Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly amazing...
i love all of Shinedowns Albums and this amaryllis one is very different compared, but its awesome! Theres a great combination of heavy rock and more lighter rock almost ballad sounding songs :)Its just incredible!! thats all i can say!
Published on 6 April 2012 by amaryllislover

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Daffodillis
This cements Shinedown's full transition into the realms of american post-grunge MOR, radio-friendly pop-rock (bit of a mouthful, granted). They were always headed this way as their grungier debut heralded but there was always the chance that they could exist in that particular arena while still producing slightly left-field tracks. 2008's Sound of Madness managed this...
Published on 19 April 2012 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly amazing..., 6 April 2012
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
i love all of Shinedowns Albums and this amaryllis one is very different compared, but its awesome! Theres a great combination of heavy rock and more lighter rock almost ballad sounding songs :)Its just incredible!! thats all i can say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best album ever?, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
This album is I think absolutely brilliant, I do prefer their slower songs on this album but maybe that's just me and maybe when my mood changes I'll go for a different song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit different for Shinedown, 3 April 2012
By 
LaLaLottieR (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
I've all of Shinedown's albums and their first 2 albums are more heavy and then you've The Sound of Madness which is a mix of heavy rock, to what I call southern rock. As for Amaryllis, it's more southern rock...or just rock. Does this make sense?

It's not a negative thought though, because I really like all the songs and the lyrics and the main thing for me is this isn't samey samey like some bands often can be. It's another unique album for Shinedown, which very new tunes and I again have full appreciation of Brent's vocals.

The last song on the album, Through the ghost, is probably my favourite. And then I like I'm not Alright, Bully and My Name.

We saw these live in February too (for the second time in the UK) and they were awesome and played a few of their new songs of the new album. They're just an awesome band, my most favourite and would recommend this album for any Shinedown fan and any other rock fan too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, 3 April 2012
By 
M. Dench (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
It may have been four years since the last album but it is well worth the wait. The album is brilliant from start to finish every single track is good, really good. I haven't stopped listening since it arrived!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin, 3 April 2012
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
After listening to the last offering The Sound of Madness and wearing out the CD . ( yes it is possible)
the long wait for Shinedowns 4th Album was over . The Cd was placed in the CD drawer and play was pressed
warning to self should of turn the volume down a bit as it nearlly took the windows out

well after a week of contant plays may be due another copy its good which is what i expected maybe a little commercial but has some good hook lines and there will probablly be a string of singles of the back of the Album
and no dought a load more Gold and Multi Platinum awards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not stripped enough, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
Like many people i have been looking foward to this album for a long time. In reality and like other reviewers have said to follow up on an album like the sound of madness is an extremely difficult thing to do. Fot me this is a good album and worth listening to, i have only listened to the album through once and there is a handful of good songs and a few im sure will grow on me. I kind of feel that many of the songs sound as though they have had too many instruments thrown into them and it kinda clogs up brent smiths powerful voice and just becomes noise, i would of loved for there to have been more songs on the album like "miracle" where the instrumental is basic piano and brents voice can come through. There are good songs on here though and its well worth a listen its just sometimes the best songs are the ones stripped back with just some basic acoustic guitar or some piano and im kinda hoping theres a list of studio songs that didnt make it onto the album that we will get to hear at some point and that they will sound more like "simple man" or "call me".

Worth checking out though and i still enjoyed it very much, money well spent! Look out for miracle, i'll follow you, for my sake and in my opinion enemies.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Daffodillis, 19 April 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
This cements Shinedown's full transition into the realms of american post-grunge MOR, radio-friendly pop-rock (bit of a mouthful, granted). They were always headed this way as their grungier debut heralded but there was always the chance that they could exist in that particular arena while still producing slightly left-field tracks. 2008's Sound of Madness managed this perfectly. It had radio-friendly, spangly, acoustic power-ballads that lay next to crushing, iconic anthems like the astonishing title track. And nothing seemed out of place. There's nothing wrong with making music for the masses but it just seems that they did it with a little more integrity on previous releases, with emphasis on decent songwriting over clipped track length. And, no, tacked-on swearing for no real reason does not an edgy album make.

That said, Amarallyis is not at all a bad album. In fact its new design makes for rather pleasant listening. The real problem lies with the strength of the songs. There are some absolute belters on here but only on the first half. There is nothing bad as such on the rest of the album but nothing that truly grabs the attention or is as exhilirating as much as say 'Devour' or as epic or moving as 'In Memory' and 'All I Ever Wanted'.

Openers 'Adrenaline' and 'Bully' are ostensibly the same song. They are both rollicking rockers chock-full of hooks and great choruses, but were crafted for the obvious reason of being singles (well at least 'Bully'). And that's no bad thing in a way as they are both fantastic. The title track is not a patch on the one from Sound of Madness but it is still a very good track. It is more of a ballad, played acoustically and rising to the usual emotional crescendo. 'Unity' sounds like it will end up on a BT advert at some time in the future. Hooks and soaring choruses aplenty vie for space amidst the crystal production. I jest but it really is a great song too. 'Enemies' is where it all gets a bit 'ordinary'. It's quite upbeat and has a pounding, rhythmic chorus but sounds like a track-by-numbers machine wrote it. A little anaemic. 'I'm Not Alright' is similar in tone but actually miles better as the chorus is staggeringly catchy and foot-tappingly addictive. It almost sounds like a Britpop anthem resurrected (almost).

'Nowhere Kids' is another Shinedown bread and butter track. It's very good but you will probably have heard it before. 'Miracle' is similar but does have a stronger chorus. It's a ballad and they usually do these well. 'I'll Follow You' is again very good, a cross between a ballad and a mid-paced rocker but is lacking a spark to rise it to higher status. Ditto 'For My Sake' and 'My name'. Both ok, both not particularly memorable. Closer, 'Through the Gost' is much better and ends on a sombre high at least. It sounds like the Shinedown from previous albums, forging ahead with a song that is both mainstream, intelligent and moving. Hopefully this is a sign of the direction they may take on their next album a few years down the line? We'll see.

Not bad. Not as good as they have been but worthy enough for a listen as there are a handful of great tracks here. And actually it would be a pretty good place to start if you are new to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Radio Rock Solid, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
This is an album which lacks both the energy and emotional power synonymous with some of Shinedown's earlier work. It has its high moments (the title track in particular, with some beautiful strings and solos throughout) but much of the album is mired in radio friendly rock, which in itself isn't a bad thing, but it is a shame that the intensity is toned down somewhat in comparison to earlier albums. Brett's voice is still fantastic and the music is enjoyable to listen to on the whole, but it's not a knockout blow that their previous albums have been.

It's a bit similar to Rise Against's latest offerings in all honesty, which isn't exactly the best praise I can offer. Worth a listen all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 April 2012
By 
Mr. R. Harper "StThrobber" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
I first heard of this band after seeing the video for Second Chance on one of the music channels and bought the Sound of Madness and loved it from the word go. I thought the album had energy, vibrancy and great songs.

I've read comparisons with Nickelback and they're not far wide of the mark. When I first heard Daughtry I thought they were Nickelback and now with this album, it's almost as if bands are producing formulaic radio friendly albums which will appeal to the mass American market.

Having said that, the songs are nicely structured and well produced, and maybe that's this album's problem, the album lacks energy and is everything that Sound of Madness isn't.

If you've not bought a Shinedown album before, avoid this one and get The Sound of Madness instead. If you like bland, mid tempo songs that are, well, quite nice, then get this one.

I am disappointed by this offering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not their best..., 27 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amaryllis (Audio CD)
"Amaryllis" is the fourth studio album from American rockers Shinedown which although showcasing all the traditional hard rock and sweeping ballads the band have become known for, there's something not quite right with it.
Now don't get me wrong, this is not a bad record, but as a follow up to what was in my opinion one of the best hard rock records of the past ten years in "The Sound Of Madness" this record falls painstakingly short of that level.

Lead single "Bully" although commercially successful stateside is probably their weakest single overall and noisy rockers "Adrenaline" and "Enemies" don't endear themselves too well either.
It's very much a mixed bag; the strongest songs on here are the slower, toned down numbers, especially title track "Amaryllis," single candidate "Miracle" and power ballad "I'll Follow You."

If I was trying to summarise my problem with "Amaryllis" then it would be that I think it just feels forced, almost too rushed.
Too many of the songs feel like the band are trying to get fans out of their seat from the very first listen and it just doesn't work.
Singer Brent Smith said in the build up to this record that "Amaryllis" is the "centrepiece of what Shinedown is" but that statement doesn't ring true for me.
It has grown on me the more I have listened to it, but I cannot escape the fact that it simply isn't as good as any of their previous three studio albums.

That said however, it has its enjoyable moments but I cannot give it four or five stars because their previous work has been far superior.
Taking everything into consideration, "Amaryllis" stands tall on it's own as a decent hard rock record and I expect it to sell very well, no doubt about that.
But therein lies the problem, it is just "decent," nothing spectacular.
There's no crossover hit here like "Second Chance," no rocker as strong as "Devour."

If you're a fan of the band then I strongly recommend this record, but if you're new to Shinedown you'd be best advised to check out their earlier material first before listening to "Amaryllis."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amaryllis
Amaryllis by Shinedown (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews