Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2007
nigel watson should have enormous thanks for persuadeing peter green to pick up the guitar again.such a shame the splinter group never lasted as long as it should have.from start to finish,this dvd is awesome.split in to sets,acoustic and electric,each has some great tracks-both from the splinter group and fleetwood mac catologue.this concert is from 2003,not sure if it early on in their career,but at times peter looks very nervous this may well have been his natural persona,who knows?,but a terrfic performance all the same.fave tracks on this?from acoustic set,has to be albatross(still a lovely track),hitch hiking woman,sweet home chicago,from electric set-i believe my time aint long,little red rooster,man of the world(as instrumental)green manalishi,need your love so bad(one verse taken by nigel,other by peter,absolutely beautiful version,best ever live version i've heard yet)also what is nice,is some great harmonica from peter,his abilty of which,a lot of people may not know of.basicalley if you buy one peter green/fleetwood mac item,make it this.you will love it!!!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
Two good concerts, one acoustic and one electric.
And some interview of Peter Green and Nigel Watson ,
( Nigel being the main guitar player of this band-
And a good one).
Peter Green staying in the shade of him.
This DVD sould be renamed Nigel Watson and the Splinter group.
According to the interview,
Seems Nigel has been a very good friend that took Peter Green back on his feet ...
I wonder how many good friends would be patient enough to do so...
Peter is not at the top and seems to have forgotten many things of his past.
Well, anyway a 4* DVD that I enjoy watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
A first class DVD. I've been a fan of Peter Green for many years, and this DVD shows the Splinter Group at their best.

The first set, acoustic, highlights how skilful and melodic their guitar work is with the most basic of drum kits being sensitively played with artistic brushwork. Both PG and Nigel Watson executing delightful work on Dobros in equal measures.

The second set, electric, is slightly more uptempo but still played with clarity and purity synonymous with this band. Their instrumental version of Man of the World is delightful and Need Your Love so Bad ( a favourite of mine ) perfection. This is a performance to sit back and wallow in. You know, on these winter nights, sit back headphones on, fire blazing tall drink shut out the world and experience the sheer joy that these musical craftsmen deliver.

A great DVD and superb value. Where else can you get over 2 hours of pleasure for less than a fiver?

Seriuosly recommend this DVD to you all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
The header says it all. The man has always been a musical genius. I saw him at Guildford some ten years ago with my brother, who the dvd was for. He and Fleetwood Mac are firm favourites, so anything I say will be biased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
Excellent dvd/cd package, if your a fan of peter green you'll like this,some of the acoustic versions are brilliant. Greeny sounds a bit rusty but that magic still shines through
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
The acoustic version of Albatross is great, Pity they don't play Oh Well, which is Peter's masterpiece with Fleetwood Mac. Peter's voice in Black Magic Woman.... he simply had no voice left after such a long performance. Worth the money you pay for it, anyway. A must for his fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2010
A great DVD for fans of the later Peter Green group. Very good musicians and Nigel Watson should be recognised as a great guitarist. I would have liked to see Peter relate more to his audience but that does not detract from the actual music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Bought this on the strength of his association with Fleetwood Mac.There`s an acoustic set first, with some fine rythmic guitar playing. Then a session with the full group.If you`re a fan of Peter Green then there`s plenty of good stuff on this DVD. Not quite my cup of tea tho, hence the 4 star rating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
wonderful concert, great tunes and excellent band. Green is good, but the others musicians are really good.
A nice selection of classic blues and electric blues tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
just like being at the concert magic I will be looking out for some more dvd's like this one supper and I would just to say thanks to one happy customer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)