolution to the story feel all a little bit too convenient, a touch predictable and, at times, farcical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
Keith Topping's "The King Of Terror" is a good book, but it is not without it's problems.
The Fifth Doctor with companions Tegan and Turlough head to Los Angeles at the request of the Brigadier who suspects that a multimedia company are up to no good. Through in a band of terrorists and the prophecies of Nostradamus and the result is a quality book.
The plot is very good, even if the powerful company threatening world safety is an idea oft used in Doctor Who novels. Topping begins the novel with a couple of UNIT members, Paytner and Barrington, who seem very uncharacteristic of a Doctor Who novel and are a welcome inclusion. Both characters have strong characterisation which makes both of them likeable.
The regular characters fair well mostly. The Brigadier is in top form, although his appearance doesn't seem long enough. Turlough has some nasty surprises in store for him and Tegan is as fiery as ever. The main problem is that Topping hasn't quite got the Fifth Doctor's character right. It's fine at the beginning of the book but somewhere around the middle the character starts to slip and this results in some uncharacteristic behaviour.
Overall, "The King Of Terror" is a good, solid novel. It's first hundred pages or so are fantastic and kept me reading well into the early hours of the morning. But the last hundred and fify pages aren't as good, and the lapse led to me loosing interest in the plot. That said, the plot is good with waring aliens being at the heart of events. It moves along quickly but I felt the ending was a bit of an anticlimax. "The King Of Terror" is a good book, but it's not as good as "The Hollow Men" which Topping co-wrote with Martin Day as it fails to maintain the quality of the first hundred pages.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2001
Lust, vengence, corruption and greed. King of Terror has it all. A wonderfully sexy and dangerous mixture of spy story realism, technophobia and buddy-cop comedy, this is a novel that will make you laugh and laugh and laugh and then suddenly pull the rug from under you by killing a character you really liked. Topping's a star!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
The King of Terror features the Fifth Doctor, Tegan, Turlough, The Brigadier and UNIT. And is a very good read but I think that Tegan, who is my favourite companion, wouldn't say some of the things she says here. I also think that Turlough doesn't come of very well in this novel. Its a good book and I would recommend it but I feel that some people would be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2000
Dr Who Books 2000 releases come to and end with a highly solid read from Keith Topping, whose previous works were just as good as this. Characterisation and plot work very well together and the end result works very well indeed. Often laugh out loud funny, with a lot to please the casual fan. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2002
Didn't expect much from this one having read a couple of online reviews..This was really good - rattled along at a fair old pace with an international espionage plot and lots of aliens. I particularly liked the last couple of chapters where the author got all self-reflective and introverted. That showed a depth to the writing I hadn't expected. On the strength of this novel, I also picked up The Hollow Men by the same author and a co-writer which is, if anything, even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2007
I was very, very disappointed with this book, having thoroughly enjoyed Devil Goblins From Neptune, which the author co-wrote. The TARDIS crew are all but unrecognisable from their TV selves, the plot while moving in a straight line to a conclusion, is resolved with barely any involvement from the main characters, and the density of in-jokes and continuity references is wearing.

And the proseis stilted. Desperatly stilted. And with some of the worst dialouge I've ever see in a tie-in novel (which is saying something).

A real shame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2001
Oh, this is simply woeful! I won't bore anyone with details, but this is a dreadful 'Doctor Who' novel.
Keith Topping's writing is fine, so it's not his prose that's at fault here. It's the simple fact that the series regulars (Fifth Doctor, Tegan and Turlough) are surplus to requirements throughout the novel.
Turlough gets kidnapped early on and spends his time out of the action, while Tegan wanders around not doing much other than being slapped in the face by a UNIT soldier and constantly moaning that he's a git - shortly before kissing him?!?
The character who comes out worst in this novel though is the Doctor himself. Consistantly regarded as a weak, ineffectual Doctor on TV, the Fifth incarnation does absolutely *nothing* in this book. *Nothing*.
Until we get to the very end, where the Doctor, in a sudden burst of inspiration, says 'Oh, let's do this to defeat the alien menace!'. Needless to say (and without spoiling the book too much for anyone who hasn't read it), the aliens don't stand a chance against the Doctor's genius.
If only he'd struck upon his cunning plan in Chapter 1 - I might have been spared the rest of the novel...
I enjoyed 'Devil Goblins from Neptune', but this one just didn't work for me. Better luck next time, Keith - I'm already looking forward to 'Byzantium!' despite my adverse reaction to this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
The best Doctor Who novel I've read. Doctor Who for older readers. Much older in my case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2002
UMMM - what's going on with this novel? now, i'm a big fan of the fifth doctor and tegan especially, but i'm afraid this story lost me - well, not lost me exactly, more kind of sent me up blind allies - i'm sure i'm missing something, but what's the deal with keith topping and these beatles that are clearly not OUR beatles? i apologise if i'm being dense and if it has some deep significance, but i seem to remember a similar mention in DEVIL GOBLINS FROM NEPTUNE - the other burning question (and, again, i'm sorry if i missed it) is who the hell was the rock star and how did he know tegan? as he deserved a mention on the back cover of the book i kind of expected him to play a major part in the plot - i'm afraid this is one novel that i finished and could not really remember what happened!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.