Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orchestral Jazz by the John Wilson Orchestra
John Wilson leads an orchestra that has revived big band music in the U.K. Of course, it has never died amongst its followers and bands like that of Syd Lawrence, directed by Chris Dean after Lawrence's death; and the Ted Heath band which continued to perform under the direction of Ralph Dollimore, Stan Reynolds and Roland Shaw for several decades after Heath's death,...
Published on 28 Sept. 2012 by Dr. H. A. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quiet moments
Didn't know what to expect, a little disappointed as expected more upbeat jazzy music
Published 3 days ago by KayP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orchestral Jazz by the John Wilson Orchestra, 28 Sept. 2012
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
John Wilson leads an orchestra that has revived big band music in the U.K. Of course, it has never died amongst its followers and bands like that of Syd Lawrence, directed by Chris Dean after Lawrence's death; and the Ted Heath band which continued to perform under the direction of Ralph Dollimore, Stan Reynolds and Roland Shaw for several decades after Heath's death, have kept the music alive. But John Wilson has achieved an even wider following over the past couple of decades and especially since his performance of the music of Broadway and Hollywood at the BBC Promenade concerts.

Here, the John Wilson orchestra perform tunes from shows and movies and from Tin Pan Alley with arrangements by Richard Rodney Bennett, Neil Richardson, and himself. It's an innovative selection of 15 tunes, many given a more extended `concert performance' treatment than usual on big band records. This is the orchestra's second album and continues the reputation for excellent instrumental playing and fresh-sounding arrangements.

Rodgers & Hammerstein at the Movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz With A Difference, 28 Jan. 2008
By 
Tony R. (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
As with all of John Wilson's recordings the playing is excellent as are the arrangements,although on this recording some of Sir Richard Rodney Bennett's arrangements are a little on the slow side but well worth a listen.If you like this CD try the rest of John Wilson's recordings I don't think that you will be dissapointed.
T.R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Music, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchestral Jazz (MP3 Download)
If you like melodic tunes well played and arrangements that are classy then you will love this CD. I would say that this is Easy Listening music with a hint of jazz but is none the worse for it. Just turn down the lights, put your feet up and a glass of wine by your side and enjoy yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music played by great musicians, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
IanW (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchestral Jazz (MP3 Download)
I first saw the John Wilson orchestra, which is a mixture of a symphony orchestra and a big band, on the BBC Proms in 2011, and was really impressed; I saw them again in 2012 and was equally impressed.
John Wison's enthusiasm for what he is doing is obvious, and this is shared by the orchestra; the musicians always seem to be having a great time, which is reflected in the sound they produce.
The fifteen tracks on the "Orhestral Jazz" album are classic easy listening tunes, with a jazz/swing arrangement, brilliantly played and recorded. The fourteen tracks on the "That's entertainment" album are classic musical tunes, given the John Wilson arrangement, equally brilliant.
John Wilson produces a unique sound that is easy to listen to. I don't know why it took me so long to download hese albums, but I'm really pleased I did; I haven't stopped playing them since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quiet moments, 28 Mar. 2015
By 
KayP (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't know what to expect, a little disappointed as expected more upbeat jazzy music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD as usual from John Wilson Orchestra. Alex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orchestral Jazz
Orchestral Jazz by The John Wilson Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews