Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated, action-packed thriller
I put off watching Virus for some time because of the general sense of mediocrity it seemed to generate in many viewers and, more importantly, the fact that it features not only Jamie Lee Curtis, who is not my favorite actress, but also a Baldwin brother (William). After watching it, though, I have to say that Virus is really not a bad movie at all. Certainly, there is...
Published on 27 Sep 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sci fi worth a watch
We have Donald Sutherland playing a somewhat unimpressive captain who gives the impression you would have to be desperate to be on his boat. Jamie lee Curtis plays a navigation expert, and one of the Baldwin brothers playing the sensible hero.

They along with a Russian communications ship our caught up in a storm. The Russian ship while talking to a spacecraft...
Published 2 months ago by R. S. Corbin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated, action-packed thriller, 27 Sep 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Virus [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I put off watching Virus for some time because of the general sense of mediocrity it seemed to generate in many viewers and, more importantly, the fact that it features not only Jamie Lee Curtis, who is not my favorite actress, but also a Baldwin brother (William). After watching it, though, I have to say that Virus is really not a bad movie at all. Certainly, there is a lot of Alien-type stuff going on, but there is plenty of action, a fair smidgeon of gore, and reason to hope that maybe, just this once, a Baldwin character might not survive to the end. Sherman "Is that Cuba Gooding, Jr.?" Augustus and Marshall Bell deserve a lot of credit for injecting some comedy and realism into this movie, but it is Joanna Pacula, in the role of Russian science officer Nadia Vinogradiya, who really steals the show, in my opinion. She certainly far outshines Jamie Lee Curtis, whose character has almost no depth whatsoever.
The trouble starts on Mir, as some sort of fast-moving cloud of energy takes over the space station and gets sent along for the ride down to a Russian scientific receiving vessel somewhere in the Pacific, where it puts on a light show to beat the band. Days later, a salvage boat led by the hopelessly annoying Captain Everton (Donald Sutherland in one of his lesser performances) tries to drag a barge through a hurricane; the boat makes it to the eye of the storm, where it discovers a large Russian ship dead in the water. The crews board the Russian vessel, finding no signs of the crew, and eyes start to widen at the thought of the money to be earned for salvaging this gigantic scientific ship. After they turn the power back on, they come to discover two life forms stowed away onboard, however. One of them is the ship's science officer Nadia Vinogradiya; the other is something not of this world. This alien life force needs electricity to function, and once the ship is powered back up it gets to work building all kinds of little robots who in turn build bigger robots, all of which work to destroy all humans on the vessel; in a nice little twist, man has become the virus to be eliminated. You can imagine what ensues. The humans fight to survive, giving the increasingly powerful alien life force a pretty good fight, even after their numbers start to dwindle and familiar faces in the form of Borg-like creatures turn their sights on the human intruders. I didn't care much for the ending, especially since all the wrong characters survived, but one British captain of another vessel delivers a classic six-line comment that did much to better my mood.
Virus is by no means a classic, but the film does deliver a suspenseful, pyrotechnic-laced good time. Jamie Lee Curtis in particular is put through the wringer, while Joanna Pacula is just terrific. I'm really not sure why many people hold this film in such low regard, as I found it both interesting and enjoyable. In my humble opinion, this is definitely an underrated motion picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electrifying Entertainment!, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Trapped on a ship, no where to run, no where to hide, with a shape shifting alien unlike nothing you've ever seen before. It's constantly looking for ways to survive, using what ever or who ever it can find, as a host. It came here to survive and it will do what ever it takes to stay alive. It's only threat is a virus, and that virus is called... man!

VIRUS is a new breed of horror and combines Alien, The Terminator and The Thing all into one original horror film and is definitely one to add to your collection. Filled with equally as good special effects, a great cast and story, Virus will keep you in suspense throughout as it builds up to an amazing and unexpected climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sci fi worth a watch, 10 Sep 2014
By 
R. S. Corbin "888" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
We have Donald Sutherland playing a somewhat unimpressive captain who gives the impression you would have to be desperate to be on his boat. Jamie lee Curtis plays a navigation expert, and one of the Baldwin brothers playing the sensible hero.

They along with a Russian communications ship our caught up in a storm. The Russian ship while talking to a spacecraft is attacked by a E.T. which is electrical base. Both ships end up in the calm centre of the storm and the Americans go to investigate the now abandoned Russian ship. While on the ship one survivor is found, and dispite her best effotts to get them to shut down the power and get off the ship, they only see the salvage value of the ship.

The plot is full of holes. Once the computer comes on, the first thing it does is sink the American ship, which means it is still stranded in the ocean. It has apparently read all the Russian computers, and does not realise that if it keeps sinking ships, they will just sink it. Also the Russian navy would send a destroyer to sink it if they lost contact and found Americans on it.
The director aparently forgot he was on a ship, and it builds a machine for itself as big as a room, but manages to move through the doorway and gangways of a ship without leaving a clue. Once the Americans turn back on the power., all the little robots that it built out of parts of Computers and ship come to life, and start building more of the little monsters. Yet two of the Americans, watch this andseem to find the robots antics funny rather then completly strange. They are attacked ny half man, half machine robots, who have the worst aim possible. In corridos and rooms it fires off magazine after magazine of machine gun fire, and hits nothing. The largest robots has about 8 lights on it, yet there is never any light shown when it is attacking the crew. It is shown ripping a hole through a doorway, yet managed to sneak up on two of the crew without them hearing a thing. Don't get me wrong it is a good watch, but realisim is not what they were going for here.

The deaths are graphic, no sex, no bad language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Technical brilliance - amateur plot., 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Virus is a sci-fi action picture set on earth and it puts a spin on the inspiration and concept first spawn with the Aliens films. The cast features many stars with a line up including the likes of "Jamie Lee Curtis, William Baldwin and Donald Sunderland"; and all conduct they're roles with a modest competance; particularly William Baldwin who plays as boat engineer Steve. Not to give away details of the films plot, I found the ambition an enthusiastic and inspirational one, but the translation an inevitable feeling of amateur-ness.

The dialogue is mostly very good with tension build up and intense lines. Action scenes however, loaded with special effects and saturated with a coarse taste of humour, subtracts from the atmosphere and status of the film considerably. Towards the end, the plot becomes untenable as it twists and turns into the more and more ridiculous. The Story line I found was uktimately very weak and character development practically non-existent. I felt technically the film was well made and transitions sound, but the directing was a bit of a let down.

Fans of action/horror sci-fi, who watch Virus without the modicating expectation that the standard and merit will be as high as Aliens, may enjoy this. For everyone else this may come as an underwhelming and stale sitting... There is better out there!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Very average late 90s sic-fi horror / thriller. The acting is pretty wooden (Baldwin being the worst culprit) and the CGI is a bit crude by today's standards (though one has to remember it was released in 1999). Watch on TV if it's free but buying the DVD? A bit of a waste of money. Probably 5/10 at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Was bought for me to watch as i saw on tv and i wanted to be able to watch again. was a liitle scary
Was really good to watch with family and to have to watch whenever we choose is good to.
Have recommended to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DVD for some good old escapism., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
If you immerse yourself in this DVD it has a good story and is quite scary. Some of the monsters at the end are a bit iffy, but overall very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like it, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
An oldie but goodie.
A must for Jamie Lee Curtis fans but some of the acting is a bit stiff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good sci-fi, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virus [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The movie takesa bit of time getting to the point but once it starts it turns into a good film with plenty of gunfire and explosions. Would recomment this for a sci-fi fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well good, 4 Oct 2011
Item arrive within the specified time span and in good order. Good information about the DVD, which lead to its purchase.
Was an interesting film from the point of view of a sci fi. An interest concept of a virus type lifeform, piggy-backing a signal to a research ship in the middle of the ocean. Was a bit gorrie in places, but hey nothing wrong with a bit of gore on occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Virus [Blu-ray] [Region B German Import]
Virus [Blu-ray] [Region B German Import] by Jamie Lee Curtis (Blu-ray)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews